• Post your desktop 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Post your desktop  (Read 242817 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1470 on: July 23, 2014, 06:33:44 am »
Nice mewtwo brah.
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline floris497

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 210
  • Rating: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1471 on: July 23, 2014, 06:46:13 am »
Anyways: 4k screen?

It sure is, the most cheap AOC display there was :) €499. i'm really happy with it, but everything is kind of small..
First i had it running at max 30Hz witch is really bad. now i got it at 40Hz which is nice.

not sure if my GPU can handle it that good, i have integrated graphics "Intel HD 3000",
on my newer laptop i can't get the 165Mhz pixel clock cap off.. so it does not support this resolution :(

The native resolution is a little small, but if i put it in 1080p HiDPi it is just to big (but really sharp).
I was trying to set it in 1440p HiDPi (because that is a nice resolution) and then scale it down to UHD, but my Graphics card is not willing to give me 5120x2880, but it would probably look really good.

For now i see it as a good investment, do you guys think about getting a 4k monitor?

I tested it with Half Life 2: Lost Coast, on 4k with all setting on low (V-Sync off) and my HD3000 got about 12FPS on the stress test.

Spoiler For Spoiler:


funny is i waited 30days for this monitor, and when i didn't get it then i bought it somewhere else and got it in 22h shiped to the door :) (DON'T BUY AT ALTERNATE) <--- Bad Store!
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 06:56:31 am by floris497 »

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1472 on: July 23, 2014, 06:57:02 am »
Welp, an IntelHD3000 doesn't quite match the specs for your screen. Good luck gaming on that :x
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1473 on: July 23, 2014, 06:59:32 am »
The native resolution is a little small, but if i put it in 1080p HiDPi it is just to big (but really sharp).
I was trying to set it in 1440p HiDPi (because that is a nice resolution) and then scale it down to UHD, but my Graphics card is not willing to give me 5120x2880, but it would probably look really good.
You can probably use xrandr to force your display to a certain resolution. I used newrez (which is using xrandr) to set my netbook's resolution to 1344x752, which is not really standard.

For now i see it as a good investment, do you guys think about getting a 4k monitor?
As you said, everything is too small so I don't really see the point of buying a 4K monitor to set its resolution to 1080p, which is what I would do if I got one :P
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline floris497

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 210
  • Rating: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1474 on: July 23, 2014, 07:22:29 am »

The native resolution is a little small, but if i put it in 1080p HiDPi it is just to big (but really sharp).
I was trying to set it in 1440p HiDPi (because that is a nice resolution) and then scale it down to UHD, but my Graphics card is not willing to give me 5120x2880, but it would probably look really good.
You can probably use xrandr to force your display to a certain resolution. I used newrez (which is using xrandr) to set my netbook's resolution to 1344x752, which is not really standard.
I use switchresx (and script to unlock the IOKit driver)

Quote
For now i see it as a good investment, do you guys think about getting a 4k monitor?
As you said, everything is too small so I don't really see the point of buying a 4K monitor to set its resolution to 1080p, which is what I would do if I got one :P 


It is small but i need to get used to it, it is really handy for programming with sources left and right and code somewhere in the middle,
the 1080p HiDPi mode means GUI scaling 1080p retina like, i switch between these resolutions:




Welp, an IntelHD3000 doesn't quite match the specs for your screen. Good luck gaming on that :x


I don't really game, or i set a really small resolution, HD3000 is no gaming card no matter resolution (i can always steal my dad's work computer).

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7917
  • Rating: +373/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1475 on: July 23, 2014, 07:49:23 am »
Fun fun fun.
Spoiler For Spoiler:
WTF pinball on linux?

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55829
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1476 on: July 24, 2014, 01:41:48 am »
There were no Pinball clones for Linux before? O.O

As for 4K res screens I doubt my graphic card and computer would even handle them because the graphic cars is from early 2012 and the computer, although an higher end work machine, early 2010.

However, isn't it possible in some OSes to resize the theme fonts and icons on large resolutions to make them easier to read? I remembieber it was possible under Windows 2000 and XP.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2014, 01:43:43 am by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1477 on: July 24, 2014, 01:07:02 pm »
That's probably Wine.

Also have the excerpt of my theme.lua I changed based on those colors, for you Awesome WM users, if you want a Princess Luna theme:

Code: [Select]
theme.font          = "silkscreen 6"

theme.bg_normal     = "#161D3F"
theme.bg_focus      = "#404680"
theme.bg_urgent     = "#8159CE"
theme.bg_minimize   = "#040404"
theme.bg_systray    = theme.bg_normal

theme.fg_normal     = "#aaaaaa"
theme.fg_focus      = "#ffffff"
theme.fg_urgent     = "#ffffff"
theme.fg_minimize   = "#ffffff"

theme.border_width  = 1
theme.border_normal = theme.bg_normal
theme.border_focus  = theme.bg_focus
theme.border_marked = theme.bg_urgent
« Last Edit: July 24, 2014, 01:32:44 pm by Juju »

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7917
  • Rating: +373/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1478 on: July 30, 2014, 11:00:10 am »
Not really my desktop, but

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline floris497

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 210
  • Rating: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1479 on: July 30, 2014, 05:54:01 pm »
As for 4K res screens I doubt my graphic card and computer would even handle them because the graphic cars is from early 2012 and the computer, although an higher end work machine, early 2010.

However, isn't it possible in some OSes to resize the theme fonts and icons on large resolutions to make them easier to read? I remembieber it was possible under Windows 2000 and XP.

Yes there is, but not so much becoase the resolution is nog realy supported by the hardware.

Offline Princetonlion.tibd

  • Agranovskiy Founder
  • Members
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 790
  • Rating: +3/-4
    • View Profile
    • Agranovskiy
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1480 on: July 30, 2014, 07:02:41 pm »
Not really my desktop, but

Is that in grayscale? O.O
Founder of Agranovskiy, a basic TI programming tutorial site.



I'm a USCF (United States Chess Federation) player.

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1481 on: July 30, 2014, 08:07:34 pm »
Seems so yeah.

Also have my Luna-themed desktop:

Spoiler For Warning: kind of big:

Left is a CRT screen while right is a HDTV.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7917
  • Rating: +373/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1482 on: July 31, 2014, 05:33:00 am »

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline Princetonlion.tibd

  • Agranovskiy Founder
  • Members
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 790
  • Rating: +3/-4
    • View Profile
    • Agranovskiy
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1483 on: July 31, 2014, 10:48:19 am »
I can't really post my background, it changes every 5 seconds. Anyways, it's every 2013 FCB player, backgrounds downloaded from their website


Founder of Agranovskiy, a basic TI programming tutorial site.



I'm a USCF (United States Chess Federation) player.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8206
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Post your desktop
« Reply #1484 on: August 01, 2014, 06:01:30 pm »
Just finished setting up my computer again with Xubuntu and Windows 8. Not dual-boot—Windows 8 is running in VirtualBox in Seamless mode :P