Omnimaga

General Discussion => Technology and Development => Other => Topic started by: Spyro543 on May 15, 2011, 09:20:58 pm

Title: Commodore 64c
Post by: Spyro543 on May 15, 2011, 09:20:58 pm
I've been thinking about getting a Commodore 64c - I've always been interested in old electronics and games.
So what do you think?
It's all BASIC - I'm learning BASIC, and this would be awesome.

Oh looky: A C64c for $55? :o (http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B000VBDIDO/ref=dp_olp_used?ie=UTF8&qid=1305500116&sr=8-1&condition=used)

It would be very cool. ;D
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: BrownyTCat on May 15, 2011, 09:29:29 pm
I have a regular C64, and I'm getting a Floppy Drive soon, it's going to be fun!
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: Spyro543 on May 15, 2011, 09:32:23 pm
I've played around a little bit with an emu and it was cool ;D

Useless: This was fun, you never know if it was a syntax error or not:

PRINT "?SYNTAX ERROR"
?SYNTAX ERROR

SO umm, how do you write programs? And how do you run programs?
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: BrownyTCat on May 16, 2011, 11:59:33 am
I've played around a little bit with an emu and it was cool ;D

Useless: This was fun, you never know if it was a syntax error or not:

PRINT "?SYNTAX ERROR"
?SYNTAX ERROR

SO umm, how do you write programs? And how do you run programs?

No idea or desire to know until my floppy drive arrives and I get diskettes.
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: Spyro543 on May 16, 2011, 03:31:22 pm
Ooh just figured out how to type programs!

You have to type numbers in front of the commands, like so:

10 PRINT "ENTER A NUMBER"
20 INPUT A
30 PRINT "TYPE ANOTHER NUMBER"
40 INPUT B
50 C=A+B
60 PRINT C
RUN


Run is crucial, as it runs the program.

Yay if I get a C64c this will be so helpful becuase I'm learning BASIC right now!
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: ruler501 on May 16, 2011, 05:55:39 pm
Do you have to write the numbers as multiples of 10? what happens when you get to 10 lines?
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: Spyro543 on May 16, 2011, 05:57:15 pm
No, it doesn't have to be anything like that.
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: ruler501 on May 16, 2011, 06:02:31 pm
so do the numbers mean anything?
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: Spyro543 on May 16, 2011, 06:07:04 pm
They are the equivalent of Lbl.
They let you write more than one line of code. = important
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: BrownyTCat on May 17, 2011, 11:59:51 am

10 poke 54272+rnd(1)*25,rnd(1)*256 : goto 10

Oh god.
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: JosJuice on May 17, 2011, 12:06:20 pm

10 poke 54272+rnd(1)*25,rnd(1)*256 : goto 10

Oh god.
What does that do? Screw up memory really bad?
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: BrownyTCat on May 17, 2011, 12:13:07 pm

10 poke 54272+rnd(1)*25,rnd(1)*256 : goto 10

Oh god.
What does that do? Screw up memory really bad?
It makes disrupting noises. I have a recording of it that I can attach when I get home.
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 17, 2011, 07:11:11 pm
I assume it's like that one demo noise that comes with Axe Parser, right? Not like TV static but random pitch changes every picosecond?
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: BrownyTCat on May 17, 2011, 08:33:51 pm
I assume it's like that one demo noise that comes with Axe Parser, right? Not like TV static but random pitch changes every picosecond?
It's mostly inaudible.
Title: Re: Commodore 64c
Post by: Spyro543 on May 18, 2011, 08:23:30 pm
Aww man I HAVE to get a real Commodore. This VICE emu is not good.