Author Topic: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.  (Read 10548 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6169
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • C'est la vie
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« on: May 23, 2013, 11:38:15 pm »
16GB RAM
Quad core 3.5GHz i7
240GB SSD
2TB HDD
HIS Radeon HD7870 IceQ graphics card with 2GB Dedicated memory.
2x 24 Inch LED Monitors.

Total cost: $1914.54 CAD
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/5e5q7fw4nkbezfi/Mrh_S14DJP
« Last Edit: May 23, 2013, 11:40:27 pm by Eeems »
/e

Offline hellninjas

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 625
  • Rating: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2013, 12:06:48 am »
I've been asking for a new computer for years now. (Literally nothing else, i've been working hard for it but have yet to receive anything but clothes.)
But awesome Eeems!

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6169
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • C'est la vie
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2013, 12:40:49 am »
I've been asking for a new computer for years now. (Literally nothing else, i've been working hard for it but have yet to receive anything but clothes.)
But awesome Eeems!
I bought my computer with my own hard earned tax returns. Err... Well I did work to make the money I payed for taxes in the first place :P
/e

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2013, 12:53:49 am »
Is that one of those customizable gaming mice or something? It almost looks like it took a few falls or something and started to fall apart, tho iirc some are supposed to look like that :P

Whole setup looks spiffy anyways.
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55828
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2013, 01:05:03 am »
16GB RAM
Quad core 3.5GHz i7
240GB SSD
2TB HDD
HIS Radeon HD7870 IceQ graphics card with 2GB Dedicated memory.
2x 24 Inch LED Monitors.

Total cost: $1914.54 CAD
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/5e5q7fw4nkbezfi/Mrh_S14DJP

If TI made a calculator with such specs, it would cost ten times more.

Also I hate doing taxes stuff because I always forget how I did it the year before, causing me to sometimes miss out on refunds I'm eligible to. >.< This year went better, though, since I used a software (which ended up being free due to me earning fewer than $20000 last year), which made sure I don't forget anything. Also only Quebec seems to double-check our stuff immediately, so I prefer to never take any Canada tax refund for granted (sometimes they send me tax refunds, only to ask them back 8-12 months later)

I'm not planning to upgrade my computer yet, though, even though your new computer specs makes me drool, lol, but I might do so in 2-3 years (assuming desktops are not phased out by then), since Starcraft keeps updating their engine with extra bugs and enhancements, which causes the game to run slower and slower as years go by <_<
« Last Edit: May 24, 2013, 01:13:25 am by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2013, 01:20:24 am »
=0 do want.
* shmibs still doesn't even have a desktop :P saving money is difficult

Offline ElementCoder

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 611
  • Rating: +42/-2
    • View Profile
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2013, 02:06:29 am »
That's a neat looking machine there :) I must say those cables look like you took them straight out of a Crysis Nanosuit :P

Some people need a high five in the face... with a chair.
~EC

Offline XiiDraco

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 513
  • Rating: +32/-5
  • Forget the numbers, just call me, Recreation.
    • View Profile
    • Black-Lark Games
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2013, 02:09:03 am »
Quad core 3.5GHz i7

Wait, wait. Excuse me if I'm wrong, but doesn't i7 stand for 6 core, not 4... If it's quad core, shouldn't that be i5?

« Last Edit: May 24, 2013, 02:09:58 am by XiiR3CR34T10N »

Offline ElementCoder

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 611
  • Rating: +42/-2
    • View Profile
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2013, 02:23:14 am »
There are some with 6 cores iirc. But most have 4. (Like http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115095)

Some people need a high five in the face... with a chair.
~EC

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2013, 04:30:49 am »
I'm saving up money for a desktop too. I wonder if I can do better for $520. To be able to realize this I will be re-using parts from my old pc: The harddisk, psu, monitor and case.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2013, 07:49:35 am »
My goodness Eeems! :O That's nice, but quite a lot to spend. I've been thinking about upgrading myself, but like Keoni, I'd be reusing a lot of the current parts. I'd mainly want to upgrade the graphics card. Other concerns would be cpu and ram. I already have a decent monitor and my 37" hd tv as a second monitor.

*edit* Might need a new power source too depending on what all I get. Haven't priced anything out at all.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2013, 08:09:22 am by Art_of_camelot »

Offline harold

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 226
  • Rating: +41/-3
    • View Profile
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2013, 07:54:35 am »
Stock cooler? Why?
Blog about bitmath: bitmath.blogspot.nl
Check the haroldbot thread for the supported commands and syntax.
You can use haroldbot from this website.

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2013, 08:06:06 am »
Here is how I think my budget will be spent:
Gfx: msi 1GB second hand €60
Ram: 8GB-16GB second hand €50
Motherboard: second hand €130
Cpu: i7 second hand €100
SSD: samsung 250GB new €140
Total: €480/ us$622

I expect to be able to negotiate over prices and even get it for far cheaper as always.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline XiiDraco

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 513
  • Rating: +32/-5
  • Forget the numbers, just call me, Recreation.
    • View Profile
    • Black-Lark Games
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2013, 01:31:28 pm »
There are some with 6 cores iirc. But most have 4. (Like http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115095)
I meant, i7 = 6 core, if it's Quad core, it should be i5. It's just how they are labeled. What I mean is it doesn't HAVE 6 cores it MEANS 6 cores.
Atleast I could have sworn that's what it stood for... Hmmm, doesn't matter, it's nice anyway ^_^.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2013, 01:33:50 pm by XiiR3CR34T10N »

Offline harold

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 226
  • Rating: +41/-3
    • View Profile
Re: New Desktop. Or as I like to call it, Batman.
« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2013, 01:34:37 pm »
No it doesn't, i7 Extreme's (often grouped with i7) have 6 cores. Regular i7's are quad cores.
At least, that has been the pattern so far.
Source:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haswell_%28microarchitecture%29
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ivy_Bridge_%28microarchitecture%29
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandy_Bridge_%28microarchitecture%29
« Last Edit: May 24, 2013, 01:35:26 pm by harold »
Blog about bitmath: bitmath.blogspot.nl
Check the haroldbot thread for the supported commands and syntax.
You can use haroldbot from this website.