Author Topic: Windows 1.01 running on a VM  (Read 4968 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Spyro543

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1189
  • Rating: +74/-3
    • View Profile
Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« on: October 14, 2011, 07:10:39 pm »
I found an ISO of Windows 1.01 on the Internet. Sorry, but it is against Omnimaga rules to link to it.

I ran it on a VM, and it works!
Here's a video of it:

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2011, 07:30:10 pm »
I did it as well once. Very fun. Might try it on my real computer lol.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2011, 07:42:04 pm »
oh wow, nice find there! Good job also
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

Offline apcalc

  • The Game
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1393
  • Rating: +120/-2
  • VGhlIEdhbWUh (Base 64 :))
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2011, 10:33:32 pm »
Wow!  It is amazing to see how far Windows has progressed since this original OS! :)


Offline Spyro543

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1189
  • Rating: +74/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2011, 10:17:15 am »
The drop down menus are so weird. You have to click, hold on, move the mouse over the thing you want, then release the mouse.

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2011, 11:18:30 am »
In fact, Apple patented everything, so Windows 1 had to look like crap.

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline mrmprog

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 559
  • Rating: +35/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2011, 12:23:33 pm »
Wow! That is awesome! I have never seen anything like that before, pretty cool.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2011, 12:23:41 pm by mrmprog »

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2011, 01:08:16 pm »
The drop down menus are so weird. You have to click, hold on, move the mouse over the thing you want, then release the mouse.
In fact, you can still do that. And the first versions of Mac OS required one to do the same thing. There's nothing wrong with it. :)
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Jonius7

  • python! Lua!
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1918
  • Rating: +82/-18
  • Still bringing new dimensions to the TI-nspire...
    • View Profile
    • TI Stadium
Re: Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2011, 08:42:24 pm »
Oh wow! Good stuff!
And so we return to the origin of Windows, with great solid colour graphics and of course Aero was a must back in those days....
Programmed some CASIO Basic in the past
DJ Omnimaga Music Discographist ;)
DJ Omnimaga Discography
My Own Music!
My Released Projects (Updated 2015/05/08)
TI-nspire BASIC
TI-nspire Hold 'em
Health Bar
Scissors Paper Rock
TI-nspire Lua
Numstrat
TI-nspire Hold 'em Lua
Transport Chooser
Secret Project (at v0.08.2 - 2015/05/08)
Spoiler For Extra To-Be-Sorted Clutter:

Spoiler For Relegated Projects:
TI-nspire BASIC
Battle of 16s (stalled) | sTIck RPG (stalled) | Monopoly (stalled) | Cosmic Legions (stalled)
Axe Parser
Doodle God (stalled while I go and learn some Axe)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55933
  • Rating: +3153/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2011, 03:57:29 pm »
Awesome. I never saw Windows 1.01 in action before, I just saw screenshots.

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 1.01 running on a VM
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2011, 05:38:41 pm »
I once had a computer that had windows 2.0 XP
Sig wipe!