Author Topic: Your 83+'s display is too small?  (Read 16483 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MGOS

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
« Reply #30 on: April 04, 2013, 07:46:48 am »
For any advanced color display (be it VGA or the the Sharp screen I posted) you need an extremely fast MCU to refresh the screen all along. You would need a graphics chip to handle this, even the arduino due (which finally works with the display! I will post the library later) wouldn't be fast enough too get a decent picture. The Sharp screen came with a graphics card which outputs Digital or VGA, I just don't know how to use it (it's 20 years old :P). It's a VAMP535 V1.00.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2013, 07:49:03 am by MGOS »

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
« Reply #31 on: April 04, 2013, 07:50:40 am »
I really want one of those old 83+ with a z80 in it. Imagine the possibilities with hardware I/O. Hook up any resolution screen without having to worry about OS routines! To write a byte from ram to the screen just do:
ld a, (nn)
out (n), a
Only if the screen driver can keep up with the cpu though. Otherwise some additional circuitry might be required.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline MGOS

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
« Reply #32 on: April 04, 2013, 10:07:58 am »
Ok, I have rewritten the T6963 library for the Due :). The display can now be written a lot faster than before. I also used direct buffer reads to transmit the buffer from the calc (and no delay!). You may gain a bit more speed if you do it in asm, if you care :P it takes about 304 milliseconds for one screen (sending and displaying).

Axe code:
Code: [Select]
3->port
StoreGDB
FnOff
For(I,L6,L6+767)
{I}->B
For(8)
B . 128?0,1
->port
B*2->B
3->port
End
End
LnReg

Arduino code:
Code: [Select]
#include <T6963due.h>
#include <T6963due_Commands.h>

#define CLK 13
#define DAT 12

T6963 lcd(240,128,8,24);
byte pic[3840] = {0};

unsigned long start;
int t;
bool taken;

void setup()   {
  lcd.Initialize();
  lcd.clearCG(); // Clear character generator area
  lcd.clearGraphic(); // Clear graphic area
  lcd.clearText();
  pinMode(CLK,INPUT);
  pinMode(DAT,INPUT);
}



void loop()    {
  taken = false;
  while (digitalRead(CLK));
  for (int y = 0; y<64; y++){
    for (int n = 0; n < 12; n++){
      int c = 0;
      for (byte b = 0; b < 8; b++){
          while (!digitalRead(CLK));
          if (!taken) {start = millis(); taken = true;}
          c = c << 2;
          c |= digitalRead(DAT);
          lcd.n_delay();
          while (digitalRead(CLK));
          lcd.n_delay();
      }
      c *= 3;     
      pic[n*2+y*60] = c>>8;
      pic[n*2+y*60+30] = c>>8;
      pic[n*2+y*60+1] = c&0xFF;
      pic[n*2+y*60+31] = c&0xFF;
    }
  }
  lcd.DispBuff(pic);
  t = millis()-start;
  lcd.TextGoTo(25,15);
  lcd.WriteChar(t/100+'0');
  lcd.WriteChar((t%100)/10+'0');
  lcd.WriteChar(t%10+'0');
  lcd.WriteChar('m');
  lcd.WriteChar('s');
}


Video:
(the time needed to transmit and display is shown in the bottom right corner)



The arduino due library for the T6963:

Offline Dapianokid

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 539
  • Rating: +46/-27
  • That one dude
    • View Profile
Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
« Reply #33 on: April 04, 2013, 10:10:11 am »
For any advanced color display (be it VGA or the the Sharp screen I posted) you need an extremely fast MCU to refresh the screen all along. You would need a graphics chip to handle this, even the arduino due (which finally works with the display! I will post the library later) wouldn't be fast enough too get a decent picture. The Sharp screen came with a graphics card which outputs Digital or VGA, I just don't know how to use it (it's 20 years old :P). It's a VAMP535 V1.00.

I have an old monitor with similar specs. Maybe we should hang out and find some tools, a few hours later, Omnimaga would be wowed again xD
Keep trying.

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
« Reply #34 on: April 04, 2013, 10:21:36 am »
Look what benryves made: http://benryves.com/products/tvdemonstrator. It outputs composite instead of vga though.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline MGOS

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
« Reply #35 on: April 04, 2013, 10:38:35 am »
Look what benryves made: http://benryves.com/products/tvdemonstrator. It outputs composite instead of vga though.
Wow, that's cool. It's interesting that he uses the screenshot function. I know that there is one, but I don't know how to use it...

I don't know if VGA or composite is really necessary for what I'm doing right know - it would be also 2 colors. I think you feel the main advantages not before you have a working graphics chip with a library which does all the tedious work (storage, text, plotting, ...) for you and then use serial commands to tell the chip what to do.

Offline Dapianokid

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 539
  • Rating: +46/-27
  • That one dude
    • View Profile
Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
« Reply #36 on: April 04, 2013, 12:43:43 pm »
I actually looked that thing up awhile back and almost made one because my Dad was interested lol.
Yeah, most of the work done in this case will have to be done by the Arduino board/modified video card
Keep trying.

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
« Reply #37 on: April 05, 2013, 08:40:29 am »
That's a lot faster than before! Good job!

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
« Reply #38 on: April 05, 2013, 09:05:28 pm »
Wow, that is looking pretty cool, awesome job!

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Your 83+'s display is too small?
« Reply #39 on: June 07, 2013, 11:51:53 pm »
I'm a bit late, but I'm impressed by the speed increase. I wonder if you could eventually do a video where a game is played?