Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => Grammer => Topic started by: NonstickAtom785 on February 26, 2020, 09:10:34 am

Title: Creating Modules on calc?
Post by: NonstickAtom785 on February 26, 2020, 09:10:34 am
Hi. I have a question that maybe someone else might have so I'm posting for the benifit of the community. I would like some help creating modules using Mimas. I'm pretty sure a module can be in program format although it would look better in appvar format. But converting it from a program to an appvar isn't hard.


At the moment I looking at the modules.md located here -> https://github.com/Zeda/Grammer2/blob/master/docs/modules.md (https://github.com/Zeda/Grammer2/blob/master/docs/modules.md)
Any help on doing this would be appreciated. :P
Title: Re: Creating Modules on calc?
Post by: Xeda112358 on February 26, 2020, 10:34:45 am
I attempted this with Mimas and managed to crash my calc when I tried to use it :|
Title: Re: Creating Modules on calc?
Post by: NonstickAtom785 on February 26, 2020, 03:13:00 pm
What did you do to create one?
Title: Re: Creating Modules on calc?
Post by: Xeda112358 on February 26, 2020, 03:15:27 pm
I just used the same format as listed, except I had to hard-code the offsets. It could also have been a bug in the version of Grammer that I was using.
Title: Re: Creating Modules on calc?
Post by: NonstickAtom785 on February 26, 2020, 03:17:17 pm
Okay I will have to try my include file. I guess I could just make a module that displays "Hello" and pauses till a key is press. $HI.


EDT: Won't get the chance though until I can find some new batteries. :P TI-Connect is saying low battery. Would it still say the same thing if I used TiLP?
Title: Re: Creating Modules on calc?
Post by: Xeda112358 on February 26, 2020, 03:25:54 pm
It would almost certainly say the same thing
Title: Re: Creating Modules on calc?
Post by: E37 on February 27, 2020, 10:13:26 am
I guess Im late to the party as usual.
Looking at the module code, I assume it is written for spasm. Mimas is kinda picky with moving addresses. RORG $ADDRESS should make it so that all following code will start at that address. This means that you should use RORG instead of ORG for Mimas. It also has tools for converting .asm files to its own appvar format (and back) for some easy copy and paste to and from the editor.
Title: Re: Creating Modules on calc?
Post by: NonstickAtom785 on February 27, 2020, 10:42:36 am
@E37 So what your saying is if I just coded the module in spasm-ng format then I can use the converter tool? That's what I did with the include file  *.* . I'm going to try using jsTIfied to make one using rorg because I don't always have access to a windows computer. Currently on Chromebook.
Title: Re: Creating Modules on calc?
Post by: E37 on February 27, 2020, 10:55:10 am
@E37 So what your saying is if I just coded the module in spasm-ng format then I can use the converter tool? That's what I did with the include file  *.* . I'm going to try using jsTIfied to make one using rorg because I don't always have access to a windows computer. Currently on Chromebook.
There are asmto8xv.exe and 8xetoasm.exe in mimas/tools I believe you just drag and drop files on them. There is no special spasm format, it just takes a text file with a .asm extension. Not sure what you meant for the include file, but I hope you found the tool on your own. The whole point I was trying to make is that you need to use rorg instead of org for mimas when using code from spasm.
Title: Re: Creating Modules on calc?
Post by: Xeda112358 on February 27, 2020, 12:06:04 pm
I guess Im late to the party as usual.
Looking at the module code, I assume it is written for spasm. Mimas is kinda picky with moving addresses. RORG $ADDRESS should make it so that all following code will start at that address. This means that you should use RORG instead of ORG for Mimas. It also has tools for converting .asm files to its own appvar format (and back) for some easy copy and paste to and from the editor.
Oh, nice! ORG was in fact the cause of some of my headaches with that.

EDIT: I updated my version of Granmer on-calc (there was in fact a bug in the outdated version I had). Combined with using rorg instead, it worked !