Author Topic: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime  (Read 21438 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55865
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #45 on: January 11, 2014, 10:47:36 pm »
Ooh I like the new version!

Also suggestion for the next version: Make it so it saves our user settings at the start (Radian/Degree) then change the game to degree. The only issue is if someone exits the game then he'll remain in that setting, causing problems with other 3D programs that use radian. :)
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline MacBernick

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #46 on: January 11, 2014, 10:49:58 pm »
Thanks.

That's what it is supposed to do but I messed up something I guess. Launching it with radian mode is funny ^^
« Last Edit: January 11, 2014, 10:50:10 pm by MacBernick »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55865
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #47 on: January 11, 2014, 10:52:26 pm »
Yeah it looked kinda strange lol. Maybe it could be how certain tracks look like, though? O.O (eg some track that is like a trip to another dimension)

Btw I know that's a known issue, but any idea what's causing jumping and collision detection to not work in the emulator? (except at the very start of the game)
« Last Edit: January 11, 2014, 10:53:11 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline MacBernick

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #48 on: January 11, 2014, 11:26:19 pm »
I don't really know why. My guess is that TICKS could be less accurate on sim than on real hardware but that's really just a guess.
Anyway, as multiple keystrokes is not possible on simulator, playing it would be a pain even if it worked fine...
« Last Edit: January 11, 2014, 11:31:25 pm by MacBernick »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55865
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #49 on: January 11, 2014, 11:42:50 pm »
Wait, is jumping based on ticks? I wonder if it could explain why sometimes the jump key isn't very responsive (eg if you don't press Enter long enough). And yeah the lack of multiple keypresses is annoying on the emulator. This might be a problem if I ever make a platform game with jumping/shooting.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline MacBernick

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #50 on: January 12, 2014, 12:06:50 am »
Everything that move is based upon last frame render time, thus intensive use of TICKS. So game speed is stable even in case of framerate variations.

I noticed that the virtual calc is very CPU intensive and works better on a freshly booted Windows. Then performances drop significantly over time.

Edit

I wonder if it could explain why sometimes the jump key isn't very responsive (eg if you don't press Enter long enough).

I didn't notice that. You mean on sim right ? Be aware that you are limited to 5 jumps per run now (forgot that in changelog, or was it previous version already ? nevermind).
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 12:16:52 am by MacBernick »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55865
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #51 on: January 12, 2014, 01:30:39 am »
Ah ok thanks, and yeah I noticed that the game ran at the same speed regardless of the frame rate, which is a good thing. Some other games do as well, so we can now play them in the emulator too. I need to fix Tunnel eventually so that it won't go faster than 90 pts a second.


And yeah for the jump/collision I meant the simulator. Everything works fine on the real calc.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55865
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #52 on: January 21, 2014, 01:44:43 am »
Btw I don't know if that is still progressing right now, but I found a bug: When you use Enter during the game to jump, sometimes the Finish/Time screen doesn't appear. It skips directly to the title screen. It's more when jumping late into the game though, so I guess it's due to sensitive key detection or quick key repeat being enabled.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline MacBernick

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #53 on: January 21, 2014, 06:57:49 am »
Yes if you still have your finger on Enter key when finishing then it will skip. I'll fix that.

The game is soon to be finished. I've made a track editor, it's a separate program for now but I'll merge it with the game eventually. Some other bugs to fix, a few features to finish and release of final version in the next few days.

EDIT : screenshot of track editor.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2014, 08:45:16 pm by MacBernick »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55865
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #54 on: January 21, 2014, 10:43:16 pm »
Wow that looks quite nice actually. I wonder if adding some borders around sprites and the track sides would look better? :D
« Last Edit: January 21, 2014, 10:43:53 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline MacBernick

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #55 on: January 23, 2014, 12:39:31 pm »
Thank you. I'm not sure I want to spend too much time on the editor. As long as it's easy to use I think i'ts ok. About time, I'm once again very busy at work, so even though I think it's a bit early, I attach the editor as it is here so you guys can play a bit with it. New, Save and Load track doesn't work at the moment, sorry.
This have been made 100% on calc, thus using a lot of home reals (A-E, K, R, S and T are used if I remember well).

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55865
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #56 on: January 23, 2014, 09:34:54 pm »
Since saving/loading doesn't work, I assume this edits the current track, right?  Or is it just to show how it progressed so far?

Also, if we accidentally recompile the game code, will our custom tracks be deleted like highscores?

EDIT: Btw I just tried this now and when I restart the game after creating a new track, it says Invalid Input. Same thing with the editor. I have to reboot to fix them and then it brings back the original track.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2014, 01:26:58 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline MacBernick

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #57 on: January 24, 2014, 05:07:05 pm »
As you might have found out already, nope, your creation is just /dev/nulled for now.

What you can do is fetch the TrackEdit.te_tck content in home (this var is EXPORTed), convert it into a list with mat2lst(), and copy/paste it in the game program (trackMatrix in init()). Or just wait that everything get well integrated but I don't really know when. As fast as I can !

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55865
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #58 on: January 24, 2014, 05:11:49 pm »
AAah ok thanks for the tip.

On a side note, did you use some tutorial for the mode-7-like effect in the game? I am really curious how such effect can be achieved efficiently, since in the future, I might attempt games with a similar perspective, but 160x120 and larger than 5 squares wide (so that it fills the entire screen width) and with the camera following you rather than staying centered. One idea I had in mind was Hyperzone, some 3D-like clone of Supersonic Ball or maybe a racing game like Mario Kart/F-Zero, but with no rotation (unless it can be done at similar speed)
« Last Edit: January 24, 2014, 05:14:32 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline nspireguy

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +11/-6
    • View Profile
    • NspireGuy
Re: [WIP] Trailblazer Prime
« Reply #59 on: January 24, 2014, 08:07:13 pm »
looks good. i have to try this(once i get my hp prime)