Author Topic: Ubuntu  (Read 9199 times)

Offline tloz128

• LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • Rating: +58/-6
  • I feel asleep.
    • View Profile
Ubuntu
« on: April 20, 2011, 12:04:32 am »
I just installed Ubuntu 10.10 on my old Pentium 4 desktop tonight, and I was wondering if anybody could direct me towards some good guides to help me get started. (I'm very new to Linux.) Thanks in advance.  8)
Naaa... Na Nah Na Nana Na Nah... Hey Jude!

Offline willrandship

• Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Ubuntu
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 12:08:56 am »
Well, depends on what you want to do. First off, do you have a non-integrated video card? If so, you should install the graphics drivers for them. Don't worry about ATI, and Ubuntu will notify you if it can install the nvidia ones. It's worth it.

First thing to learn: Try to install stuff from the package manager first, before resorting to online sources.

Also, install these:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10071991/Tilp%201.14%20debs/Tilp%201.14%20debs.zip

They're all there, it's a more recent version than the one in the package manager. It's a linking manager, like TI-connect. The update is worth it, especially if you have an nspire.

Also, if you find it a little slow, you might try Xubuntu, or another XFCE-based distro. It's not quite so hard on the CPU and RAM. A P4 should run decently on reg. GNOME, though.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2011, 12:09:49 am by willrandship »

Offline tloz128

• I feel asleep.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2011, 12:19:02 am »
Well, depends on what you want to do. First off, do you have a non-integrated video card? If so, you should install the graphics drivers for them. Don't worry about ATI, and Ubuntu will notify you if it can install the nvidia ones. It's worth it.