Author Topic: Checkers Lua  (Read 23610 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cyanophycean314

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 363
  • Rating: +43/-1
  • It's You!
    • View Profile
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #15 on: January 02, 2012, 08:57:49 pm »
Well, lots of activity. For a moving screenshot, I use Camstudio like DJ_O said, but I use Ulead Animator 5 for conversion/editing. For camstudio, you can just turn the settings down to record around 10 fps to keep down file size. You don't need high framerate anyways.

I might change the color, as it helps displays the kinging. As soon as very early version of AI is done, I'll probably have an initial release. Tomorrow maybe?

@renatose Here's a black and white screenie:



I think the arrow color could be changed, but otherwise it's pretty good!

Right now, every time I want to have a picture in the post, I upload to rfg. If the picture is attached to the post, is there anyway to display it in the post?

Offline 3rik

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • Rating: +8/-0
  • My TI-84+ SE
    • View Profile
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #16 on: January 02, 2012, 09:50:52 pm »
I think by attaching it automatically shows the picture at the bottom as long as it has a common file extension.

If you want to show it in a different part of the post you can modify your post and use the url of the attachment in [img] tags.

For example

[img]http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=12110.0;attach=11007[/img] produces

I wish you luck with your project. It looks like you have a great start.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2012, 09:59:21 pm by 3rik »
Userbars

Offline cyanophycean314

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 363
  • Rating: +43/-1
  • It's You!
    • View Profile
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #17 on: January 03, 2012, 08:58:28 pm »
OK. Random AI is now working! Rectangles are circles! White might become red?

More difficulty/menu later!!  :D

Offline Nick

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1166
  • Rating: +161/-3
  • You just got omnom'd
    • View Profile
    • Nick Steen
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #18 on: January 04, 2012, 02:29:15 am »
nice :) but i think you should think to on the not-cx users too, the difference between the red and the brown will be hard xs

but it looks good. you could ask the guy who made that chess game how you should calculate which step the AI should take. He did something like checking what each step delivers, and te one with the largest number is the one that's chosen

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #19 on: January 04, 2012, 02:31:27 am »
Looks nice. I guess it might be good to check how it looks like on black and white models, though, in case it actually looks too hard to distinguish.

Offline renatose

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 209
  • Rating: +4/-0
  • watch out the power balls
    • View Profile
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #20 on: January 04, 2012, 04:23:56 am »
I think that the next thing you should add to the AI is a way to check if there are any moves to take over opponents pieces and if there are various moves possible for that to choose the moves for taking the most pieces.

Thinking on me and all the others that have non-CX nspires I think that you should really test all the colours to check if they are easily distinguishable in grayscale.

Offline cyanophycean314

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 363
  • Rating: +43/-1
  • It's You!
    • View Profile
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #21 on: January 05, 2012, 08:02:33 pm »
Sorry on no updates yesterday, school busy.  :(

Due to universal consensus, the color is going to be white.  :)

This is the initial release of the game, but there shouldn't be too many bugs.

Features
 * AI (Random and King/Jump/Random)
 * 2 Player

Multiple jumping is still not included, but will be.

Maybe I'll change the symbol for kinging...

Black and white moving screenie attached and so is tns.

Edit: On calc, the circles look like octagons. Idk why
« Last Edit: January 05, 2012, 08:03:11 pm by cyanophycean314 »

Offline Jim Bauwens

  • Lua! Nspire! Linux!
  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +206/-7
  • Linux!
    • View Profile
    • nothing...
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #22 on: January 06, 2012, 03:41:06 am »
Looks very nice!


How do you draw your circles?
gc:fillArc ?

Offline Nick

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1166
  • Rating: +161/-3
  • You just got omnom'd
    • View Profile
    • Nick Steen
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #23 on: January 06, 2012, 03:50:27 am »
Ö i love the 3D-ish in it.. and the dropshadow, and the AI, great :p

maybe you could add a little pause between your move and the one from the AI, since now it happens directly, and you don't have the time to see what happens

Offline cyanophycean314

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 363
  • Rating: +43/-1
  • It's You!
    • View Profile
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #24 on: January 06, 2012, 04:33:35 pm »
Yeah, for the circles are fillArc. Is there a better way to draw circles?

I'll add a pause. Thanks! Though the AI is failed against the tests against my friends at school. They win every time.  :P

Offline Nick

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1166
  • Rating: +161/-3
  • You just got omnom'd
    • View Profile
    • Nick Steen
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #25 on: January 06, 2012, 04:35:00 pm »
well, tbh, it does really weird things sometimes.. like it sometimes does not 'kill' one of yours, for no reason

Offline cyanophycean314

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 363
  • Rating: +43/-1
  • It's You!
    • View Profile
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #26 on: January 06, 2012, 04:57:24 pm »
Does it not? It should... Will reexamine.

Btw, while trying to implement the pausing function, I have crashed the emulator twice.  :P

Offline Nick

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1166
  • Rating: +161/-3
  • You just got omnom'd
    • View Profile
    • Nick Steen
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #27 on: January 06, 2012, 06:15:05 pm »
crashing like in real crashing, with reboot?

O.o

Offline cyanophycean314

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 363
  • Rating: +43/-1
  • It's You!
    • View Profile
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #28 on: January 06, 2012, 09:45:50 pm »
I have to use task manager to close out of the program and then restart the program, I should probably try to implement it better.

Offline Jim Bauwens

  • Lua! Nspire! Linux!
  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +206/-7
  • Linux!
    • View Profile
    • nothing...
Re: Checkers Lua
« Reply #29 on: January 07, 2012, 11:02:37 am »
You had a endless loop? :P
Try to use on.timer for the pausing :)