Author Topic: nDOOM - Work in progress  (Read 72597 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ExtendeD

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 825
  • Rating: +167/-2
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #30 on: January 02, 2011, 05:52:19 am »
also, rewriting the whole event system, as the original used function pointers with arguments, which the Nspire doesn't seem to like either], and that's it.

You may need special calls when defining arrays of function pointers, but function pointers themselves (with or without arguments) shouldn't be a problem. I would be interested by a test case that fails.
Ndless.me with the finest TI-Nspire programs

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #31 on: January 02, 2011, 07:12:41 am »
Wow, impressive indeed :)
And welcome to Omnimaga and the Nspire community ;)
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline Fast Crash

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 192
  • Rating: +45/-7
  • Virus of tomorrow
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #32 on: January 02, 2011, 07:28:04 am »
 O.O Awesome !!!

I should buy a nSpire  :P

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #33 on: January 02, 2011, 07:45:42 am »
Wow... uh welcome to Omnimaga. That's one hell of a first post! Please excuse me while I go remove the bricks from my pants. ;D

Offline Ranman

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1354
  • Rating: +83/-0
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #34 on: January 02, 2011, 08:06:30 am »
Wow... uh welcome to Omnimaga. That's one hell of a first post! Please excuse me while I go remove the bricks from my pants. ;D

Bricks? Oh yeah... LOL :D

I think Mrakoplaz deserves an immediate promotion to utilize omnomirc. ;)
« Last Edit: January 02, 2011, 08:10:49 am by Ranman »
Ranman
Bringing Randy Glover's Jumpman to the TI-89 calculator. Download available at Ticalc.

Offline Mrakoplaz

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 46
  • Rating: +130/-2
  • Prussian Minister of War
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #35 on: January 02, 2011, 08:33:07 am »
Wow, I thought the initial response was amazing, but people seem to like the gif even more ;D
Thanks everyone, for your kind words!

For the people who asked about FPS, it is... somewhat strange. The movement/turning is really smooth, so is the lighting, even with 8 monsters at once shooting at you (and yes, this is on my real Nspire - CAS 2.0.1). However, the guns reload/fire about two times slower on the calculator than on the PC, which makes the game feel slow even though the movement is perfect. I'm guessing this is yet another bug, but I'll only investigate after I've fixed the big things. I am not sure, but I think the monsters still fire at the same rate, making the game almost impossible (at least for me!).
Needless to say, since the walking is so smooth, I don't think FPS will be a problem.

What could be a problem, however, is the display. Right now, the constrast is so bad on a real calculator that it is almost unplayable (you have problems even under a lamp!). At first, I thought it was because of the LCD (and the movement blur), but the contrast is equally horrible whether there's a million things all moving on the screen, or you're staring at a wall. Furthermore, running it with an inverted palette, the game is playable (but horribly confusing!). So I'm really hoping this is just a stupid palette bug, and not a limitation of the display.
As for the LCD blur itself... it's better than you'd expect (i.e. stuff is still visible while moving), but I really have to fix the low contrast in non-inverted mode. We'll see how it is after I've fiddled with it.

About the textures: I think the renderer is working perfectly, but the WAD loader is feeding it garbage data... if you consider that there's no distortion from any distance/angle, I think it's safe to rule out the renderer. There's another problem on a real calc, that it only seems to open the WAD file 30% of the time (on the emulator, it's about 95%). I'll work a bit on that, but debugging it is hard since it's pretty rare when emulated.

ExtendeD: I'll give a full report on what did/didn't work, as well as some test cases, after I fix the big bugs here and release the first somewhat playable version. One thing I must ask though, did anyone test the free() syscall on the CAS 2.0.1? It appears to crash the calc every time I call it, no matter if I'm freeing one byte or a thousand. Because of this, there's currently a memory leak of about 100kb each time you load a level...

PS: I almost forgot! I must apologize to Goplat and his amazing emulator, for not thanking him in the first post! The file transfer is still a bit iffy (I couldn't transfer the 4 meg WAD file, so I had to split it into 3 smaller files, then write a small program to merge them back together), but I can't complain, since the emulator is a blessing enough by itself. Good work!
« Last Edit: January 02, 2011, 08:38:50 am by Mrakoplaz »

Offline Silver Shadow

  • Beta Tester
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +27/-7
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #36 on: January 02, 2011, 08:38:44 am »
OMG! THIS IS AWESUM!!!  :thumbsup:
ME WANTS TEH CURRENT BUILD PLZ! ;)
Former Coder of Tomorrow


Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #37 on: January 02, 2011, 08:43:05 am »
Ranman: well, Mrakoplaz will soon reach 5 posts anyway :)
He can also join #omnimaga, #ti and #inspired on EFNet, that's where the action lies. Let's also mention #cemetech for completeness, though there is less Nspire action there, AFAICT.

Quote
What could be a problem, however, is the display. [snip]
Yeah, the Nspire's screen is terrible, much worse than the screen models across the TI-68k and TI-Z80 series. I interpret this as another proof that TI designed that calculator for pure education purposes... The TI-68k & TI-Z80 screens aren't that great, but they do a decent job, so we could convincingly say that TI used a cheap screen in the Nspire, so that fast gaming would suck.

nDOOM could be a serious contender for ticalc POTY 2011 :)
« Last Edit: January 02, 2011, 08:46:04 am by Lionel Debroux »
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #38 on: January 02, 2011, 08:47:08 am »
Mrakoplaz ->

You might let the user set the LCD contrast while playing.
You just need to read/write to 0x900F0020.

Sadly, the LCD blur is normal with the Nspire.

I think there is some bug with the wall textures...
Although floor and ceiling textures seem to be rendered properly, wall textures look just as if the tile was not scanning the full texture image, and was allways returning the same column...


Can we have your best build up to now?
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #39 on: January 02, 2011, 10:07:31 am »
Wow... uh welcome to Omnimaga. That's one hell of a first post!

Yeah... :crazy:
« Last Edit: January 02, 2011, 11:08:19 am by Deep Thought »




Offline ExtendeD

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 825
  • Rating: +167/-2
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #40 on: January 02, 2011, 10:20:47 am »
One thing I must ask though, did anyone test the free() syscall on the CAS 2.0.1? It appears to crash the calc every time I call it, no matter if I'm freeing one byte or a thousand.

I have just double checked the syscall, it seems correct. Does it work for you on non-CAS 2.0.1?
Could you please try to create a simple test case which shows the problem when you find the time to?
Ndless.me with the finest TI-Nspire programs

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #41 on: January 02, 2011, 12:28:47 pm »
That's awesome!

* Michael_Lee looks sadly at his 96x64 pixel screen...
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline qazz42

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1130
  • Rating: +30/-12
  • hiiiiiiiii
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #42 on: January 02, 2011, 01:26:24 pm »
Woah, this is over 9000, I have played doom a bunch of times, and have memorized the map pretty much, this is an almost exact replica from what I see, good job :D

Offline Mrakoplaz

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 46
  • Rating: +130/-2
  • Prussian Minister of War
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #43 on: January 02, 2011, 02:50:14 pm »
OK, since everyone requested it, I'm putting up my current build of nDoom, with the biggest problems fixed (huge problems still remain, but at least you can see what's on the screen now).

Here's the distributable, along with the source, for anyone who's interested:
http://www.box.net/shared/mlravudct9

This is seriously unfinished, so don't say I didn't warn you!

Some known problems
  • Wall/Sky textures, obviously
  • Screen too dark on real calculator (funnily enough, yesterday it was too bright)
  • Gun refire laggy, although world movement fine for some reason (on real calculator)
  • Too fast (on emulator)
  • The quit function sometimes freezes/resets the calculator (something to do with the graphics shutdown function, I think...)

So yeah. Try it at your own risk. And thanks again to all those who replied! I hope the shortcomings of this release don't disappoint you...

Offline fb39ca4

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1749
  • Rating: +60/-3
    • View Profile
Re: nDOOM - Work in progress
« Reply #44 on: January 02, 2011, 03:37:49 pm »
Woah, this is over 9000, I have played doom a bunch of times, and have memorized the map pretty much, this is an almost exact replica from what I see, good job :D
It IS an exact replica lol, Mrakoplaz is porting over the source.

Too bad it doesnt work on my calc, it doesnt have ndless 2.0 on it.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2011, 03:45:11 pm by fb39ca4 »