Author Topic: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown  (Read 26515 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #15 on: October 13, 2013, 03:49:17 pm »
But rabbitsign does use the keys...
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2013, 03:51:28 pm »
Wow, signing the files one by one, TI finally found out how to be truly evil o.o

inb4 we crack it again as usual

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline Jim Bauwens

  • Lua! Nspire! Linux!
  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +206/-7
  • Linux!
    • View Profile
    • nothing...
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #17 on: October 13, 2013, 04:08:48 pm »
Currently, there are only two TI-Nspire developer left besides the Ndless/TNOC/nLaunchy team: Jens_K (Minecraft 2D) and Jwalker (WZGlib).

There are quite some TI-Nspire Lua developers out there. But many of them aren't on Omnimaga. Personally, I'm busy on many projects but I don't really post much about it until it's pretty cool functioning well.

This is again sad news but it was to be expected. All we can do now is fight back. I suppose this is discouraging for many developers and will cause many to stop too. But that's just what TI wants. And if that happens the TI-Nspire will stay locked. I'm going to keep on fighting the locks and exploit and get the most of the device. No matter TI does, my TI-Nspire is my TI-Nspire and I will do with it what I want.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #18 on: October 13, 2013, 04:16:37 pm »
Yeah I mean if you look at the recent releases, Nspire stuff is really rare nowadays. I would be curious to compile every Omnimaga features as well as the pending features and compare how many Nspire games there have been compared to Z80/Casio ones compared to the last few years. I remember a few years ago that we would see like 3 Nspire games every month.

Also something else that I noticed is that Nspire games don't make the top 25th most downloaded files of the week as much as Z80 games nowadays on ticalc.org. Same for programs. For example, right now there are 10 83+/84+ programs, 7 84+CSE programs, 7 computer utilities and only 1 Nspire game.

That said, the emulators probably didn't help creativity either. Since there are already hundreds of great GBA classics available for the Nspire CX and two Doom ports (including the GBA one), a lot of people probably don't feel like spending hundreds of hours of hard work on some Reuben Quest clone that would compete head-on against Final Fantasy VI. On the other hand, if only TI decided to make Lua cross-compatible with all OS versions for programs that don't use new features, then maybe some people would be at least interested in creating some Lua games for calcs that can't run Ndless.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2013, 04:17:47 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline nikitouzz

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • Rating: +22/-1
    • View Profile
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2013, 04:17:14 pm »
mes records personels :

2x2x2 : 2.18 secondes / 2x2x2 une main : 21.15 secondes / 2x2x2 yeux bandés : 47.59
3x3x3 : 5.97 secondes / 3x3x3 une main : 49.86 secondes
4x4x4 : 1.49 minutes / 4x4x4 une main : 6.50 minutes
5x5x5 : 4.10 minutes / 5x5x5 une main : 18.02 minutes
6x6x6 : 8.10 minutes
7x7x7 : 16.03 minutes
9x9x9 : 58.26 minutes

megaminx : 5.59 minutes / pyraminx : 7.91 secondes / square-one : 1.07 minutes

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #20 on: October 13, 2013, 04:23:31 pm »
The question is why didn't he post here either, considering most of the English Nspire users are on Omni? Is it due to the file containing copyrighted material? That said, I am curious about what this file does (assuming it's legit, considering the user only has 1 post).

Anyway the file is available in the thread Nikitouzz linked to above. Someone who has multiple Nspires should try first, in case, since the member only has 1 post on Cemetech and TI-Planet.


EDIT: Question: Does the new OS take much longer to transfer with the new verifications? I know on the 84+ models the OS took 6 extra minutes for validation.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2013, 04:32:12 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Jim Bauwens

  • Lua! Nspire! Linux!
  • Editor
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +206/-7
  • Linux!
    • View Profile
    • nothing...
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #21 on: October 13, 2013, 04:42:39 pm »
Ti actually has done a pretty good job on maintaining compatibility while introducing new software features. Most stuff that don't work are stuff that anyway never were supported. Take setAlpha for example .. it actually didn't work on the handheld but only on the computer software. It was clearly mentioned before new releases that it would be going away, yet certain members still decided to rely on the functionality.  Beside that, it's extremely easy to make 3.2 software compatible with 3.1 if you just do some effort.

While 3.6 has many new Lua stuff, it still has special compatibility modes for 3.1 and 3.2.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #22 on: October 13, 2013, 04:49:11 pm »
True, but sometimes maybe the programmer might not be fully aware or he might not realize that those features will or might be removed. For example, if someone was misinformed by another user or if he used a different tutorial than the TI-Planet wiki to learn Nspire Lua. There are probably people who found Lua too limited in speed so they wanted to use every way possible to gain extra frames per second, something that could have been prevented if TI worked harder on optimizing the Lua interpreter. What I don't get either is why they removed some features, because it makes it more confusing to learn for people who use non-TI specific tutorials.

However, in many cases, what happens is that even if a software uses no 3.2+ commands, if it was saved on a calc using OS 3.2 or higher, then sent to the computer then someone attempts at installing it on an older OS, then maybe it won't work. I am unsure if that is true for 3.2 to 3.1 transfer, though. I just mean that it's much harder than on Z80/68K OSes, where most programs will work accross over a decade of OS updates (although sometimes patches like HW3Patch might be needed).

The same thing recently happened with the FX-9860G with the switch to a different processor.

I seriously hope that Lua 3.6 games that uses no 3.2-only commands will send/run fine on OS 3.1. If not, then this is definitively one more attempt by TI to force people to upgrade. Time for a Lua 3.2/3.6 to 3.1 converter tool?
« Last Edit: October 13, 2013, 04:52:44 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #23 on: October 13, 2013, 05:10:43 pm »
Ok it works, but only on TI-Nspire CX CAS, not on TI-Nspire CX (it just freezes).

Note that this is in no way a solution for TI-Nspire CX HW-J/K owners, as Nlaunch and Boot2 3.1 are required.

Give us a little time to think about this...
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #24 on: October 13, 2013, 05:16:16 pm »
Yeah I just saw your post on TI-Planet. I guess maybe the guy who made this only owns a CAS model and didn't test in the regular ones? That said, this doesn't solve the issue of new calcs possibly coming with this OS in the future or people upgrading by mistake, with no way to come back to OS 3.1 (and nLaunch).
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Roondak

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
  • Rating: +4/-3
    • View Profile
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #25 on: October 13, 2013, 06:14:55 pm »
I'm working on my first real nspire project, hope to help generate interest in the nspire.

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #26 on: October 13, 2013, 08:54:16 pm »
Released Ndless 3.6 Switching Pack for the TI-Nspire CX CAS with Boot2 3.1:
http://tiplanet.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=13214

Put both 3.1 and 3.6 OSes in your TI-Nspire CX CAS and switch between them when needed.
Switch to 3.6 when you want to benefit from the latest features...
Switch to 3.1 when you want to use Ndless programs.

New easy installation tutorial in only 10 easy steps.

Enjoy.
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #27 on: October 13, 2013, 11:20:47 pm »
Oh wow that's cool. :D Now if only we could find a way to work around the issues with the J and K models. D:
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Roondak

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
  • Rating: +4/-3
    • View Profile
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #28 on: October 14, 2013, 12:08:10 am »
Released Ndless 3.6 Switching Pack for the TI-Nspire CX CAS with Boot2 3.1:
http://tiplanet.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=13214

Put both 3.1 and 3.6 OSes in your TI-Nspire CX CAS and switch between them when needed.
Switch to 3.6 when you want to benefit from the latest features...
Switch to 3.1 when you want to use Ndless programs.

New easy installation tutorial in only 10 easy steps.

Enjoy.
Switch back and forth with renaming a file and reseting? Sounds awesome. Going to install that and use the new ui and 3.2 lua games.

Offline Slaith

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New TI-Nspire OS 3.6 with extra lockdown
« Reply #29 on: October 14, 2013, 04:08:41 am »
Last night, new TI-Nspire 3.6 OS files were found on TI servers.

The complete version number is 3.6.0.543, and it was built on Sept. 11th, 2013.

The OS is available for :
  • TI-Nspire
  • TI-Nspire CAS
  • TI-Nspire CX
  • TI-Nspire CX CAS
Let’s notice that we couldn’t find any release for the chinese TI-Nspire CM, which already skipped OS 3.2.4. Are those models discontinued?

The TI-84+SE version for TI-Nspire calculators remains the same 2.56MP.

This OS sets the minimum installable version to itself (3.6.0.546) and thus forbids any possibility of going back to any prior version - which is actually counter-productive since several bugs were found in the recent releases that weren't there before, in versions that worked better….

The OS does include Boot2 3.2.4 for the TI-Nspire CX and Boot2 3.0.1 for the TI-Nspire ClickPad/TouchPad.

Let's note that there is a new quite evil protection. The OS installation files contain new ‘manifest' files with the signed list of all files included and their signatures ! As a result, it is impossible to make any changes to these files: they can not be deleted or replaced.

As a result, it becomes impossible to use our TNOC utility to remove the useless Boot2 in 99% of cases and furthermore harmful, as well as sample files.
This means in practice that if you install the OS 3.6, the available space on your TI-Nspire ClickPad / TouchPad, for example, will drop to 14.3 Mo, and the update to nLaunch-incompatible Boot2 is mandatory.

Remember that at the time of the OS 3.0, the update to the 3.0 boot2 could destroy your TI-Nspire ClickPad / TouchPad, and TNOC helped limiting damage and therefore the number of calculators exchange for Texas Instruments. Such an attack against the tool, ignoring the past, is not acceptable.

If you remove the Boot2 from the 3.6 OS file, the system will devilishly pretend to function normally at first. But after the first start, it will change the minimum installable version to 3.6.0.546 and will self-destruct, reporting a discrepency in the RS232 log visible here. You are now condemned to stay with an unusable calculator until you accept to install the original version of the file OS 3.6, now the only accepted version. :banghead:

The home screen directly indicates the availability of the CAS engine, allowing a quick check during exams that forbid it:


We can also notice the new designs of the main calculator application, graphs, spreadsheet and Vernier :



Changes on the Lua scripting side will be detailed later.


We therefore do not recommend installing the OS 3.6 if you've got a monochrome TI-Nspire, or a TI-Nspire CX still running a nice 3.2.3 release or earlier. We may find a software-way to use the 3.6 OS in a controlled manner from these versions. But if the OS 3.6 is installed the normal way, that is to say, with all its protections, it will remain uncontrollable and going back will be very difficult because it will require external hardware, or may actually be impossible in the current state of our knowledge.


Source: (and downloads...)
http://tiplanet.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13206&lang=en

With 33+ years of programming/hardware design experience  and 26+ years as a EE I am always astounded why you are all at all surprised. Don't you get it? It's all about money and power! It has nothing to do with capability! Just look at the SI unit system in America, VHS v beta, QWERTY v others , 8086 v 68000/Z8000 etc, etc etc!!! TI is simply acting out of fear, pure and simple for their investments. IMHO, TI has invested in a student/academic calculator and not a computational platform. If you (we) destroy their business model then they will/must fight us but if we align ourselves (please, please bear with me for a moment please) with at least their profit motives we can make this platform the most successful to have ever traversed the face of this planet. TI,as I recall, from the 70's goes WAY back to Jack Kilby and probably the first IC CALCULATOR!!!! If we deconflict our efforts with their survival profit model then we's all down on our sh__ w/o TI threatn' us.
Just ensure two domains exist , one TI profit model for students/tests and the other NONSTUDENTS/TESTS/ all others. We need to come to an agreement that some indicator/unbreakable method is a student/test version
*OR* ours AND NO ONE CAN FAKE the student/test version! I think its that simple IMHO!!!! That way its a win/win for us AND TI because they have the student/test profit and growth to STUDENT==> Professional/hobbiest/ whatever profit model which are clearly and completely different.