Author Topic: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!  (Read 9585 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« on: September 08, 2012, 11:02:32 am »
In stores we can find many different monochrome graphic Casio calculators:
  • fx-7400GII
  • fx-9750GII
  • fx-9860G
  • fx-9860G SD
  • fx-9860GII
  • fx-9860GII SD

But what is less visible, is that those models can come with OS 2.00, 2.01 or 2.02.



There is no update for OS 2.02 on the Casio site, which is normal since it comes preinstalled only on calculators using the new hardware based on an SH4 processor (different from the SH3 processor in the old hardware), and is therefore incompatible with the calculators using the old hardware.
This new hardware also causes many problems, since the majority of add-ins are incompatible with it, and since the Casio SDK has not been updated yet to generate add-ins compatible with the new hardware.

But fortunately if you still have a calculator with the old OS 2.00, OS 2.01 brings many bugfixes and improvements over the 2.00 OS, and you can therefore enjoy the software benefits of OS 2.02 without having the hardware drawbacks after updating.

These benefits include a better choice of the calculation mode, exact or approximate - which could give completely different and therefore totally wrong resultes with OS 2.00:


2.01 update installers for the fx-9860G and fx-9860GII can be found on the Casio site.



And what about the fx-9750GII?

Casio has simply never released any update installer for this model.

However, this model has a 4MB Flash ROM,  exactly like the fx-9860G and fx-9860GII! :o

So the ROM can perfectly be reflashed with a new OS and Casio just didn't bother to develop an update installer for this entry-level model. Therefore, it is impossible to update officially.



But fortunately, I've released a tutorial which will allow you to update your fx-9750GII to the new OS 2.01 and calculate better!



Link:
Tutorial to update the Casio fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to OS 2.01 (in french for now)


Source:
http://tiplanet.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10343&lang=en
« Last Edit: September 08, 2012, 12:13:58 pm by critor »
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2012, 01:28:26 pm »
Is this the normal 9750gii -> 9860gii hack?  I remember updating it last year to 2.01 by using an isolated OS and pfxrecover..
« Last Edit: September 08, 2012, 01:37:08 pm by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2012, 02:46:56 pm »
Is this the normal 9750gii -> 9860gii hack?  I remember updating it last year to 2.01 by using an isolated OS and pfxrecover..

This is not the hack, but the hack needs the same tools.

It's just to install the 9750gii OS 2.01 on a 9750gii with OS 2.00, as Casio didn't bother to release a 2.01 updater for the 9750gii.
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline NeoCrisis

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 217
  • Rating: +14/-2
  • tihacker59
    • View Profile
Re: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2012, 08:51:16 am »
I finished translating the tutorial, it will be soon available. For any problem of translation, please send me an email to [email protected]



TI-Planet moderator

Offline Eiyeron

  • Urist McEiyolobster
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1430
  • Rating: +130/-10
  • (-_(//));
    • View Profile
    • Rétro-Actif : Rétro/Prog/Blog
Re: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2012, 02:46:07 pm »
Is this the normal 9750gii -> 9860gii hack?  I remember updating it last year to 2.01 by using an isolated OS and pfxrecover..

This is not the hack, but the hack needs the same tools.

It's just to install the 9750gii OS 2.01 on a 9750gii with OS 2.00, as Casio didn't bother to release a 2.01 updater for the 9750gii.
FOr me, that means they are counting on us to install the updates. So Casio is more or less caring about the community and its works! o/

Offline fxdev

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 177
  • Rating: +34/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2012, 07:02:01 pm »
I don't want to blame anyone here, but I updated the fxRemote package to build 26 (includes additional debug output) some time ago plus OS 2.01 and 2.02 backups for fx-9750GII calculators; and all of a sudden people find out there are OS 2.01.0700 ROMs around... ;D

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2012, 05:07:07 pm »
I don't want to blame anyone here, but I updated the fxRemote package to build 26 (includes additional debug output) some time ago plus OS 2.01 and 2.02 backups for fx-9750GII calculators; and all of a sudden people find out there are OS 2.01.0700 ROMs around... ;D

I was going to ask you if you had found out 2.01 backups for the fx-7400Gii. ;)


The tutorial is not above the discovery/dumping of the 2.01 ROMs and I didn't pretend to have dumped them myself (I could have done it if I could find out the OS version before buying the calculator...). The tutorial is only about the update process.

But so, what do you want?
A public link to your package with the ROMs in the tutorial?
I'm not sure it's a good idea...

Such links should be kept private/secret as most as possible if we want them to remain valid to my advice.

Credits/thanks for the ROM dumping at the end of the tutorial?
No problem if I have your permission.
But I'm not sure it's a good idea either...


It's up to you anyway - I'll do as you wish :)
« Last Edit: September 14, 2012, 05:08:43 pm by critor »
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline fxdev

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 177
  • Rating: +34/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2012, 01:17:57 pm »
Quote
I was going to ask you if you had found out 2.01 backups for the fx-7400Gii.
I have checked the latest sold fx-7400GII models and they still have OS 2.00

It seems Casio are using their remaining SH7337/SH7355 chips to build new fx-7400GII calculators. As soon as they run out of these, they will most certainly update the OS to 2.02 and use SH7305 chips.

Btw, I have sent you a PM with all OS versions from 1.02 up to 2.02

Quote
But so, what do you want?
I want nothing. It was just a comment.

Quote
Credits/thanks for the ROM dumping at the end of the tutorial?
That would be horrible for my reputation. ;)

Offline fxdev

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 177
  • Rating: +34/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2012, 07:35:32 am »
I now have an fx-7400GII with OS 2.02 ;D

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2012, 09:56:52 am »
Great! Did you dump it ?

No OS 2.01 yet?
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline fxdev

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 177
  • Rating: +34/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Update your fx-9750GII from OS 2.00 to 2.01 becomes possible!
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2012, 10:59:36 am »
Quote
Did you dump it ?
No, I don't have the cable. Will dump it this weekend. Also, fxRemote needs to be updated.

Quote
No OS 2.01 yet?
I don't know if one exists. Maybe yes, maybe no.
I'm currently discussing the possibility of manually backporting OS 2.02 to the SH-3. Seems to be feasible.
Update: Okay, it appears to be a bit more complicated. But I will definitely look into this again. :)

For instance, OS 2.02 corrects (like Prizm OS 1.03) the following Casio-Basic bugs:

Code: [Select]
Do
{0}
Do
LpWhile 1
LpWhile 0
Press [AC/ON] -> system error

Code: [Select]
Exp>Str(fn1,Str 1)If a program larger than 255 bytes has been stored via [OPTN]/[F6]/[F6]/[F3]/[F1] into fn1 -> system error

Code: [Select]
In PRGM menu:
RclCapt 1
Stop
If Capture 1 does not exist -> memory error -> press 2x[EXIT] -> press [F2] (edit) -> press [EXE] for password -> press [EXIT] because of memory error -> severe memory corruption visible

Code: [Select]
SolveN(Y1)If Y1 does not exist -> press [EXE] -> system freezes

Code: [Select]
1->A
A=0=>"COLON:"
"TEXT"
Press [EXE] -> syntax error (should print "TEXT")
« Last Edit: September 19, 2012, 12:04:57 pm by cfxm »