Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Contests => Official Contest => Topic started by: Raylin on January 18, 2011, 05:38:30 pm

Title: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Raylin on January 18, 2011, 05:38:30 pm
If you need help on something calculator-wise and you're in a Cage Match, post here.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on January 18, 2011, 05:40:15 pm
Will the content of this topic be split in the TI-BASIC section later? Some people who don't participate might check the TI-BASIC section for help and miss this topic. I guess you could maybe move it there with no redirect, then move it back with a redirect.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Raylin on January 18, 2011, 05:44:15 pm
Done.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: yunhua98 on January 18, 2011, 05:45:06 pm
shuold I move Team Battles to?  and what about those contests ruler's been making?

EDIT:  also, post rating is disabled here lol.  :P
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Raylin on January 18, 2011, 05:45:55 pm
Not just yet.
When they get established and running (again in Ashbad's case), then move them.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on January 18, 2011, 05:48:09 pm
I thought this would mostly be for Omni contests, although we could maybe add other ones. I just don't want it to be flooded with random ones. I guess we could maybe sticky important Omni topics in there.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: AngelFish on January 22, 2011, 09:06:30 pm
Okay, my map engine can draw the tilemap in approximately 0.1 seconds, but it's single layer ASCII. Does anyone think it would be worth it to have multiple layers and greater detail at the expense of speed and memory?
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Raylin on January 22, 2011, 09:19:31 pm
Nah. Speed is key. No one plays a super-slow game that looks really nice. Keep a balance.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Builderboy on January 23, 2011, 02:08:13 am
As the developer of a duel layer ascii game, I say that if you want the extra graphics, go for it :) the speed decrease really isn't as large as Raylin might suggest, for instance my Serenity game loads maps in a very quick amount of time, you can check out some of the screenshots yourself to take a peek:

(http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/6455/screen2o.gif)

IMHO making the graphics duel layer, or shifted duel layer makes the graphics that much more amazing than just plain ascii, and if you are willing to take the size toll (since there is minute speed toll, which is only present in map loading, and takes a fraction longer) then duel layer, or shifted duel layer can offer amazing graphics while still retaining very good speed.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: AngelFish on January 23, 2011, 02:10:53 am
Like I said, the map draws in a tenth of a second already. I have plenty of speed to spare.

That said, I have no idea how you managed to get such nice double layer graphics.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Builderboy on January 23, 2011, 02:19:31 am
The trick is to not put each layer right on top of the other, but offset the second layer by 1 to the right.  That way, the tiles are seamless, and there is no space between them :) You also get more tile options, since now the order matters.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: ztrumpet on January 23, 2011, 10:50:43 am
Yeah, they aren't too slow.  Here's another example of their speed: http://ourl.ca/6317

For the record, this is what I make my maps with: http://ourl.ca/3839
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Ashbad on January 23, 2011, 01:19:56 pm
I definitely understand how to do dual layer, but I can't make it draw a map in under about 5 seconds.  What is a better way of doing this?  Here's mine:

Code: (BASIC) [Select]
"pretend there's a 112 char string called Str1
"And pretend that _ means a space
"_X" -> Str2
"_X" -> Str3
For(A,0,111
Text(-1,fpart(A/16)*16*6,ipart(A/16)*8,Sub(Str2,Expr(Sub(Str1,B*16+A+1,1))+1,1
Text(-1,fpart(A/16)*16*6,ipart(A/16)*8+1,Sub(Str3,Expr(Sub(Str1,B*16+A+1,1))+1,1
End
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Builderboy on January 23, 2011, 01:38:41 pm
Code: [Select]
135 character String->Str1
different 135 character String->Str2
For(F,0,9
Text(-1,7F,0,sub(Str1,15F+1,15
StorePic 1
Text(-1,7F,1,sub(Str2,15F+1,15
RecalPic 1
End

Thats how I do it in Serenity and is renders in about 1 second on my calc :)
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: meishe91 on January 23, 2011, 01:45:07 pm
Ya, like Builder said. The trick is to do entire rows at a time instead of each tile.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Ashbad on January 23, 2011, 03:05:19 pm
Code: [Select]
135 character String->Str1
different 135 character String->Str2
For(F,0,9
Text(-1,7F,0,sub(Str1,15F+1,15
StorePic 1
Text(-1,7F,1,sub(Str2,15F+1,15
RecalPic 1
End

Thats how I do it in Serenity and is renders in about 1 second on my calc :)

wow, that's pretty awesome, and fast...

Thanks, that helps my entry a lot! :D  My loading was taking multiple seconds to load :P
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: ztrumpet on January 23, 2011, 03:13:47 pm
Code: [Select]
135 character String->Str1
different 135 character String->Str2
For(F,0,9
Text(-1,7F,0,sub(Str1,15F+1,15
StorePic 1
Text(-1,7F,1,sub(Str2,15F+1,15
RecalPic 1
End

Thats how I do it in Serenity and is renders in about 1 second on my calc :)
Funny, I thought you did this:
Code: [Select]
126 character String->Str1
different 126 character String->Str2
For(F,0,8
Text(-1,7F,0,sub(Str1,14F+1,14
StorePic 1
Text(-1,7F,1,sub(Str2,14F+1,14
RecalPic 1
End
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Builderboy on January 23, 2011, 03:21:15 pm
Well in Serenity its 14 wide because of the health bar, but the screen can deal with 15 characters :)
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Ashbad on January 23, 2011, 03:22:51 pm
and not 16 wide because then the last character looks plain :P

Thanks a lot!  I got it up and working now :)
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: AngelFish on January 23, 2011, 03:29:39 pm
Thanks for the code Builderboy, but it would require an entire map engine re-write to take advantage of it for me, so I don't know.
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: Builderboy on January 23, 2011, 03:33:26 pm
No problem!  And yeah if you have something working, best not to change it unless you are 100% sure :)
Title: Re: [BULLETIN] Cage Match Help
Post by: ztrumpet on January 23, 2011, 03:43:28 pm
Ashbad, you can always make the offset of the second column 3. :)  That's what the original plan for Elmgon was. ;D