Author Topic: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing  (Read 2811 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55896
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
I noticed that OmnomIRC started to randomly stop refreshing from time to time lately in Opera. It's much more rare than in Omnom 1, but sometimes, after a tab has been open for 5 minutes, I have to hit F5 because my text and other's won't show up.

Offline Stefan Bauwens

  • Creator of Myst 89 - סטיבן
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1799
  • Rating: +162/-24
  • 68k programmer
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2011, 02:55:40 am »
I think I had this too. It's been a while since I used omnom, though.


Very proud Ticalc.org POTY winner (2011 68k) with Myst 89!
Very proud TI-Planet.org DBZ winner(2013)

Interview with me

Offline Netham45

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2103
  • Rating: +213/-4
  • *explodes*
    • View Profile
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2011, 08:24:34 am »
I believe that it's the same issue as in OmnomIRCv1, just not as obvious because of how OmnomIRCv2 works.

I've noticed it too, the AJAX object just kinda gives up and stops working. The only thing I could come up with was force a refresh of the page, but that'd suck if you were in the middle of writing a post or something.
Omnimaga Admin

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55896
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2011, 04:40:42 pm »
Netham45, the thing is that I never got this happening since OmnomIRC 2 was introduced before. It only started happening two days ago. ???

Offline Netham45

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2103
  • Rating: +213/-4
  • *explodes*
    • View Profile
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2011, 10:58:02 am »
I haven't updated the client-side code in a couple weeks.

I'ma write a script to test AJAX in Opera, hopefully that'll let us know what versions are bugged/help find out what causes the bug
Omnimaga Admin

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55896
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2011, 09:41:29 pm »
Ah ok.

By the way could the refreshing stopping randomly be casued by my wi-fi connection going down during like half a second sometimes?

Offline fb39ca4

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1749
  • Rating: +60/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2011, 10:34:16 pm »
That's what she said!
* fb39ca4 runs
Wifi isn't supposed to go down like that. Check with it plugged in through Ethernet, see what happens.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55896
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2011, 10:36:22 pm »
I can't. My ethernet card or port died, which is why I was forced to switch to wi-fi recently.

It's weird, though, because right now it seems to work OK, as I was connected to IRC for several minutes. Maybe it's when I am inactive for a while? Also when playing Starcraft II I rarely ever disconnect (I might lag during 3 seconds maybe every 2 or 3 game, that's it.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2011, 10:37:32 pm by DJ_O »

Offline fb39ca4

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1749
  • Rating: +60/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2011, 11:19:16 pm »
Ah. In my experience, wifi is pretty reliable (you shouldnt get problems if you are reasonably close to the router and there's no interference) and when I get disconnected from an online game or something it is the Internet connections fault.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55896
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2011, 11:37:00 pm »
Ah ok. Well it could be a crappy router, though, but again a wall separates both my computer and router x.x

Offline Netham45

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2103
  • Rating: +213/-4
  • *explodes*
    • View Profile
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2011, 10:36:05 pm »
Ah ok.

By the way could the refreshing stopping randomly be casued by my wi-fi connection going down during like half a second sometimes?


The way it's written, it should be able to overcome that, though it might be waiting for the page request to die if it happens when the internet is down.

Next time it happens, let that tab sit for like 45 seconds and if so, it should start working again.
Omnimaga Admin

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55896
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Netham45 grows by 2 inch everytime OmnomIRC stops refreshing
« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2011, 10:49:16 pm »
Ah ok, thanks for the tip. Hopefully this works.