Author Topic: TI-30xs II programming  (Read 22261 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline z80man

  • Casio Traitor
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Rating: +85/-3
    • View Profile
TI-30xs II programming
« on: February 09, 2011, 01:24:03 am »
Next year when I take physics i'll have to use a Ti-30 :P. and I do not want to use an unprogrammable calc. I happen to already own a TI-30xs II calc. In a way it is similar to the TI 83+. The screen dimensions are 32x96 (half size) and the text chars are the same. But is has no linkport and a very limited OS. My idea was what if I did some hardware modifications to get the calc to accept machine code. And does anyone know how the TI-80 got hacked because that could provide some valuable insight.


List of stuff I need to do before September:
1. Finish the Emulator of the Casio Prizm (in active development)
2. Finish the the SH3 asm IDE/assembler/linker program (in active development)
3. Create a partial Java virtual machine  for the Prizm (not started)
4. Create Axe for the Prizm with an Axe legacy mode (in planning phase)
5. Develop a large set of C and asm libraries for the Prizm (some progress)
6. Create an emulator of the 83+ for the Prizm (not started)
7. Create a well polished game that showcases the ability of the Casio Prizm (not started)

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 03:54:15 am »
I dont think it is possible to program on this calc.
Reason 1: No [prgm] key
Reason 2: No [alpha] key
Reason 3: No catalog
Reason 4: MathPrint (XD)
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2011, 04:39:13 am »
The TI-30XS ROM has been dumped.
It is using machine code for a Toshiba T49 (T4x series) cpu.

Note that's a 4-bits cpu.

You can test things by feeding the ROM (or a modified ROM) to the online emulator:
http://xandrean.free.fr/T4X/TIScientific.html


The TI-80 is not fully dumped yet (let's say 97%), but the missing bytes are very hard to get.
Anyway, it is using a 16-bits proprietary cpu from Toshiba (T6M53A).
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline fb39ca4

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1749
  • Rating: +60/-3
    • View Profile
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2011, 09:05:29 pm »
Those calcs seem very limited. They probably have only th ebare minimum to support mathprint.

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2011, 01:50:46 pm »
Those calcs seem very limited. They probably have only th ebare minimum to support mathprint.

With 128Kb of ROM (like the TI-82 or TI-85), with a 4-bits CPU (like the HP-48), and with a dot-matrix LCD like all graphic calculators, I don't think those calcs are limited.

They have a very interesting hardware.
The CPU has 64 registers.
You've got 4Kb of DataRAM, 1Kb of WorkRAM and 2Kb of DisplayRAM.

The RAM might be small, but just think to what has been achieved with the TI-81...
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 03:29:09 pm by critor »
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2011, 02:58:10 pm »
I dont think it is possible to program on this calc.
Reason 1: No [prgm] key
Reason 2: No [alpha] key
Reason 3: No catalog
Reason 4: MathPrint (XD)

Hence he wants to hardware hack it......

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2011, 03:41:19 pm »
I dont think it is possible to program on this calc.
Reason 1: No [prgm] key
Reason 2: No [alpha] key
Reason 3: No catalog
Reason 4: MathPrint (XD)

Hence he wants to hardware hack it......
Programming is always impossible when there's MathPrint :P

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2011, 03:42:41 pm »
I dont think it is possible to program on this calc.
Reason 1: No [prgm] key
Reason 2: No [alpha] key
Reason 3: No catalog
Reason 4: MathPrint (XD)

Hence he wants to hardware hack it......
Programming is always impossible when there's MathPrint :P

 ???
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2011, 03:43:57 pm »
Those calcs seem very limited. They probably have only th ebare minimum to support mathprint.

With 128Kb of ROM (like the TI-82 or TI-85), with a 4-bits CPU (like the HP-48), and with a dot-matrix LCD like all graphic calculators, I don't think those calcs are limited.

They have a very interesting hardware.
The CPU has 64 registers.
You've got 4Kb of DataRAM, 1Kb of WorkRAM and 2Kb of DisplayRAM.

The RAM might be small, but just think to what has been achieved with the TI-81...
Ooh, wow. 64 registers is a lot to work with... I wonder how easy it would be for others to get programs on theirs...

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2011, 03:47:35 pm »
I dont think it is possible to program on this calc.
Reason 1: No [prgm] key
Reason 2: No [alpha] key
Reason 3: No catalog
Reason 4: MathPrint (XD)

Hence he wants to hardware hack it......
Programming is always impossible when there's MathPrint :P

:S

What is MathPrint?

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2011, 03:48:37 pm »
I dont think it is possible to program on this calc.
Reason 1: No [prgm] key
Reason 2: No [alpha] key
Reason 3: No catalog
Reason 4: MathPrint (XD)

Hence he wants to hardware hack it......
Programming is always impossible when there's MathPrint :P

:S

What is MathPrint?

PrettyPrint made by TI.
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline Goplat

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 289
  • Rating: +82/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2011, 04:41:11 pm »
The TI-80 is not fully dumped yet (let's say 97%), but the missing bytes are very hard to get.
Anyway, it is using a 16-bits proprietary cpu from Toshiba (T6M53A).
I thought you dumped the 8000-FFFF but were missing 0000-3FFF, so that's 32kB out of 48kB or 67%. How did you get another 30%?
Numquam te deseram; numquam te deficiam; numquam circa curram et te desolabo
Numquam te plorare faciam; numquam valedicam; numquam mendacium dicam et te vulnerabo

Offline matthias1992

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 408
  • Rating: +33/-5
    • View Profile
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2011, 04:47:23 pm »
Hardware hacking this would involve just adding more ram in the first place. That means you need to figure out how the 4 bit cpu adresses memory and how much it can adress (since the rom is 128k you should be able to hook up a similiar amount of ram).

Only problem is going to be in actually hooking it up unless ti has left some pins for you....
MASM xxxxxxxxxx aborted | SADce ====:::::: 40% -Halted until further notice| XAOS =====::::: 50% -Units done| SKYBOX2D engine ========== 100% -Pre-alpha done. Need to  document it and extend |

~Those who dream by day are cognizant of much more than those who dream by night only. -Sir Edgar Allen Poe-

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2011, 04:53:40 pm »
The TI-80 is not fully dumped yet (let's say 97%), but the missing bytes are very hard to get.
Anyway, it is using a 16-bits proprietary cpu from Toshiba (T6M53A).
I thought you dumped the 8000-FFFF but were missing 0000-3FFF, so that's 32kB out of 48kB or 67%. How did you get another 30%?

You're right. There is a trick that makes the TI-80 print chars representing the ROM content, starting from 0x0000.

Just try:
* create a program performing an INPUT
* launch it
* on the input prompt, type [ . ] (or anything triggering  an error)
* when shown the error menu, type [ On ]
* enjoy ^^

I'm getting the system messages that were missing in the previous dump.

Why are 3% still missing?
Some bytes values aren't printing a character...
Severall bytes values are printing the same character...

And 3% of 12Kb, is still too much to be processed by hand... :(


(Randy did all the job of converting/typing readable bytes by hand, using that trick)
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline brendtlindsay

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 1
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-30xs II programming
« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2013, 09:40:51 pm »
I love this site ALREADY ;D