Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Other Calc-Related Projects and Ideas => Topic started by: zeldaking on August 01, 2011, 10:29:31 pm

Title: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 01, 2011, 10:29:31 pm
(http://img.removedfromgame.com/imgs/dungeons.gif)
This is a ti basic game similar to escape (one of the axe contest programs), which the object of the game is to escape from one prison cell to another, by beating the puzzles found in that room. You can move the big N blocks, and the black = blocks are solid/stationary, and you can push the N blocks into 0 blocks (holes) to fill the holes up. Notice these are the easiest levels (don't want to give solutions away), and so far I only have the first 10 levels with more to come in the upcoming week. It gets pretty challenging.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on August 01, 2011, 10:52:43 pm
Interesting, I like that type of games. Is that a TI-84 Plus screenshot by the way? SOme of those puzzles looks pretty fun :)
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: ztrumpet on August 01, 2011, 11:45:27 pm
That's awesome!  I think I'll have some fun with this game. ^-^
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 02, 2011, 12:02:10 pm
Is that a TI-84 Plus screenshot by the way?
Well if you count the Ti-84+se.
Here is a screenshot teaser for levels 5-10.
(http://img.removedfromgame.com/imgs/dungeons5-10.gif)
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: yunhua98 on August 02, 2011, 12:17:28 pm
wow, that looks good. Levels are definitely better than mine.  :P
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 02, 2011, 12:21:39 pm
Hey, Thanks yunhua. I was going to make the button to open/close doors but it made walking a bit to lagged.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 02, 2011, 12:22:05 pm
I'm programming very much in basic, and this is impossible to make in Basic.
You have used xLib, right?

(only with xLib ou can use the inverted "=" and a few other things like the "<" and the ">")

I think the text atr the beginning is graphics and the game is with Output, or?


But it looks really very good!!
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: yunhua98 on August 02, 2011, 12:24:22 pm
I'm programming very much in basic, and this is impossible to make in Basic.
You have used xLib, right?

(only with xLib ou can use the inverted "=" and a few other things like the "<" and the ">")

I think the text atr the beginning is graphics and the game is with Output, or?


But it looks really very good!!
you can use the alt characters by using hex or an asm program, store them into a string, and recall the string into the program.  So he probably didn't use xLib.  ;)
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 02, 2011, 12:25:34 pm
No this is completely in ti-basic no x-lib allowed. The characters come from KermM's DOCDE7 program which I made a string of all the characters, then I tokenized it into a program which thus gave me the string of all characters. Also the maps are all made out of strings and the detection uses mainly the sub( command. Looks like I have been ninja'd
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: yunhua98 on August 02, 2011, 12:27:35 pm
heh, I was wondering why sub( would be needed for detection before I remembered this was in BASIC.  How big is the program?
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 02, 2011, 12:29:32 pm
Ah
so you saved the lines (1-8) as strings and then use Output to show the person

If you use other extern programs, it's possible of cause!
But in real basic, you can't use these characters!

(It would look better if you use another character for the person, not the "x")
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 02, 2011, 12:30:36 pm
Well including all of the maps (held in a subprogram) it is:6120
Levels:2467
Game: 3653
I haven't optimized yet so it will be smaller before final releases.
P2:
Actually I have each map held in str 1, and when encountering a N block, cuts str1 up to N block-1 -> str0 then cuts str1 from N block+1 to length(str1) ->str1  flips the N block and the space and str0+"N "+str1 -> str1. If that makes any sense.
What character would look better?
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 02, 2011, 12:33:18 pm
Have you written it in a block or a single line for every command?

(In such a big program you can save 50 to 100 if you write it in a block. But then it'll be hard to read the code. And then it'll be very annoying if yo press CLEAR!!!)
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: yunhua98 on August 02, 2011, 12:35:19 pm
Ah
so you saved the lines (1-8) as strings and then use Output to show the person

If you use other extern programs, it's possible of cause!
But in real basic, you can't use these characters!

(It would look better if you use another character for the person, not the "x")
well, he probably saved the entire map as strings, and he is using real basic.  As long as he can recall the characters into the code, it displays it.  TI just doesn't give us an easy way to access those characters, but they're still there.

They're ASCII characters, not sprites.  ;)
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 02, 2011, 12:37:24 pm
(In such a big program you can save 50 to 100 if you write it in a block. But then it'll be hard to read the code. And then it'll be very annoying if you press CLEAR!!!)
Well I could but not untill I am done completly.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 02, 2011, 12:37:29 pm
A little hint:
Go in MirageOS, press ALPHA,
choose KEY AND ...,
Choose LOWERCASE ON,
press CLEAR, CLEAR, MODE

then you'll be able to use lowercase if you press ALPHA twice!
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 02, 2011, 12:39:29 pm
Actually, also available through DoorsCS7 and x-lib (hex command) and axe parser. So I do have lowercase, and thinking they are each 2 bytes so I try to minimize use of lowercase.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: Hayleia on August 02, 2011, 02:14:31 pm
(In such a big program you can save 50 to 100 if you write it in a block. But then it'll be hard to read the code. And then it'll be very annoying if you press CLEAR!!!)
Well I could but not until I am done completly.
If you do that, be careful with the Output and text command, to avoid things like
Text(0,0,"lol:1→A:Text(0,0,"A    ←way you want it to be seen
Text(0,0,"lol:1→A:Text(0,0,"A    ←way it is seen
(This will mess up because of the "→")
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 02, 2011, 02:17:39 pm
Wouldn't it take more memory to add all of those closing " ?
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: yunhua98 on August 02, 2011, 02:22:36 pm
yes, so you should use separate lines.
its better for optimizations and readability.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 02, 2011, 02:23:58 pm
I was planning on it anyways, That is not a way of the basic 1337 rules.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 03, 2011, 10:55:00 am
You can write it all in big blocks, but make it like this:
Code: [Select]
:Lbl A
:text(0,0,"Hayleia.orange"):Goto A
and not like this:
Code: [Select]
:Lbl A:text(...or like this:
Code: [Select]
:Lbl A
:text(0,0,("Hayleia.orange:Goto A

Always put every ) and " and always use a new line for a new Lbl
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: yunhua98 on August 03, 2011, 10:58:04 am
You can write it all in big blocks, but make it like this:
Code: [Select]
:Lbl A
:text(0,0,"Hayleia.orange"):Goto A
and not like this:
Code: [Select]
:Lbl A:text(...or like this:
Code: [Select]
:Lbl A
:text(0,0,("Hayleia.orange:Goto A

Always put every ) and " and always use a new line for a new Lbl

yeah, but that makes it more difficult for optimization.  ;)
So I recommend just using separate lines.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 03, 2011, 11:31:18 am
yeah, of cause it will be diffivult.
I ever made it like this:

Write every command in a new line.
NEVER forget any ) or "
If all is ready, And you can't optimise the code more, write : at the end of every line and press DEL

Then it will all be a block without any mistakes!
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: yunhua98 on August 03, 2011, 11:35:14 am
yeah, of cause it will be diffivult.
I ever made it like this:

Write every command in a new line.
NEVER forget any ) or "
If all is ready, And you can't optimise the code more, write : at the end of every line and press DEL

Then it will all be a block without any mistakes!
I'm not asking how to write a block without mistakes, I meant why write a block at all?
Have you written it in a block or a single line for every command?

(In such a big program you can save 50 to 100 if you write it in a block. But then it'll be hard to read the code. And then it'll be very annoying if yo press CLEAR!!!)
You actually don't save memory if you write it in a block, you waste memory most of the time.

Code: [Select]
:Output(1,1,"HI
:Pause
^11 bytes

Code: [Select]
:Output(1,1,"HI"):Pause
^13 bytes
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: Ashbad on August 03, 2011, 12:40:52 pm
Blocking is good only for readability in most cases.  Things like "A->B:B->C.." are the same size since a colon is the same size as a newline character.  But when strings and parens are involved, screw the blocking, expand it out on multiple lines.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 03, 2011, 12:46:32 pm
Well I don't have to worry about that, my calc is really messed up. :(
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 03, 2011, 12:49:58 pm
I'm really not sure, And I'm NOT telling yoou should do this, but maybe it would help to take out the backup-battery!


So you can't turn your TI on???
That's bad!!
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 03, 2011, 12:59:03 pm
I already pulled out the extra battery, I can turn it on but on the screen is some black lines every where, also none of the buttons work (meaning only way to turn it back off is to pull out a battery). Sorry I cannot be on irc chat, this computer I am on (at my grandma's) is so slow and won't let me.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 03, 2011, 01:33:15 pm
Try to connect it with your computer (TI Connect) and look what TI Connect tells you to the TI
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 03, 2011, 01:44:43 pm
That the problem, ti-connect doesn't even register that I have my calculator on (with the crazy screen) and plugged in, so I can't do anything. :(
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 03, 2011, 01:46:57 pm
May you send it to TI and get a new one for it?
Can you please upload a video/a few photos of that?
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: calcdude84se on August 03, 2011, 01:51:18 pm
May you send it to TI and get a new one for it?
Can you please upload a video/a few photos of that?
We've had several people allege that their calcs have stopped working recently... x.x
A picture of the screen would be nice, yes. As for nothing working, not even the [ON] key works?
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 03, 2011, 01:54:16 pm
On is the only key that works.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 03, 2011, 01:58:48 pm
YAY!!
one key is still working!!
Now, there are only 49 keys left, we'll have to repair!

may you upload a photo, or draw a picture how it looks like and upload this?
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 03, 2011, 02:23:54 pm
Drawing, maybe but using what program on computer?
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on August 03, 2011, 02:24:15 pm
Sorry to hear your projects are gone, but you really need to learn to backup next time.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 03, 2011, 02:30:57 pm
I know,
may you upload a photo, or draw a picture how it looks like and upload this?
should I use paint, and save as a bitmap? so you can all see?
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on August 03, 2011, 02:31:46 pm
I guess you could do that. Make sure to resize the picture under 1000 pixels height/width, though, before putting it online.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 03, 2011, 03:46:54 pm
I have an idea, but I doubt it will work. I could send the OS file to my casio prizm then try again and agin to get it to my ti-84se. Maybe???
Still I am mad :mad:
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on August 03, 2011, 03:48:01 pm
I doubt that would work. Sadly TI Connect is a PITA to get to work sometimes, so you might need to use TiLP instead or ask for help in the help section.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: ztrumpet on August 04, 2011, 10:31:53 am
Try holding Clear as you put the battery back in after pulling one.  You may need to press On as you do so.  Let us know what happens.  Then try again with Del instead of Clear.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 08, 2011, 10:17:06 am
Btw clear didn't work. But the delete thing worked, cleared the Os and allows for a Os update. But when I download a new Os to my calculator, it slowly counts up to 100% but when I turn it back on it is completely blank, nothing works once again. Except on (when it is off) and the only way to turn it off is to take out a battery. I don'y know what to do. *bang *bang *bang   Ow that was my head. :mad:
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 10, 2011, 02:23:35 pm
Good new, I actually had backed up my stuff, I just found it all in some folders. So I have the dungeons game, not entirely updated but pretty close. :) Yay... except my calc is still garbage. But I do have my old trusty ti-84+ and my ti-83 I can use.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 10, 2011, 02:46:46 pm
Make a photo of the calc with your sellphone on something else.
Maybe, I had something like that, too.
(I had every possible bug!!)  ;)
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 10, 2011, 02:48:52 pm
Bad news, i don't have a camera or cell phone. It is just blank when on, you can tell it is on, but no cursor or any buttons work.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 10, 2011, 02:57:22 pm
have you turned the contrast veeeeeeeeeeeeeery low?
have you a webcam?
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 10, 2011, 03:00:28 pm
No web cam, contrast is not low i can see the pixels (which are off) squares. Meaning it is on, but no avail. Also when i do the del+battery back in thing the contrast is normal when it says i can update the OS.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 10, 2011, 03:02:09 pm
so it is possible to go to the screen, where it tells you that you should send a new OS?
That would be great!!
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 11, 2011, 11:09:51 am
Well, after I take out a battery, and push del and put it back in. It says "Waiting...    Please install operating system now", and I connect to ti-connect and that says "ti-84+se detected but couldn't get status" so then I send the Os to the calc, But then a popup comes on screen saying that there was a problem with the ti-connect, but the Os starts to send anyways, it really really slowly creeps to 100% (takes about 1/2 hour) and so the calc now has a new Os. But when I turn it on it looks like the picture below (it is on just nothing shows up) and none of the keys work.I know this picture is big but I will delete this post after (p2) sees it. The first one is the Os screen the second is what the calc screen looks like after an Os update.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: p2 on August 11, 2011, 01:47:27 pm
make this:

send a new OS
pull out the battery at more than 1% (while sending)
then the OSwill be deleted!
Then send a new OS (It should work then)

(I know this because I had to make this two (or three?) times at my TI!)  ;D



Don't delete the Post
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: zeldaking on August 14, 2011, 01:54:27 pm
Will it work if I am sending the Os from another calculator (another ti-84+se)?
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: Eiyeron on August 14, 2011, 02:34:43 pm
NOt the most securised option...
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: JosJuice on August 14, 2011, 03:43:57 pm
While sending the OS from another calc isn't the common way of doing things like these, I don't see any reason for why it shouldn't work.
Title: Re: ZeldaKing's Projects
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on August 14, 2011, 04:39:38 pm
I hope your calc isn't defective Zeldaking x.x

I am glad you got other calcs, though.