Author Topic: No more DONE message?  (Read 3759 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
No more DONE message?
« on: September 09, 2011, 02:36:41 pm »
Hello peoples of Omni,
I know I haven't really been here a whole lot lately and I do apologize for that. However that is not what this post is about (I might make one later to share what has been going on.). The reason for this post however is because I recently got a new TI-84+SE. I have since gotten rid of that horrid 2.55MP OS and put 2.43 back on but while I was messing around with making a pseudo-recursive binary converter I noticed that the "DONE" was still missing from the end of my program execution. Is this because of the new 1.03 Boot Code or is something else going on? I tried finding the answer but couldn't find anything about it, so sorry if someone has already made a post about this. It was just messing with the output so that's why I'm asking. Thanks for anything :)
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 02:40:32 pm »
If the last command is something like Output( and you're not running an MP OS, Done will not be displayed. Otherwise, it should be displayed.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2011, 02:43:18 pm »
Hello peoples of Omni,
I know I haven't really been here a whole lot lately and I do apologize for that. However that is not what this post is about (I might make one later to share what has been going on.). The reason for this post however is because I recently got a new TI-84+SE. I have since gotten rid of that horrid 2.55MP OS and put 2.43 back on but while I was messing around with making a pseudo-recursive binary converter I noticed that the "DONE" was still missing from the end of my program execution. Is this because of the new 1.03 Boot Code or is something else going on? I tried finding the answer but couldn't find anything about it, so sorry if someone has already made a post about this. It was just messing with the output so that's why I'm asking. Thanks for anything :)
Have you tried checking the flags to see if the done message flag is set? ( I'm pretty sure it's a flag ). If it isn't by default then maybe it is the new boot code.
/e

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2011, 02:47:34 pm »
Ya. I mean I didn't try anything with the MP OS's because it was to slow for my tastes so I switched it to 2.43 as soon as I could. Which I figured that would return everything back to how I'm used to it but then when I was running my code it would output a 0 at the end (the resultant of my last line of code) so I knew something was up. That's why I was wondering if it was the Boot Code (even though that makes no sense to me) because that's all that's new on it now. When I was installing 2.43 it did say it failed though (even though it says I have a 2.43 OS on it). Maybe something happened there though? I don't know, but when I get a chance I'll try to make a screen shot up the situation.

Edit:
I have no idea how I would go about doing that (besides that I would need something like CalcSys or something like that. Never really knew much about the software/hardware sides of things (unfortunately).
« Last Edit: September 09, 2011, 02:48:55 pm by meishe91 »
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2011, 02:53:13 pm »
Yeah, you would use CalcSys and look for it. I'm not entirely sure which flag it is though x.x
I'm not really anywhere near being an expert in this, so hopefully somebody who knows more will come along and help.
/e

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2011, 02:55:01 pm »
Well, if your last line of code returns a result, I think that's supposed to be displayed.

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2011, 03:47:41 pm »
Just to clarify, it's not the boot code ;). Boot code 1.03 is identical to 1.02 in everything but a few security measures.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2011, 10:37:14 pm by thepenguin77 »
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2011, 06:35:55 pm »
The flag is donePrgm,(IY+doneFlags), which is 5,(IY+0). By default it's a 1 (display the Done message).




Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2011, 07:47:32 pm »
The Done flag can be toggled in CalcSys.  It's "disp done" which is under "key/trig" which is in "System Flags".
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2011, 11:51:10 pm »
Just to clarify, it's not the boot code ;). Boot code 1.03 is identical to 1.02 in everything but a few security measures.

Ya, I didn't think it was the Boot Code. I just know absolutely nothing really so it was just a guess.

Well, if your last line of code returns a result, I think that's supposed to be displayed.

Well if I remember correctly a "DONE" message was always displayed unless you used one of the tricks to get it to not show up (using an Output() for example).

Though I wasn't really to worried about finding a way to turn it on (well I do...but not just by using the flag). I just wasn't sure if this was something new that I didn't know about or if something potentially went wrong when I put 2.43 back on, which seems to be the case here. (Might be from me being on a Win7 computer but I don't know if those issues got fixed.) Anyways, thank you guys so much for answering and helping :)
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2011, 12:45:48 pm »
if something potentially went wrong when I put 2.43 back on, which seems to be the case here. (Might be from me being on a Win7 computer but I don't know if those issues got fixed.) Anyways, thank you guys so much for answering and helping :)

;D Again, that's definitely not possible. If there was an error in transmission, the OS signature wouldn't match and the calculator would have rejected it.


First of all, one important thing to note is that 2.53 and higher will always display Done, Error, or whatever. Due to the way that the entries menu works, any operation has to return a result. So even if you try your hardest not to display Done on one of those OS's, it's still going to be there.

Here's my list of things that could be causing this:
  • Your program is returning a result in Ans
  • When your program quits, the last operation to the homescreen was an output
  • Your program is quitting with the graphscreen displayed
  • The program is being run in a strange way which is causing the specific flag to be reset
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: No more DONE message?
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2011, 02:58:43 pm »
Well...I feel like a complete idiot now...you're right. Nothing is wrong I guess. Guess I just really haven't done enough lately. Well thank you everyone for bearing with me, sorry about that :P
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)