Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Other Calculators => Topic started by: Builderboy on May 30, 2010, 06:23:02 pm

Title: Programming Speed
Post by: Builderboy on May 30, 2010, 06:23:02 pm
So after programing on-calc for a while, do you guys notice you can type on it as fast or faster than on a phone or other keyboard?  My friends keep telling me its unnerving how fast i can type on my calculator ;D Wondering how other people compared.  I was able to type this program up in exactly a minute:

Code: [Select]
ClrHome
1->X
1->Z
1->A
"ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ->Str1

Repeat K=105

Output(Z,X,sub(Str,A,1

Repeat Ans
getKey->K
End

Output(Z,X,"

X+(X!=16)(K=26)-(X!=1)(K=24->X
Z+(Z!=8)(K=34)-(Z!=1)(K=25->Z
A+1-26(A=26->A

End
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: tr1p1ea on May 30, 2010, 09:38:16 pm
Yeah i used to get that when using my calc. Once you've memorised where everything is you can fly through the menus/keyboard.
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: calc84maniac on May 30, 2010, 09:40:55 pm
That's why I couldn't really get into programming for TI-89, because first of all I wasn't used to the keys, and secondly the menus respond so slowly that speed-typing could very well be impossible.
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: TIfanx1999 on May 30, 2010, 09:41:19 pm
Yea, I can type super fast on my calc. too. I have many of the menu item numbers in muscle memory as well. =)
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 30, 2010, 11:19:24 pm
It's possible to program an entire Axe RPG in 5 minutes. You just need to use slowdowns and savestates (http://tasvideos.org/WelcomeToTASVideos.html).

J/k I used to type faster on calc than the computer. However now I would say both my typing speeds are even
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Builderboy on May 30, 2010, 11:59:14 pm
Heh, thats cool to hear :) Its neat to know how 1337 we all are  8)
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: TIfanx1999 on May 31, 2010, 12:03:37 am
Heh, thats cool to hear :) Its neat to know how <s>1337</s> NERDY we all are  8)
Hai, i fixed your above post :P
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Builderboy on May 31, 2010, 12:09:05 am
Lol the first step to not being nerdy is to deny that you are nerdy :P
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 31, 2010, 12:12:17 am
I think my calc typing speed is prbly what allowed me to finish ROL2 so fast. I can't imagine how fast I would've finished the old Illusiats from Summer 2002 if I typed that fast back then x.x
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Galandros on May 31, 2010, 03:30:02 am
I still need to memorize the numbers to access certain lists commands.
But I write as fast as I do in a computer or cellphone.
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Deep Toaster on May 31, 2010, 11:13:23 am
It's possible to program an entire Axe RPG in 5 minutes. You just need to use slowdowns and savestates (http://tasvideos.org/WelcomeToTASVideos.html).

J/k I used to type faster on calc than the computer. However now I would say both my typing speeds are even

16. You type on your TI calculator faster than on the computer.

http://www.unitedti.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=1326

If there were TI-83 keying lessons.
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: TIfanx1999 on May 31, 2010, 11:48:07 am
Ah, I remember seeing that post on UTI. Some of those are pretty funny. ^^.
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on May 31, 2010, 12:57:53 pm
WOW! That sure brought back some old memories. I remember posting there I swear. Those were funny threads. I also remember a topic called "How to annoy people at UTI" and when they had a Randomness sub-forum. Finally they deleted it, though :(
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: ztrumpet on May 31, 2010, 01:22:14 pm
I can type pretty fast on calc.  I think you get there faster if you use some of the commands more.  For example, I can get to binomcdf( a lot faster than I can get to LinReg(ax+b). ;D
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: calcdude84se on June 01, 2010, 05:46:53 pm
speed-typing! I only know the more common ones (I think, the others might be known unconsciously :P).
For better or for worse, I find myself saying menu key followed by the correct number-letter rather than the menu name followed by the command name. (second-math-right-4 rather than test-xor or second-test-logic-xor)
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Happybobjr on June 01, 2010, 06:44:25 pm
i am truely amazing at this
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: ztrumpet on June 01, 2010, 08:08:05 pm
speed-typing! I only know the more common ones (I think, the others might be known unconsciously :P).
For better or for worse, I find myself saying menu key followed by the correct number-letter rather than the menu name followed by the command name. (second-math-right-4 rather than test-xor or second-test-logic-xor)
Same here.  It's really annoying when I know the key combos and think that before I think the command name. :D
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: meishe91 on June 01, 2010, 10:52:13 pm
I don't think I'm that fast at typing on calculator, but faster than the normal person :P

What bugs me though is when your thinking of a command and you think you know where it is and then you second guess yourself and you put the wrong command. :P
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Builderboy on June 01, 2010, 10:53:51 pm
Heh ive gotten to the point where when i want the sub() command, i go to the catalouge and press T, because sub() is closer to the beginning of T than the beginning of S :P
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: _player1537 on June 01, 2010, 11:36:39 pm
I do that too :)  isn't it like 4 up after pressing T (didn't check the calc)
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Deep Toaster on June 01, 2010, 11:44:12 pm
I do that too :)  isn't it like 4 up after pressing T (didn't check the calc)

It's two. I should know; I use that command about a dozen times each day. It's probably my most used command of all the commands on the calculator.

EDIT: It's so useful. Why didn't TI put in a special menu for the string commands (e.g. sub(, inString(, etc.)?
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: cooliojazz on June 01, 2010, 11:44:42 pm
it's 2 on 2.4(2? 3?), but 3 on 2.53 which has screwed me up a few times... (i  do ^^ too =P)
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Deep Toaster on June 01, 2010, 11:47:22 pm
it's 2 on 2.4(2? 3?), but 3 on 2.53 which has screwed me up a few times... (i  do ^^ too =P)

There's the extra Σ( command, right? I'd rather use OS 2.43. The manual even suggested using sum(seq([exp],[var],[start],[finish] for summation.
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 01, 2010, 11:59:43 pm
Heh ive gotten to the point where when i want the sub() command, i go to the catalouge and press T, because sub() is closer to the beginning of T than the beginning of S :P
same here. For a while it wasn't as efficient, though, because I had the Français APP on, which re-orders the CATALOG...

EDIT: Darn, 1 minute 43 seconds on my first try and one mistake (typed X=24 instead of K=24, altough the error was already in the original prog) x.x
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: TIfanx1999 on June 02, 2010, 01:55:43 am
Heh ive gotten to the point where when i want the sub() command, i go to the catalouge and press T, because sub() is closer to the beginning of T than the beginning of S :P
same here. For a while it wasn't as efficient, though, because I had the Français APP on, which re-orders the CATALOG...

EDIT: Darn, 1 minute 43 seconds on my first try and one mistake (typed X=24 instead of K=24, altough the error was already in the original prog) x.x

Haha, you guys  too huh?  ;D
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 02, 2010, 02:13:38 am
Now I was extremly bored

TI-BASIC programming: Tool-Assisted Free Run!

(for those not familiar with TAS/tool-assisted speedruns stuff, it involves playing video games are very slow speed or frame by frame, with save states to push the game limits to their maximum, performing things that a human wouldn't be capable of, and abusing game programming errors a lot and luck manipulation. In my case, only slow downs were used (5% speed), and I epic failed at TAS'ing TI-BASIC programming :P)
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: TIfanx1999 on June 02, 2010, 02:21:21 am
Lol! Fast typing is fast! ;D
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on June 02, 2010, 02:24:45 am
Had I not messed up, (or if Wabbitemu supported a slow emulation mode that paused on any form of getkey instruction until you press an actual key) it would have been much faster, though
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: ztrumpet on June 02, 2010, 04:32:12 pm
Heh ive gotten to the point where when i want the sub() command, i go to the catalouge and press T, because sub() is closer to the beginning of T than the beginning of S :P
Me too. :D

The manual even suggested using sum(seq([exp],[var],[start],[finish] for summation.
WHAT?!
This was in TI's manual?  I hope they know that sum([exp],[start],[finish] is smaller and faster.  What was TI thinking! :D
Which manual was it, 2.43 or 2.53?
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Deep Toaster on June 02, 2010, 07:08:16 pm
Heh ive gotten to the point where when i want the sub() command, i go to the catalouge and press T, because sub() is closer to the beginning of T than the beginning of S :P
Me too. :D

The manual even suggested using sum(seq([exp],[var],[start],[finish] for summation.
WHAT?!
This was in TI's manual?  I hope they know that sum([exp],[start],[finish] is smaller and faster.  What was TI thinking! :D
Which manual was it, 2.43 or 2.53?

TI-83 Plus Graphing Calculator Guidebook, page 11-18: "You can combine sum( or prod( with seq( to obtain" Sigma and Pi notation. "To evaluate Σ 2(N-1) from N=1 to 4:"

sum(seq(2^(N-1),
N,1,4,1))
              15


The TI manual is very unoptimized, but how would you use sum( the way you used it? Doesn't the first argument have to be a list?
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Raylin on June 02, 2010, 07:19:11 pm
The seq() command returns a list.

For example:
Code: [Select]
seq(X^2,X,1,3would return
Code: [Select]
{1,4,9}
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: ztrumpet on June 02, 2010, 07:21:15 pm
The TI manual is very unoptimized, but how would you use sum( the way you used it? Doesn't the first argument have to be a list?
Oh, sorry, I thought it was used for summing a list.  If you're not using a list, then TI's correct.  My bad. :)
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Deep Toaster on June 02, 2010, 07:23:29 pm
The seq() command returns a list.

For example:
Code: [Select]
seq(X^2,X,1,3would return
Code: [Select]
{1,4,9}

I didn't mean the sum(seq([exp],[var],[start],[finish] combination. I meant that I didn't understand the bit of code ztrumpet suggested:

]WHAT?!
This was in TI's manual?  I hope they know that sum([exp],[start],[finish] is smaller and faster.  What was TI thinking! :D
Which manual was it, 2.43 or 2.53?

It doesn't work on my TI-83 Plus, for some reason. It can only take a list as the first argument. Is it different on the 84 Plus series?
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: ztrumpet on June 02, 2010, 07:25:15 pm
No, it's only for a list.  I was thinking the sum(seq([exp],[var],[start],[finish] was to be used on a list (with a list as [exp] ).  Sorry about this misunderstanding. :)
Title: Re: Programming Speed
Post by: Deep Toaster on June 02, 2010, 07:29:01 pm
No, it's only for a list.  I was thinking the sum(seq([exp],[var],[start],[finish] was to be used on a list (with a list as [exp] ).  Sorry about this misunderstanding. :)

Oh, got it.