Author Topic: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)  (Read 86334 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55876
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #45 on: September 24, 2010, 11:25:15 pm »
Ah ok. I was worried in case of conflicts that could occur.

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #46 on: September 25, 2010, 09:47:26 am »
The 1.19 fix is on the way. I've been having some troubles, (I killed about 20 wabbitemus.) But it's coming. It would have been done if it weren't for the fact that the flash paging ports of the 83+ don't AND the value of a flash page that doesn't exist. For instance, on the 84+ BE if you tell it to go to page $7D, it really goes to $7D & $3F = $3D. But on the 83+, if you tell it to go to $7D, it goes to like $02, which will not work.
That's a little strange, but good luck on it. :)  TIA. ;D

Offline qazz42

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1130
  • Rating: +30/-12
  • hiiiiiiiii
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #47 on: September 25, 2010, 09:59:46 am »
hmm, my TI-84+ with OS 1.15 (yes, I used one of Brandon's programs to do so..) had the err: version

but I went to 1.19 and it was all better

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55876
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #48 on: September 25, 2010, 02:21:57 pm »
TIA. ;D
Here, do you mean "thanks in advance" or "tits in action"? :P

hmm, my TI-84+ with OS 1.15 (yes, I used one of Brandon's programs to do so..) had the err: version

but I went to 1.19 and it was all better
I got ERR:VERSION on 1.18 personally, when grouping stuff, but MUCH less often than with OS 1.12 through 1.14. I never ever tried OS 1.15 through 1.17. I don't know if I ever got a version error on OS 1.19

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #49 on: September 25, 2010, 05:04:52 pm »
That was way harder than necessary. I guess my inexperience with 1.19 is partially to blame. 1. The Mode+Alpha+S screen doesn't reenable the text drawing flag. Which meant it was just a blank screen which scared me. And 2. My OS checksum fixing code had a fault that allowed it to work on an 84 but not an 83.

But here it is. This will fix that 1/16384 chance that your program won't open.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55876
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #50 on: September 25, 2010, 05:16:46 pm »
Nice! Glad you managed to get it to work. Also i think I got the blank MODE screen on the TI-84+ before but I forgot which ASM/Axe program I ran.

Another thing I wonder is if it's possible to fix the bug mentionned in http://tibasicdev.wikidot.com/text in an OS patch?

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #51 on: September 25, 2010, 05:22:32 pm »
What bug is that? I didn't see any specific error listed. Aside from the eraseBelow flag being set and reset sometimes.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55876
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #52 on: September 25, 2010, 05:27:50 pm »
The flag being set and not reset when exiting the MODE screen is the bug. It did not happen on the 83+ and 83+SE. On the 84+ it causes some games like Contra to not work properly sometimes.

On OS 1.12 I had this bug happen once but I never noticed how I created it.

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #53 on: September 25, 2010, 10:55:11 pm »
But here it is. This will fix that 1/16384 chance that your program won't open.
Yay!  Thanks! ;D

TIA. ;D
Here, do you mean "thanks in advance" or "tits in action"? :P
Um, randInt(1,2) :P

Another thing I wonder is if it's possible to fix the bug mentionned in http://tibasicdev.wikidot.com/text in an OS patch?
See this topic for more info: http://ourl.ca/4059

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #54 on: September 25, 2010, 11:29:29 pm »
But here it is. This will fix that 1/16384 chance that your program won't open.

YES THANK YOU!




Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55876
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #55 on: September 25, 2010, 11:50:46 pm »
Another thing I wonder is if it's possible to fix the bug mentionned in http://tibasicdev.wikidot.com/text in an OS patch?
See this topic for more info: http://ourl.ca/4059
Well in OS 2.43 or lower, G-T fixes it actually. It's just kinda annoying.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #56 on: September 26, 2010, 10:49:05 am »
hmm, my TI-84+ with OS 1.15 (yes, I used one of Brandon's programs to do so..) had the err: version

but I went to 1.19 and it was all better
I got ERR:VERSION on 1.18 personally, when grouping stuff, but MUCH less often than with OS 1.12 through 1.14. I never ever tried OS 1.15 through 1.17. I don't know if I ever got a version error on OS 1.19

I've gotten it twice on 1.19, so TI definitely did not fix it.




Offline qazz42

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1130
  • Rating: +30/-12
  • hiiiiiiiii
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #57 on: September 26, 2010, 10:49:56 am »
orly? thats strange..

damnit, on another note, it seems that a TI-83+ OS does not like being in a TI-84+SE


Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #58 on: September 26, 2010, 11:09:00 am »
\damnit, on another note, it seems that a TI-83+ OS does not like being in a TI-84+SE



Hmm, why would that be? :P

And anyway, is the 1.19 fix for the ERR:BAD ADDRESS bug?
« Last Edit: September 26, 2010, 11:29:49 am by Deep Thought »




Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #59 on: September 26, 2010, 11:23:04 am »
damnit, on another note, it seems that a TI-83+ OS does not like being in a TI-84+SE
I wonder why... :P

And anyway, is the 1.19 fix for the ERR:BAD ADDRESS bug?
Yes. :)

Edit: Get Ninja'd!  By 0 seconds!  Yea! O0
« Last Edit: September 26, 2010, 11:23:35 am by ztrumpet »