Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Other Calculators => Topic started by: Mighty Moose on October 06, 2010, 07:44:23 pm

Title: TIOS String Displaying - Tokens
Post by: Mighty Moose on October 06, 2010, 07:44:23 pm
How does the TIOS know what tokens are correct to display in a string?

(ex.
Say I have the string in the memory:
Code: [Select]
T >DMS H Pic1 E Abs( G A M EHow the does the TIOS correctly display the difference between 1- and 2-byte tokens?
Does it just put a 00 in the first byte or are there certain numbers? (I've been playing around with Calcsys).)

On a somewhat related note:
Why is calcsys displaying what is in the screenshot for the specified token?

Let me know if I need to clarify. Thx.
Title: Re: TIOS String Displaying - Tokens
Post by: Builderboy on October 06, 2010, 07:49:59 pm
http://tibasicdev.wikidot.com/one-byte-tokens

This page should be of some help :) The calc has certain numbers that mean "The Next Byte is Part of a 2 Byte Token K?".  When it sees those numbers, it uses the next byte as the token.  As for the screenshot, FC is not a valid starter for a 2 byte token, so it is likely looking in the wrong spot to find a token that doesnt exist :)
Title: Re: TIOS String Displaying - Tokens
Post by: Mighty Moose on October 06, 2010, 07:53:01 pm
That make sense (I think).  I was looking at some unlocked assembly programs in the program editor and in calcsys trying to figure out how it displayed the correct tokens.  Thanks again ;)
Title: Re: TIOS String Displaying - Tokens
Post by: Deep Toaster on October 06, 2010, 07:54:32 pm
Yep, it assumes it's a one-byte token unless it's a byte that the TI-OS uses to designate the start of a 2-byte token. And nice job on that screenshot ... that's probably an area off the token table that you accessed, as Builderboy said, because you put in a weird combo.