Author Topic: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen  (Read 21413 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« on: July 13, 2010, 02:31:03 pm »
So, while messing around with communicating directly with the LCD in Axe, (I made a few Asm routines and put them under labels), I made a typo. Long story short, I found the use for the undocumented LCD commands ranging from $0C to $0F. Fitting with the LCD documentation, these commands are of the form %000011**
Setting bit 0 ($0D) flips the screen left/right, and setting bit 1 ($0E) flips it up/down, and setting both ($0F), well, does both, rotating it 180 degrees.
Now you know. ;D If you have Calcsys, output these values to the LCD command port (port $10) and see it for yourself.
(Note that I only know it works with the type of LCD I have on my 84+SE, which is the kind not needing ALCDFIX)
« Last Edit: July 13, 2010, 03:04:32 pm by calcdude84se »
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2010, 03:02:13 pm »
Hmmmm sending $1D to Port $10 creates blue lines of Death on my 84+SE O.O The binary you posted however does not translate to $1D , it translates to $0* where the first hex bit is 0.  However, trying $0C through $0F resulted in no change at all. o.O

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2010, 03:04:05 pm »
Oops, I meant $0D to $0F... Sorry :(
I'll fix that.
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2010, 03:04:19 pm »
What letter do you guys have on the back?
/e

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2010, 03:05:23 pm »
Mine is a revision M from the P factory. I don't need ALCDFIX.
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2010, 03:15:00 pm »
Mine is an S, and sending 0C-0F does nothing to my calc.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2010, 03:16:04 pm »
ok, so that means that calcdude's lcd is nicer then :P or something
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2010, 04:40:44 pm »
Mhmm since it is undocumented, would this fail on Nspire?

Offline jnesselr

  • King Graphmastur
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2270
  • Rating: +81/-20
  • TAO == epic
    • View Profile
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2010, 04:41:32 pm »
Since it has to do with the driver itself, I can say with some certainty, yes.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2010, 04:42:43 pm »
That said, In Axe, wasn't there a command to copy data starting at a memory address/pointer inverted? If so, couldn't Axe programmers just use that instead?

Offline Silver Shadow

  • Beta Tester
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 817
  • Rating: +27/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2010, 04:52:29 pm »
Interesting find! Too bad this can't be used on all calc models... :(
Former Coder of Tomorrow


Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2010, 05:10:38 pm »
Yeah, it doesn't work on mine. But I guess this explains bug reports when people's screens got vertically flipped. I could never figure that out.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2010, 05:17:16 pm »
Ah, if only i had a better calc to try this on.  Mine is an H from the K factory (or possibly vise versa).  What was the asm code you used in case anyone else wants to try it?
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2010, 05:26:46 pm »
Yeah I remember hearing about ppl screen getting flipped. I always thought it was strange at first.

I never had such thing happen on any of the 83+ I used, same for the 83+SE I got. The two 83+ calcs were bought in 2001 and the 83+SE in early 2002 (I think it was a 2001 one, though, because it had OS 1.13 on it)

Offline TC01

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 344
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Undocumented LCD feature - Flip screen
« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2010, 05:29:03 pm »
On my 83+, something different happens- the commands seem to alter how light/how dark the screen is. 0C makes it darker, 0F makes it lighter, and I'm not really sure what 0D and 0E do (reset it to the default, it looks like, but I'm not really sure).



The userbars in my sig are links embedded links.

And in addition to calculator (and Python!) stuff, I mod Civilization 4 (frequently with Python).