Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Casio Calculators => Topic started by: turiqwalrus on April 20, 2011, 05:08:17 pm

Title: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: turiqwalrus on April 20, 2011, 05:08:17 pm
I finally finished a workable prizm program other than a WFRNG :P
anyway, here it is!
comments go here---------V
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: m1ac4 on April 21, 2011, 07:46:38 am
The game looks good so far but when I encounter the first enemy the battle draws out properly but then I get a Domain Error message.
Here is where the error happens:
Code: (Casio Basic) [Select]
If N
Then
Locate O,6," "  <-This is where the error is.  At this point, O=0 and the error is thrown.
If O<K
...
By commenting this line out, I guess that it is supposed to erase a shot after it leaves a space.  Hopefully, you can get it fixed quickly.
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: JosJuice on April 21, 2011, 07:49:33 am
Do you have any screenshots of the game? I would like to try it out, but as you might know I still don't have a Prizm...
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: Ashbad on April 21, 2011, 07:50:44 am
I'm sure it looks great!  However, I don't own a prizm yet, so I cannot see it in action.  Is there any way you can post a screenie? :)
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: Munchor on April 21, 2011, 07:52:19 am
I'd like a screenshot or even better, a video, of the game. It's really nice that it's not just C/ASM programs, but also Basic!
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: turiqwalrus on April 21, 2011, 08:17:38 am
The game looks good so far but when I encounter the first enemy the battle draws out properly but then I get a Domain Error message.
Here is where the error happens:
Code: (Casio Basic) [Select]
If N
Then
Locate O,6," "  <-This is where the error is.  At this point, O=0 and the error is thrown.
If O<K
...
By commenting this line out, I guess that it is supposed to erase a shot after it leaves a space.  Hopefully, you can get it fixed quickly.
sorry about that. forgot to declare all of the variables that I used :P
search for RanInt#(45,70) ->Z and put this after it:
Code: [Select]
0->N
1->O
0->Q
can you tell me if that works?
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: m1ac4 on April 21, 2011, 09:56:45 am

sorry about that. forgot to declare all of the variables that I used :P
search for RanInt#(45,70) ->Z and put this after it:
Code: [Select]
0->N
1->O
0->Q
can you tell me if that works?
It works now, thanks.
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: turiqwalrus on April 21, 2011, 01:16:24 pm
also, how do I make a screenshot without a webcam/videocamera?
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: m1ac4 on April 22, 2011, 07:45:29 am
Because it is too early in Prizm development for easy screebshots to be made, options for making screenshots are limited.  If you want an animated screenshot then you will have to download the Casio FX CG-10/20 manager, type all of your code into the program editor like normal and use calccapture to make the animated screenshot.  I tried this method with a program and after a very long stretch of copying code one key at a time, the final product looked like this:
(http://img.removedfromgame.com/imgs/SWITCHES SCREENSHOT.GIF)
It's not easy to use this method.  The time it takes is ridiculous and its hard to configure calccapture to get the right speeds (at least for me).  This method is impractical and needs to be replaced with an emulator with Wabbit-style capture.
Edit: Just to clarify, this screenshot is waaaayy to fast.
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: turiqwalrus on April 22, 2011, 08:23:58 am
ok, then I'll just take an actual picture :P
no animation, sorry...
also, no colors in battle. when I tried, it colored the wrong stuff
the battles are real-time, with options to shield, fire(only one bullet at a time :P), and 'lightning'(not really)
it's sort of like the battles in that one illusiat game(yeah, I don't remember which one :P) in that way
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: m1ac4 on April 22, 2011, 10:05:42 am
also, no colors in battle. when I tried, it colored the wrong stuff
Yeah... the Locate glitch strikes again.  Games will look a lot better when that gets fixed.
Title: Re: My first prizm program- weird Maze-ish-RPG-ish game
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 24, 2011, 03:06:15 pm
Oh nice, I'M glad to see some more games coming out for this calc. :D I'll have to try it out. As suggestion for dungeon walls, however, I would use the "L" character.

Also the reason why the wrong stuff were colored in battles was because you use special characters found in the CHAR menu. You must not use them, same for Theta, because there's a Locate glitch with non-ASCII tokens. Change that circle with an uppercase O or a zero and it should hopefully be fine.

Btw m1ac4 that program looks kinda cool in some ways, did you post it anywhere?