Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Casio Calculators => Topic started by: awatar100 on October 05, 2014, 01:09:21 am

Title: Newbie questions
Post by: awatar100 on October 05, 2014, 01:09:21 am
Hi all.
I hope this is good place to ask question.....
For school i just(5 days ago) bought fancy casio graph 75 calc  and all tut that i google tell me that i can write some app on Casio SDK. Where do i download it ? Old links not work now.
Is casio sdk capable writing C/c++ app on Graph 75 calc ? (what i know till now i have "com" port output and i wish to program it)
Title: Re: Newbie questions
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 06, 2014, 01:30:15 am
Hi and welcome to the forums. :) I am unsure if it's still available there, but have you checked on Casio Education's official website for the SDK?  They have plenty of downloadable utilities and OSes there. You need to look for the FX-9860G SDK or something similar, because outside of France, that's how the Graph 75, 85 and 95 are called.
Title: Re: Newbie questions
Post by: Eiyeron on October 06, 2014, 04:20:04 am
Hi, you van download at Planète-Casio as they have an archive stored in their download section Here (http://www.planet-casio.com/Fr/logiciels/voir_un_logiciel_casio.php?logiciel=SDK_Graph_75_85_95_logiciel&showid=76).

Keep in mind that where it supports C and C++, it only supports C89 (you have some declaration restrictions as you have to define all your variables used in a function/block before actual code, no for(int I...) for instance) and a little subset of C++. I don't suggest you to try programming C++ on it.
Title: Re: Newbie questions
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 06, 2014, 04:44:54 am
Another thing is try to make sure to only use documented stuff, otherwise your program will only work on certain processors. For example, certain FX-9860GII calculators have a SH3 processor while newer ones got a SH4. Official SDK commands supports both.
Title: Re: Newbie questions
Post by: Eiyeron on October 06, 2014, 02:35:48 pm
Not all commands though. IsKeyDown doesn't work on SH4 for instance...
Title: Re: Newbie questions
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on October 06, 2014, 02:47:47 pm
Oh OK. Bad Casio for messing that up then <_<

At least on Z80 calcs this doesn't happen to such massive extent (only in 2007 with extra RAM pages) and with 68K calcs it happened more but nowhere as much as on the 9860G, Nspire and HP Prime calcs. (although in the latter case it's a software update that broke some commands)