Author Topic: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display  (Read 29835 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jnx420

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display
« Reply #30 on: September 06, 2014, 11:56:00 am »
Hi,

Please remove these links - they are not allowed in this forum.

The OS 2.04 cannot be easily backed up as Casio has disabled some functionality. But we are working on this.
Could you send me your email address via PM? Thanks.

Oh my appologies.
I'm sorry for breaking the regulations.

Yes, I PM'd you. To anyone else who wants any information or help from me, just PM me.

EDIT: I found some more dowloads in another comment from the same Spanish guy on Youtube, +Julio Molero.

Quote from: +Julio Molero
Aqui pongo el 2.04 slim hecho por cfxm **PM for Dropbox link** /fx_mod_slim_by_cfxm.zip.
SO originales en caso de fallas: **PM for Dropbox link** /fx_mod_orig_os.zip´╗┐

Is the fx_mod_orig_os.zip containing the original OS v02.04.0701 that you guys wanted, maybe?
« Last Edit: September 06, 2014, 12:16:17 pm by Jnx420 »

Offline TeamFX

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display
« Reply #31 on: September 06, 2014, 01:11:04 pm »
Quote
Is the fx_mod_orig_os.zip containing the original OS v02.04.0701 that you guys wanted, maybe?

Very unlikely. You are the first person who I know of that reported a preinstalled OS 2.04 on an fx-9750GII. We didn't even know whether Casio had compiled such OSes.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display
« Reply #32 on: September 06, 2014, 03:10:12 pm »
Will 2.04 run on original Fx 9860g from 2005?
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Jnx420

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display
« Reply #33 on: September 06, 2014, 03:21:05 pm »
Quote
Is the fx_mod_orig_os.zip containing the original OS v02.04.0701 that you guys wanted, maybe?

Very unlikely. You are the first person who I know of that reported a preinstalled OS 2.04 on an fx-9750GII. We didn't even know whether Casio had compiled such OSes.

But whyyy! Why me...! :/
Yep, you're right, those .zip's didn't contain the backup of fx-9750GII OS v2.04.

Contents were as following:

Code: (fx_mod_orig_os.zip) [Select]
fx-9860G slim 2.00.bin
fx-9860G(SD)1.05.bin
fx-9860G(SD)2.00.bin
fx-9860G(SD)2.01.bin
fx-9860GII(SD)2.01.bin

Code: (fx_mod_slim_by_cfxm.zip) [Select]
2_04_0200_slim.bin

If any of that is interesting, just throw me a PM.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2014, 03:23:02 pm by Jnx420 »

Offline TeamFX

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display
« Reply #34 on: September 06, 2014, 05:01:42 pm »
Will 2.04 run on original Fx 9860g from 2005?

Casio did not compile an OS 2.04 for the fx-9860G, but the GII OS seems to work just fine.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display
« Reply #35 on: September 06, 2014, 05:18:17 pm »
Ah too bad. I hope it doesn't have very important features for BASIC programs that I'll miss x.x
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline TeamFX

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display
« Reply #36 on: September 07, 2014, 05:13:36 am »
Ah too bad. I hope it doesn't have very important features for BASIC programs that I'll miss

The fx-9860GII OS 2.04 only added these vector commands:

Vct
DotP(
CrossP(
Angle(
UnitV(
Norm(

Offline Jnx420

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display
« Reply #37 on: September 09, 2014, 11:25:09 am »
If you guys want a copy of the OS 2.04 you should be fairly quick about it.
I'm gonna turn in my fx-9750GII for another graphing/MAT calculator with natural display later this week.

I think it's so saddening that the fx-9750GII doesn't have natural display, or that I can't seem to upgrade mine because of this new OS release, because I really prefer the fx-9750GII over the more advanced series of calculators. I really prefer both the aesthetics and the button-layout of the fx-9750GII over the more advanced ones. It's slim and not so bulky and has nice colors and button-layout. I've always had the FX-82ES Plus, which I've just loved, mostly because it's natural display and layout. I choose the fx-9750GII because of the similarities and the fact that I don't really need the more advanced functions. However I'm not going to live without the natural display so I guess that's just how it is.

What do you guys think? Which one do you recommend, or should I keep my fx-9750GII for a little bit longer while waiting for a fix?

Offline TeamFX

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • Rating: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display
« Reply #38 on: September 09, 2014, 12:06:31 pm »
Upgrading your fx-9750GII should still work with some small modifications, but I won't tell you what these changes are until we have a copy of the OS and this still requires some amount of work to be done.

Offline BCalcMan

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 1
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading a fx-9750GII to have nautural display
« Reply #39 on: February 24, 2015, 05:10:06 pm »
Hi all,

Sorry to bump an old thread, but I have too fallen in to casio's lack of natural display trap.
I'm running the fx 9750gii @ version 02.04.0701 and on the front it reads usb power graphic; it's the blue one with the White case.
I'm desperate to get the firmware swapped out on it to one with the natural display. I believe that someone has done it, and I really need them to help me.

Please contact me if you know anything. I can't live without natural display!