Author Topic: Questions for Builderboy  (Read 16048 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LincolnB

  • Check It Out Now
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1115
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • By Hackers For Hackers
    • View Profile
Questions for Builderboy
« on: October 20, 2011, 02:11:45 pm »
I made this thread so that I could ask Builderboy specific questions pertaining to the completion of Portal X.

First question:

Would you happen to know off the top of your head what {L1+700} does? It's not labeled in the variable list. Also, what's the state if the level exit transition code?

(I guess that's two questions)
Completed Projects:
   >> Spacky Emprise   >> Spacky 2 - Beta   >> Fantastic Sam
   >> An Exercise In Futility   >> GeoCore

My Current Projects:

Projects in Development:
In Medias Res - Contest Entry

Talk to me if you need help with Axe coding.


Spoiler For Bragging Rights:
Not much yet, hopefully this section will grow soon with time (and more contests)



Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • Project Author
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 05:16:14 pm »
Would you happen to know off the top of your head what {L1+700} does?

Hmm i don't remember, what parts of the code does it show up in?

what's the state if the level exit transition code?
Wha?

Offline LincolnB

  • Check It Out Now
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1115
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • By Hackers For Hackers
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2011, 05:39:10 pm »
Would you happen to know off the top of your head what {L1+700} does?

Hmm i don't remember, what parts of the code does it show up in?

what's the state if the level exit transition code?
Wha?

It says something like:

If {L1+700}
prgmTRANS
Else
RecallPic
End

And what I meant was like, does the engine switch from level to level yet at all?
Completed Projects:
   >> Spacky Emprise   >> Spacky 2 - Beta   >> Fantastic Sam
   >> An Exercise In Futility   >> GeoCore

My Current Projects:

Projects in Development:
In Medias Res - Contest Entry

Talk to me if you need help with Axe coding.


Spoiler For Bragging Rights:
Not much yet, hopefully this section will grow soon with time (and more contests)



Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • Project Author
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2011, 03:58:54 pm »
It looks like L1+700 is the flag to determine whether or not to play the transition animation when a level is loaded.  By default it is off because there is no transition when the game is loaded, but then it is set to 1 for all the transitions after that.  If the level is restarted, the flag should be reset in addition. 

I believe that automatic level transition is in a semi-workable state, and 4.5 is the version you should be using.

Offline C0deH4cker

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 258
  • Rating: +11/-1
    • View Profile
    • iNinjas Forum/Repo
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2011, 04:12:36 pm »
Yeah, L1 is 714 bytes large. If you have nore flags, you could do bit checking for 8 flags per byte. The e symbol is useful for this.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • Project Author
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2011, 04:15:24 pm »
Yeah I know about the e symbol, but when you have that much free space (714 bytes as you pointed out) it is actually faster and smaller just to use individual bytes as flags.

Offline C0deH4cker

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 258
  • Rating: +11/-1
    • View Profile
    • iNinjas Forum/Repo
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2011, 04:22:53 pm »
Alright, good to know. I just didnt know how much of it you were using is all.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • Project Author
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2011, 04:30:20 pm »
Oh, and Butts, just tested out 4.5, and it has some serious physics bugs D: I'm testing 4.2 now

EDIT: 4.2 isn't any better, I think I am going to do some touching up on the source and re release it with a tad more documentation
« Last Edit: October 21, 2011, 04:42:40 pm by Builderboy »

Offline C0deH4cker

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 258
  • Rating: +11/-1
    • View Profile
    • iNinjas Forum/Repo
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2011, 04:45:17 pm »
You should finish it :P

Why'd you stop anyways?

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • Project Author
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2011, 04:47:36 pm »
Mainly because of being really busy, and having so many uncompleted projects that were not getting worked on. 

Offline LincolnB

  • Check It Out Now
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1115
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • By Hackers For Hackers
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2011, 05:02:12 pm »
I just made a kick-butt tilemapper (if I do say so myself - I actually used a bunch of your code for it ;)) but yeah, I did notice that it has a coupla probs. Is all you're doing touching up the physics?

EDIT: Please don't break compatibility file-format wise, I've already made like ten-ish levels..it would be a serious pain to have to redo them.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2011, 05:07:19 pm by buttsfredkin »
Completed Projects:
   >> Spacky Emprise   >> Spacky 2 - Beta   >> Fantastic Sam
   >> An Exercise In Futility   >> GeoCore

My Current Projects:

Projects in Development:
In Medias Res - Contest Entry

Talk to me if you need help with Axe coding.


Spoiler For Bragging Rights:
Not much yet, hopefully this section will grow soon with time (and more contests)



Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • Project Author
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #11 on: October 21, 2011, 05:13:54 pm »
Oh i'm not touching the way file formats are handled, i'm just ironing out some of the bugs for you :) Like there is one bug where if there is a box on the ground and you shoot a portal underneath it, the box doesn't fall.

EDIT: In the version you are using, are you able to jump into walls?  That is the bug I am experiencing with version 4.5 physics
« Last Edit: October 21, 2011, 05:14:47 pm by Builderboy »

Offline LincolnB

  • Check It Out Now
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1115
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • By Hackers For Hackers
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #12 on: October 21, 2011, 05:18:18 pm »
Yeah, sometimes I get shot right into walls and can't get out.It's quite humorous actually :)  Also, pressing the + button activates some sort of a jetpack. And good to hear the file format's not being changed.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2011, 05:19:01 pm by buttsfredkin »
Completed Projects:
   >> Spacky Emprise   >> Spacky 2 - Beta   >> Fantastic Sam
   >> An Exercise In Futility   >> GeoCore

My Current Projects:

Projects in Development:
In Medias Res - Contest Entry

Talk to me if you need help with Axe coding.


Spoiler For Bragging Rights:
Not much yet, hopefully this section will grow soon with time (and more contests)



Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • Project Author
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #13 on: October 21, 2011, 05:29:37 pm »
Yeah the + jetpack is for bug testing levels :) And yeah, the physics bug occurred when the player was moving to the right, but not holding the right arrow key.  It caused the physics to test the Left side of the player instead of the right side.  I fixed it with a couple lines of code, and now I'm working on getting transitioning to work.  Would you mind sending me some of the level data you created so I can have some levels to transition into?

And then I'll post about how the storing of level data is done inside the program, as its a bit tricky to put it in there

Offline LincolnB

  • Check It Out Now
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1115
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • By Hackers For Hackers
    • View Profile
Re: Questions for Builderboy
« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2011, 05:31:12 pm »
Yeah, give me one sec...

EDIT: Okay, here are the first four levels.

Code: [Select]
.LEVEL 1
Data(47,34,15,33,15,33,15,33,15,33,15,33,15,33,15,33,15,32,15,15,3,47,33)->GDB1
[010100]
.LEVEL 2
Data(47,34,15,33,15,33,15,33,15,33,15,33,15,33,4,37,4,33,4,37,4,32,5,37,11,37,5,47,33)
[010100]
.LEVEL 3
Data(36,60,32,15,33,15,33,15,36,13,35,13,35,9,39,9,35,13,35,13,35,13,35,62,34)
[010100]
.LEVEL 4
Data(63,49,35,12,48,35,12,51,32,12,52,13,51,13,51,13,51,6,38,51,6,38,10,38,10,38,54,33,50,37)
[010100]

The [010100] thing just makes a crate object in the top left corner cause for whatever reason I couldn't get it to work with no objects.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2011, 05:35:33 pm by buttsfredkin »
Completed Projects:
   >> Spacky Emprise   >> Spacky 2 - Beta   >> Fantastic Sam
   >> An Exercise In Futility   >> GeoCore

My Current Projects:

Projects in Development:
In Medias Res - Contest Entry

Talk to me if you need help with Axe coding.


Spoiler For Bragging Rights:
Not much yet, hopefully this section will grow soon with time (and more contests)