• [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open 5 9
Currently:  

Author Topic: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open  (Read 203130 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #30 on: August 24, 2014, 04:02:03 pm »
UPDATE !

If you have friends (or if you have several calcs :P), you're going to have even more fun !
Mutiplayer support by link port is now supported :D
Now you're going to be two Foxes trying to cancel Illusions near edges :P

Runer and I finally figured out that the problem was that the port commands "only" work at 6MHz -.-
He also helped making me understand that there's almost no point putting something else than 65535 as a Delay for Send (I though Send kept trying without caring if someone was listening, not that it waited until someone comes or until it timeouts).

Executables have different names so that you can have both "sociable" and "forever alone" (:P) versions on your calc.

This updates also improves camera, which tries to keep the map in the field of vue even if both players go away in the same direction, but I guess it seems unimportant now :P

If you ever notice desync (or any other problem in fact), please report.

Links:
Rectangles
Full Map
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #31 on: August 24, 2014, 04:04:28 pm »
I haven't really had time to test it out yet, but is single-calc multiplayer also supported?
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #32 on: August 24, 2014, 04:06:12 pm »
On the old release yes, use the numpad, log and x² to control the other Fox :)
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #33 on: August 24, 2014, 04:08:47 pm »
Nice. I'll deffinately play it with my friends then in September. I can't play the link cable version because I only have an USB cable.
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1950
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #34 on: August 24, 2014, 05:38:04 pm »
Well then, time for me to buy a new calc to calc cable!
This used to contain a signature.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #35 on: August 24, 2014, 08:05:50 pm »
I'm gonna try the new version now :)


EDIT: It seems that this one doesn't work in WabbitEmu, no matter what I try. The previous version let me play in linked play pretty fine, but with this one, either it doesn't get past the You are P1 and P2 screens or it fails to detect the other calc. ???
« Last Edit: August 24, 2014, 08:10:57 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #36 on: August 25, 2014, 01:34:08 am »
EDIT: It seems that this one doesn't work in WabbitEmu, no matter what I try. The previous version let me play in linked play pretty fine, but with this one, either it doesn't get past the You are P1 and P2 screens or it fails to detect the other calc. ???
Wait, are you trying to play in linked play on Wabbitemu ? I didn't know that was possible.
Does it work on real calcs ? Because I didn't try on emulator, just on my 84+SE calcs (didn't try on 6MHz calcs btw).
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #37 on: August 25, 2014, 01:51:38 am »
Yeah WabbitEmu has linked play (which worked with the previous version of your game).

I can't try on a real calc because I only have 1 15 MHz calc that can be used right now (not enough batteries), which is a TI-84+. The other is a 83+SE.


As for 6 MHz calcs I can't try on a real set of calcs because I only have 1 TI-83+ with working link port and in WabbitEmu with a 83+ ROM the game ran about 6 times slower than with a 84+ ROM (I think I got about 2-4 FPS).
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #38 on: August 25, 2014, 02:14:54 am »
Yeah WabbitEmu has linked play (which worked with the previous version of your game).
Ok, well that's completely weird. The only things that were added are a Normal before the linking part and a Full after it ???
And too bad you can't test on real calcs because I can tell you it works on mine :/
At worst, you could try this with Juju when you next meet :P

Also, yeah, the game is slower on 6MHz, that's why there's the version with only rectangles to speed things up a bit. Basically, don't play the "Full map" version on a 83+, it will be too slow, and don't play the "Rectangles" version on a 84+, it will be too fast :P

edit Yeah, I have strange behaviours with Wabbitemu too. For example, the first calc that launches Smash says "You are Px" without waiting for anything, then the second calc, when it launches Smash, waits for the other calc that is already in the main loop so this one has to quit and come back. Then they agree for real for the "You are Px" part but stop here.
I guess there are problems with link cable emulation.

edit It works fine with PindurTI with a 83+ rom (so try with the Rectangles version) :)
« Last Edit: August 25, 2014, 04:18:26 am by Hayleia »
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline ClrDraw

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 627
  • Rating: +61/-2
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #39 on: August 25, 2014, 09:32:31 am »
Quote
Yeah WabbitEmu has linked play (which worked with the previous version of your game).
Seriously? That would've been nice to know for my Pong game...  <_<
Visit my GitHub for all my TI programs as well as other projects.
Also check out my website.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #40 on: August 25, 2014, 09:34:10 am »
Well I tried it and it does things through the cable (if it did nothing, it would not get past "Waiting for other calc"), but it doesn't seem to do the right things.
But I tried PindurTI. Except the fact it only emulates the 83+ and no 15MHz models, it works great, especially with linking.
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline ClrDraw

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 627
  • Rating: +61/-2
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #41 on: August 25, 2014, 09:37:30 am »
Ah, you connect the emulator to an actual calc? I was trying to connect two windows of the wabbitemu.
Visit my GitHub for all my TI programs as well as other projects.
Also check out my website.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #42 on: August 25, 2014, 09:38:18 am »
No, no, two windows. I meant the virtual cable, sorry.
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #43 on: August 25, 2014, 10:21:08 am »
By the way, what's the difference with the rectangle version? Is the floor just rectangular and much faster to display or is it just a really tiny map?
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #44 on: August 25, 2014, 10:41:38 am »
Both maps have the same dimensions. The "Full Map" version just uses scaled sprites for the edges of the platforms while the "Rectangles" version only uses rectangles.
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s