• [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open 5 9
Currently:  

Author Topic: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open  (Read 205101 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #195 on: November 15, 2014, 07:44:34 pm »
Not to mention that the 84+ CSE runs at a snails pace compared to older models for more complex graphics. :/ A port of this to the 84+ CSE is really unlikely.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #196 on: November 15, 2014, 11:11:11 pm »
I think a CSE port would be possible in pure ASM or if Axe was ported to that calc, because the author could just do this:


-Draw sprites and platforms in GRAM 1 (first 160x240 half of the screen)
-Make that half of the screen visible
-Draw sprites and platforms in GRAM 2
-Make that half of the screen visible
-Erase sprites and platforms in GRAM 1
-Draw new sprites and platforms in GRAM 1
-Make that half of the screen visible
-Erase sprites and platforms in GRAM 2
-Draw new sprites and platforms in GRAM 2
-Make that half of the screen visible
-Loop through the last 6 things until game is over.


However, when the screen is fully zoomed in, there would be noticeable lag.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline bb010g

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 427
  • Rating: +22/-1
  • I do stuff
    • View Profile
    • elsewhere on the net
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #197 on: November 16, 2014, 12:06:11 am »
However, when the screen is fully zoomed in, there would be noticeable lag.
That's the problem: Smash & lag don't mix.
Arch Linux user
Haskell newbie | Warming up to Lua | Being dragged into C++
Calculators: HP 35s, Casio Prizm, TI-Nspire CX CAS, HP-28s, HP Prime, Mathematica 9 (if that counts)
π: 3.14...; l: 108; i: 105; e: 101; l+i+e: 314
THE CAKE IS A LIE IS A PIE

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #198 on: November 16, 2014, 02:10:24 am »
Indeed. There could be some frame skipping implemented or perhaps make the game so that graphics are not rendered completely on some demanding frames, but yeah the gameplay experience would definitively be sub-par.

Of course, we could always get rid of zooming but then it removes what makes this particular smash bros game impressive.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline pimathbrainiac

  • Occasionally I make projects
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1731
  • Rating: +136/-23
  • dagaem
    • View Profile
I am Bach.

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7917
  • Rating: +373/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #200 on: November 16, 2014, 07:10:20 am »
Hayleia is famous O.O

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #201 on: November 16, 2014, 07:13:53 am »
People are crazy, seriously...
I can understand TinyCartridge, Kotaku and reddit-smash, but TIME ??
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #202 on: November 16, 2014, 07:42:40 am »
O.O TIME.... You Are FaMous. This thread is gonna explode with such a boom once people read that. O.O
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline some guy you met on the street

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 1
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #203 on: November 16, 2014, 05:13:39 pm »
k so i have a ti 84+seC but the problem with that is that i cant get the game on this model, will u do something to fix this?
why do you hate me so internet!

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_nt2.php">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/badge/nt2/209645d14f83e777.png" alt="NerdTests.com says I'm a Mega-Dorky Nerd.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and write on the nerd forum!">
</a>

Offline bb010g

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 427
  • Rating: +22/-1
  • I do stuff
    • View Profile
    • elsewhere on the net
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #204 on: November 16, 2014, 05:15:38 pm »
k so i have a ti 84+seC but the problem with that is that i cant get the game on this model, will u do something to fix this?
I'm so sorry to say this, but the language this is programmed in, Axe, is only available on GrayScale calcs at the present time.
Not to mention that the 84+ CSE runs at a snails pace compared to older models for more complex graphics. :/ A port of this to the 84+ CSE is really unlikely.
Arch Linux user
Haskell newbie | Warming up to Lua | Being dragged into C++
Calculators: HP 35s, Casio Prizm, TI-Nspire CX CAS, HP-28s, HP Prime, Mathematica 9 (if that counts)
π: 3.14...; l: 108; i: 105; e: 101; l+i+e: 314
THE CAKE IS A LIE IS A PIE

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55821
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #205 on: November 16, 2014, 06:02:22 pm »
O.O TIME.... You Are FaMous. This thread is gonna explode with such a boom once people read that. O.O
To be honest I am unsure if the TIME website is that famous, because earlier this morning when I saw the topic linked there there wasn't even 20 guests online. The guests might be from somewhere else :P
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Marshall Haymond

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 1
  • Rating: +0/-0
  • I speerun games in my free time. I like to play sports and watch sports. Thats me.
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #206 on: November 16, 2014, 11:08:11 pm »
I tried to download the game to my Ti-84 Plus but it did not work. It just said "ERR:syntax". I got the zip file and unzipped it. Then transferred the files to my calculator using It-Connect. The program for me is called fox. Hope someone can help. :/

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #207 on: November 16, 2014, 11:23:02 pm »
Edit: Incorrect info. It's an app, not a program.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2014, 01:21:48 am by willrandship »

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: [Axe] Super Smash Bros. Open
« Reply #209 on: November 17, 2014, 12:36:44 am »
I tried to download the game to my Ti-84 Plus but it did not work. It just said "ERR:syntax". I got the zip file and unzipped it. Then transferred the files to my calculator using It-Connect. The program for me is called fox. Hope someone can help. :/
Fox is the source for Fox's appvar, don't run that. The thing you have to run is the app called Smash (called Smash-signed.8xk in the zip).
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s