Author Topic: Axe Compiler troubles  (Read 13259 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Compiler troubles
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2010, 08:54:03 pm »
has anyone made an input routine though?
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Compiler troubles
« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2010, 10:17:38 pm »

The Axe language in general has very high similarity to both Assembly and Basic, so a strong background in either one will definitely help with programming.  An assembly tutorial will have some very useful information for you about how some things actually work and a Basic tutorial would help with program flow since the syntax is similar, however the optimizations are completely different and hardly any basic "tricks" can actually be carried over.  What programming languages do you have a background in?

I have a background in some Python, and TI-BASIC with a little bit of experience in other languages. The language I'm most familiar with would definitely be TI-BASIC though. However, I wouldn't say I'm anything more than passable in any computer languages.

Just [another] quick question: How do you do grayscale in Axe?
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline nemo

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1203
  • Rating: +95/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Compiler troubles
« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2010, 10:46:04 pm »
has anyone made an input routine though?

Yes


Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Compiler troubles
« Reply #18 on: August 16, 2010, 12:25:55 am »
Just [another] quick question: How do you do grayscale in Axe?

That doesn't have a quick answer, but let me try to go over it briefly.  So when you draw graphics, you normally draw them to the Buffer.  To update the screen, you GispGraph, which copies the Buffer onto the screen.  In order to do greyscale graphics, you need more than one buffer however.  Drawing greyscale requires 2 buffers, the main Buffer, and the BackBuffer.  You can draw to the backbuffer by adding the Polar Token r after most graphics commands (accessible under [2nd] [Angle]).  And instead of updating the screen with Dispgraph, you update it with DispGraphr for 3shade greyscale, and DispGraphrr for 4 shade.  The commands work like this:

Code: [Select]
DispGraphr:
Buffer        BackBuffer        Color

0             0                 White
0             1                 Grey
1             0                 Black
1             1                 Black

Code: [Select]
DispGraphrr:
Buffer        BackBuffer        Color

0             0                 White
0             1                 Light Grey
1             0                 Dark Grey
1             1                 Black

So for example if you turn a pixel on the BackBuffer, and you clear a pixel on the main Buffer, then use DispGraphrr, it will display a light grey pattern to the screen.  One final note, is that you need to keep using DispGraphr or DispGraphrr repeatedly for as long as you want the screen to have different colors, if you stop, it will just look checkery and weird.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Compiler troubles
« Reply #19 on: January 08, 2011, 08:49:27 am »
I thought I'd just use this post for this doubt... I tried drawing a 8*8 sprite in the back buffer, using Pt-On(X,Y,PIC)r.

Well, it doesn't give me any error, but nothing shows up... Any idea?

Offline FinaleTI

  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1830
  • Rating: +121/-2
  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
    • View Profile
    • dmuckerman.tumblr.com
Re: Axe Compiler troubles
« Reply #20 on: January 08, 2011, 10:05:10 am »
Did you use DispGraphr or DispGraphrr? Because DispGraph only displays the main buffer (L6).


Spoiler For Projects:

My projects haven't been worked on in a while, so they're all on hiatus for the time being. I do hope to eventually return to them in some form or another...

Spoiler For Pokemon TI:
Axe port of Pokemon Red/Blue to the 83+/84+ family. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia:
My big personal project, an original RPG about dimensional travel and a few heroes tasked with saving the world.
Coding-wise, on hold, but I am re-working the story.

Spoiler For Finale's Super Insane Tunnel Pack of Doom:
I will be combining Blur and Collision Course into a single gamepack. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia Origins: Sky's Story:
Prequel to Nostalgia. On hold, especially while the story is re-worked.

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Compiler troubles
« Reply #21 on: January 08, 2011, 01:26:29 pm »
If you have a ti-84+SE (a newer one) and axe 4.7  It might be an axe issue that i am also having.

but most likely, it is what FinaleTI said.
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Compiler troubles
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2011, 03:55:32 pm »
Yeah, it was what FinaleTI said XD