Author Topic: Bug Reports  (Read 398147 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #525 on: July 12, 2010, 04:42:31 pm »
When I try to compile a program containing exactly:
Code: [Select]
.BUG
Circle(47,31,31
Dispgraph
The compiler pauses for a second or two then says "Error:Out of Mem" and pressing prgm takes me to the Dispgraph statement
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #526 on: July 12, 2010, 04:47:11 pm »
EDIT: calcdude, it appears to be another "end of line" bug.  Just make sure you add an extra enter to the end of the program and it should work fine.  I'm fixing that now.

Yeah, DJ is mostly right.  But a pause 9000 is still a pause 9000.  The thing is, it pauses a little first, then subtracts 1 before checking if its done pausing so a pause 0 is actually a pause 65536, which is even longer than a pause 65535.  This is only done for size optimization (obviously not speed since this is a pause command).
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 04:51:50 pm by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #527 on: July 13, 2010, 11:35:36 pm »
Btw, how long is APP writing supposed to take on a regular 83+? (I am running OS 1.18 btw)

I experimented with the feature and now it has been saying Writing App... for over 3 minutes

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #528 on: July 14, 2010, 12:54:41 am »
It should only take a couple seconds.  I would do a ram clear, possibly a rom clear if problems persist.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #529 on: July 14, 2010, 01:05:52 am »
I retried again, and no luck :(

I'll post a video of what happens now. I made the video after resetting the entire memory (and sending OS 1.19). I will post it on Youtube soon.EDIT: Uploaded as attachment.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2010, 01:08:02 am by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #530 on: July 14, 2010, 01:08:01 am »
Is there something weirder going on than just the freeze?  Has anyone else had problems with app compiling on a regular 83+?

EDIT: Interesting... I'm not exactly sure what's going on, it sounds like it could be an issue with the regular 83+.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2010, 01:15:15 am by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #531 on: July 14, 2010, 01:14:25 am »
Now, what happens is usually no app being created, then Y= menu going "The Matrix", followed by a RAM clear. Sometimes the source code corrupts. Other times it will freeze again during creating. I even got a crash once, and an Unknown Error going at the very end of the program.

Anyway, I edited my post above. See the video attached to it. Btw for the errors at the end, a full mem clear was required to

So my guess is that

1) App compiling hates my game
2) App compiling doesn't work on the regular 83+, regardless of the OS installed.
or
3) App compiling doesn't work on every 83+ hardware (idk if there are any different ones, but my calc was bought in 2001 and is a 2000 model)

Btw, in case this help, here's the end of the serial on the back of my 83+:

N-0700A
Made in China

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #532 on: July 14, 2010, 01:22:06 am »
Does it work on other games?  I tried it on my 83+ emulator OS 1.16 and it seems to work fine with my example programs and I even tried it with the older version of your game.  It's definitely possible its a hardware thing.

EDIT: Also, the error code is a really really bad sign because its being called from somewhere outside the app itself.  I don't even have that code. ???
« Last Edit: July 14, 2010, 01:30:02 am by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #533 on: July 14, 2010, 01:31:56 am »
Well, I didn't try an example program, but I tried with a random program like

.A
Disp 22>Dec

And I still got the same issues.

Btw earlier on emulator, with 83+OS 1.16, I got similar results too, except the APP showed up in the list (it would either crash or do nothing when ran)

I sent you the 8xp source if you want to look at it (check your e-mail)
« Last Edit: July 14, 2010, 01:32:32 am by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline yunhua98

  • You won't this read sentence right.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2718
  • Rating: +214/-12
  • Go take a dive in the River Lethe.
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #534 on: July 14, 2010, 02:23:44 pm »
I have some issues with APPS to.  When I compiled my bomberman game as a program on 0.3.3, it works, but when I compile it as an APP, it freezes when I start the APP.  I'm using 84+ SE  Running 2.53MP with Mathprint off.

On the lesser note, whenever I use ClrDraw to end my Axe programs, my calc freezes and I have to pull a battery.

btw, I didn't need to compile my prog as an APP I was just testing the feature, so it's ok if you dont fix for a while.

Spoiler For =====My Projects=====:
Minor setback due to code messing up.  On hold for Contest.
<hr>
On hold for Contest.


Spoiler For ===Staff Memberships===:






Have you seen any good news-worthy programs/events?  If so, PM me with an article to be included in the next issue of CGPN!
The Game is only a demo, the code that allows one to win hasn't been done.
To paraphrase Oedipus, Hamlet, Lear, and all those guys, "I wish I had known this some time ago."
Signature Last Updated: 12/26/11
<hr>

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #535 on: July 14, 2010, 02:25:39 pm »
When i was compiling for App, it was deleting the app, and displaying the defragmentation message, and i got Ram clear :( It was a one time occurrence however, so it might have been something like a vat corruption or whatever.

Offline yunhua98

  • You won't this read sentence right.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2718
  • Rating: +214/-12
  • Go take a dive in the River Lethe.
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #536 on: July 14, 2010, 02:27:29 pm »
Oh, I forgot to mention, that happens to me too, only it happens every time, so I have to manually delete the APP first.

Builderboy, do you get random symbols before the crash?

Spoiler For =====My Projects=====:
Minor setback due to code messing up.  On hold for Contest.
<hr>
On hold for Contest.


Spoiler For ===Staff Memberships===:






Have you seen any good news-worthy programs/events?  If so, PM me with an article to be included in the next issue of CGPN!
The Game is only a demo, the code that allows one to win hasn't been done.
To paraphrase Oedipus, Hamlet, Lear, and all those guys, "I wish I had known this some time ago."
Signature Last Updated: 12/26/11
<hr>

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #537 on: July 14, 2010, 02:28:22 pm »
No, the screen just went blank

Offline FinaleTI

  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1830
  • Rating: +121/-2
  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
    • View Profile
    • dmuckerman.tumblr.com
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #538 on: July 14, 2010, 02:55:03 pm »
The app compiling crashed for me too while it was deleting the app, but it only happened once, I think it happened shortly after I switched from 0.3.2 to 0.3.3, but it hasn't crashed since.


Spoiler For Projects:

My projects haven't been worked on in a while, so they're all on hiatus for the time being. I do hope to eventually return to them in some form or another...

Spoiler For Pokemon TI:
Axe port of Pokemon Red/Blue to the 83+/84+ family. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia:
My big personal project, an original RPG about dimensional travel and a few heroes tasked with saving the world.
Coding-wise, on hold, but I am re-working the story.

Spoiler For Finale's Super Insane Tunnel Pack of Doom:
I will be combining Blur and Collision Course into a single gamepack. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia Origins: Sky's Story:
Prequel to Nostalgia. On hold, especially while the story is re-worked.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #539 on: July 14, 2010, 05:16:24 pm »
Oh, I forgot to mention, that happens to me too, only it happens every time, so I have to manually delete the APP first.
Anyone else using 2.53MP with this problem?

I couldn't simulate any of these in an emulator but I will try to download more OS versions to see if I can.  However, I did also have the defragmenting message freeze my real calc once as some other people have reported but it never happened again so I don't know what might have caused that.

I'm using a lot of very hackish code with the application stuff, some of it was written by BrandonW and some of it was ripped from the OS so I'm suspecting that there could be compatibility issues.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2010, 05:17:55 pm by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!