Author Topic: Bug Reports  (Read 398170 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #60 on: February 24, 2010, 05:38:40 pm »
Yeah I know what you mean, especialy since newer programs tend to be at the bottom of the list XD

Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #61 on: February 24, 2010, 05:58:05 pm »
Even with a stable release with no bugs, some bad coding leads to bad errors in the assembly code created. Some may not be easy to spot by BASIC programmers...

We should do some documentation to BASIC programmers in order to avoid most errors and advice to backup more times to other calc or pc.
Assembly knowledge is advantageous in programming Axe Parser... A in-depth documentation of the Axe Parser conversion to assembly can benefit who knows assembly to better code in Axe.

Quigibo, why not start to code Axe Parser compiler with some Axe Parser? :D How do they compile compilers, eh?

 Have you ever though about it?
« Last Edit: February 24, 2010, 06:00:02 pm by Galandros »
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #62 on: February 24, 2010, 06:25:27 pm »
Yeah, I could, but it would be so inefficient.  That would be like a BASIC programmer trying to make a compiler for assembly language programs, which I have seen done before, but its very slow.  However, I could just cheat and the whole program would just be asm([hex code of entire program]) That would work ;)

Safety features will come in due time.  I'm kind of in that awkward phase where the next version about to come out has enough features to compile nearly any type of game you can think of, yet I still don't have a GUI (even the list of programs is awful because of the scrolling and such), no safety features like archiving the ram before testing the program, or a compiler options menu for things like 15MHz mode options.  And there are still hundreds of commands I still have to add!

I promise.  After the next release, Axe Parser will become 0.1.x and make more of those changes instead of new commands and such.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #63 on: February 24, 2010, 09:13:16 pm »
Awesome!  This sounds really nice.  You've done a great job already.  :D

(I'm fine with however you want to code it, weather you work on the GUI or the commands.  I'm happy as long as you're working on this. ;D )

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #64 on: February 24, 2010, 11:55:46 pm »
Suggestions for safety features: it might be nice that if you plan to have some added inside the compiled programs so if they contain errors that are undetectable during compiling that you allow the programmer to decide if he wants such error checks added or not in his program, because this might slow the program down and once the entire game is finished, such error checks may no longer be needed

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #65 on: February 28, 2010, 10:46:43 pm »
Ok i'm getting this weird thing happening during compilation.  about 80% the way through each pass the message changes from '1st Pass' to '65534ass' and i have to press a key to make the counter advance O.o.  It does seem to compile fine though after it finishes.  Should i upload the source that was making it act weird?

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #66 on: February 28, 2010, 11:00:49 pm »
Is it like that with only one thing or all of the programs you try to compile?
/e

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #67 on: February 28, 2010, 11:07:54 pm »
Only that program and I cant find out whats so unique about it...

Here I'll post it in a sec...

EDIT: Here it is, my work in progress for a tilemapper
Code: [Select]
:For(F,0,383
:¦ rand^3→{L1+F}
:End
:[FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF818181818181FF0000000000000000]→Pic11
:
:0→X
:0→Y
:0→K
:While K≠15
:¦ getKey→K
:¦ X+1→X

:¦ ClrDraw
:¦ For(A,0,11
:¦ ¦ For(B,0,7
:¦ ¦ ¦ 24*(Y/8+B)+(X/8+A)→N
:¦ ¦ ¦ Pt-On(8*A-(X^8),8*B-(Y^8),8*{L1+N}+Pic11
:¦ ¦ End
:¦ End
:¦ DispGraph
:
:End
« Last Edit: February 28, 2010, 11:13:07 pm by Builderboy »

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #68 on: February 28, 2010, 11:39:56 pm »
Could it be calling the L1 pointer?
Try making something that calls it and see if it works or not. He might have left something in the code that he shouldn't have.
/e

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #69 on: February 28, 2010, 11:51:17 pm »
Ok found the problem code, its when you multiply a value by data read from RAM

Code: [Select]
0->{L1}
8*{L1}->A

Gives a very weird happening.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #70 on: February 28, 2010, 11:52:40 pm »
Ok found the problem code, its when you multiply a value by data read from RAM

Code: [Select]
0->{L1}
8*{L1}->A

Gives a very weird happening.
What happens if you put parentheses around the braces?
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #71 on: February 28, 2010, 11:58:44 pm »
Yay it fixed, didn't think of that :P Its interesting that it doest pose a runtime problem, but a compiling problem.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #72 on: March 01, 2010, 12:07:31 am »
Yay it fixed, didn't think of that :P Its interesting that it doest pose a runtime problem, but a compiling problem.
Well, {L1}*8 would be more optimized anyway :)
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #73 on: March 01, 2010, 12:35:42 am »
Haha, i guess so, although i don't understand why.  You asm-erz and your weird optimizations :P

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #74 on: March 01, 2010, 12:52:18 am »
Quigibo, >Frac doesn't work properly. You are trying to pass HL as the argument to _putc instead of A. I suppose you got lucky with your example program because the value loaded from memory was already in A or something.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman