Author Topic: Bug Reports  (Read 300961 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #210 on: May 22, 2010, 12:47:43 am »
Okay so i think the conj()r command does not function properly.  it adds in weird data and doesn't shift properly. I know this is a bad time, so dont worry about getting to it right away, you can update it later if you need

I double checked and it seems to be working fine, I even used it in one of the starship example program.  Are you sure you know the correct use for it?  It copies a byte from {Ptr1} to {Ptr2} then {Ptr1-1} to {Ptr2-1} then {Ptr1-2} to {Ptr2-2} etc.

Quote
Also I think someone needs to write an in-depth tutorial on how to use GetCalc(). It,s too confusing and complicated as it is now. Just adding highscores in a game was a major hassle :/

I know it can be confusing.  That's why I specifically wrote a small tutorial for it in the user's guide.  Plus there is the "counter" example program (hehe counterexample) which demonstrates how to tell if the variable exists, is archived, and has enough ram to be created.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #211 on: May 22, 2010, 12:50:30 am »
yeah I chedked the tutorial and the counter program, but it was still too confusing. It would be nice if it was explained in further details.

Not now, though, because it looks like it may be an hard task to rewrite or explain better how it works. I am starting to think for external data management, I will have to rely on pre-made routines from other people or get someone to write them for me, because it is extremly low level. In my highscore routine in the Axe Tunnel I almost just copied your example and never really figured out how it really works. On the other hand, I am starting to fear that the reason I can't understand it at all is more related to something else not programming/calc related because I had this happen with some other things in the past weeks or so.

EDIT: Not really a bug report, but the keys map that came in Axe 2.4 zip file is missing from the newest Axe zip file.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2010, 01:11:06 am by DJ Omnimaga »


Offline Raylin

  • Godslayer
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1392
  • Rating: +83/-25
  • I am a certifiable squirrel ninja.
    • View Profile
    • Ray M. Perry
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #212 on: May 23, 2010, 10:31:18 am »
Quote from: Raylin
So, you wanna save some scores, huh? Well, break it down like this. Say you wanted to store 5 scores. Scores need some space to store themselves. GetCalc() does that for those scores. It basically makes a place to store those scores. But, wait! There's no place to put the scores in... yet. All houses need an address. "vMYVAR"->Str1 [The 'v' is necessary to prefix to the name. This tells Axe what variable it is editing.] is, in essence, an address. Because that string is stored in a pointer, by typing in GetCalc(Str1), you can tell Axe that "Hey! Make an appvar called MYVAR."

But, we're not done! Houses need rooms. So, if we have 5 scores, we'll give the house 5 rooms.

Final command:
GetCalc(Str1,5)

Now, if you store that command into a variable, you will always be able to reference it in-program.

I was telling my friend the exact same thing the other day in MSN. :P
Bug me about my book.

Sarah: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Cassie: TI-86 [OS 1.XX]
Elizabeth: TI-81 [OS 1.XX]
Jehuty: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Tesla: CASIO Prizm







Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #213 on: May 23, 2010, 05:59:30 pm »
lol nice and thanks.

Btw does your friend program for calcs a lot? I wonder if he would be interested in joining? (if he didn't already)


Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #214 on: May 23, 2010, 06:10:48 pm »
I double checked and it seems to be working fine, I even used it in one of the starship example program.  Are you sure you know the correct use for it?  It copies a byte from {Ptr1} to {Ptr2} then {Ptr1-1} to {Ptr2-1} then {Ptr1-2} to {Ptr2-2} etc.

Ahhhhhh i see, i didnt get that it copied backwards from the point you give it, I thought it copied the same chunk of memory as conj() only in a different way.  Thanks :)

Offline Raylin

  • Godslayer
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1392
  • Rating: +83/-25
  • I am a certifiable squirrel ninja.
    • View Profile
    • Ray M. Perry
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #215 on: May 24, 2010, 10:15:02 am »
@DJ: Yes, he does. But, he want to walk into the community with a project already done. (So, that it doesn't die.)

[ontopic]When I press [PRGM] after an error, sometimes the program throws me into a giant jumble of jibberish. (Undoubtedly appearing because of the program being compiled.) Or is it something else...?
Bug me about my book.

Sarah: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Cassie: TI-86 [OS 1.XX]
Elizabeth: TI-81 [OS 1.XX]
Jehuty: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Tesla: CASIO Prizm







Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #216 on: May 24, 2010, 12:49:08 pm »
Aaaah ok, I hope he finish his project, altough if he announces it before completion (as long as it has signifiant progress already) he might get more feedback and be able to either make it better or get more motivation. I guess it's up to him tho

On-topic: weird x.x, no clue why it might be happening. It sounds pretty bad, though. I am worried compiling might overwrite the program with stuff x.x


Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #217 on: May 25, 2010, 01:34:39 am »
When I press [PRGM] after an error, sometimes the program throws me into a giant jumble of jibberish. (Undoubtedly appearing because of the program being compiled.) Or is it something else...?

I can't seem to replicate this.  Can you give me an example of when this happens?  And on what type of error?
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Raylin

  • Godslayer
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1392
  • Rating: +83/-25
  • I am a certifiable squirrel ninja.
    • View Profile
    • Ray M. Perry
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #218 on: May 25, 2010, 07:26:16 am »
I went inside of my ARMY program and deleted an entire command [GetCalc()].
Axe threw a BAD SYMBOL and when I pressed [PRGM], it gave me gibberish.
Bug me about my book.

Sarah: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Cassie: TI-86 [OS 1.XX]
Elizabeth: TI-81 [OS 1.XX]
Jehuty: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Tesla: CASIO Prizm







Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #219 on: May 25, 2010, 12:55:43 pm »
Just when you pressed PRGM or when you selected EDIT then a program?

Never had that happen before either, btw, and I got many errors. I think a bad Axe program might have caused some side effects (which means back up should be done asap)
« Last Edit: May 25, 2010, 12:56:31 pm by DJ Omnimaga »


Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #220 on: May 25, 2010, 02:14:47 pm »
He's talking about the new error scrolling feature, not something wrong with the calculator.

It sounds like what's happening is that the program pointer is changing to a different location so its scrolling through garbage to the location of the error instead of the actual program.  I'll look around for something that might cause that, but I guess this feature is just temporary anyway until I have the real thing working.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #221 on: May 25, 2010, 02:20:00 pm »
oh ok, I was a bit confused about what he meant. Can this cause potential crashes, though?

Also in the future, will the scrolling be completly removed so we don't need to wait almost one minute before it finishes scrolling (if the error is completly at the end of a 18 KB program with lots of data)?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2010, 02:21:18 pm by DJ Omnimaga »


Offline guy6020665

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 481
  • Rating: +7/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #222 on: May 26, 2010, 08:24:33 pm »
He's talking about the new error scrolling feature, not something wrong with the calculator.

It sounds like what's happening is that the program pointer is changing to a different location so its scrolling through garbage to the location of the error instead of the actual program.  I'll look around for something that might cause that, but I guess this feature is just temporary anyway until I have the real thing working.

I've found that if a program is archived and you use the error scroll, it will give gibberish
Personally if the soruce is unarchived it works fine

Offline Raylin

  • Godslayer
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1392
  • Rating: +83/-25
  • I am a certifiable squirrel ninja.
    • View Profile
    • Ray M. Perry
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #223 on: May 26, 2010, 08:28:37 pm »
Cool.
Thanks for that.

I was using CalcUtil.
Bug me about my book.

Sarah: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Cassie: TI-86 [OS 1.XX]
Elizabeth: TI-81 [OS 1.XX]
Jehuty: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Tesla: CASIO Prizm







Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55925
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #224 on: May 26, 2010, 08:32:25 pm »
i only had gibberish happen once, but I totally forgot if the prog was archived or not