Author Topic: Bug Reports  (Read 398124 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #225 on: May 27, 2010, 02:19:14 am »
Oh yeah, you're right, I forgot to check if its archived  :-X  Thanks for helping me find that problem!
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline guy6020665

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 481
  • Rating: +7/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #226 on: May 27, 2010, 05:31:23 pm »
Oh yeah, you're right, I forgot to check if its archived  :-X  Thanks for helping me find that problem!

Happy to help! ;D

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #227 on: May 27, 2010, 09:14:52 pm »
Looks like your look-ahead parsing still has room for improvement ;) I hadn't recompiled a program using a version newer than 0.2.2 until now, and I've run into a slight annoyance. Your parser threw an error I hadn't seen before, that a static pointer I used was undefined. This is because, to make program editing on my calculator easier, I moved all the sprite data to the bottom of the program and just call it as a subroutine at the start of the program. However, because the program is parsed from top to bottom, it ran into a reference to sprite data in the body of the program "before" the sprite was defined, throwing the error. Any chance this could be fixed? Or an option to disable this part of error checking?

EDIT: So as not to double post, here's another problem I think I may have found, although this may just be inherent in the way text printing works: when large font is enabled, Text() will not display for X=90.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2010, 12:44:47 am by Runer112 »

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #228 on: May 28, 2010, 04:13:40 pm »
well, after making a new pic1 for the liquid simulator, and re-compiling it, I got an err: memory error when I tried to go into axe the second time.. So, I tried to archive, delete stuff that I didn't need.. plenty of memory left.. yet another err: memory. Also, it changed the source code to all the programs I wrote in Ti-Basic - including one that took me a month to make. :(

note: I also went into the memory management menu, scrolled down and when I saw the *Axe Data, it said err: memory and it didn't list how big it was. I just pressed quit and I went on through the list.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2010, 04:15:40 pm by Snake X »
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #229 on: May 28, 2010, 08:18:46 pm »
It sounds like you accidentally corrupted your symbol table.  Archive everything you can and reset your ram, that should fix it I think.  The Axe Data file should be really small, I think its like 17 bytes or something.  If it has a ridiculous size, you'll definitely need to delete it.  It doesn't contain any important information, just your compile settings.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #230 on: May 28, 2010, 09:15:42 pm »
yeah, I just had to resort to resetting everything and clearing everything
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #231 on: May 29, 2010, 12:42:15 am »
Also, guys, if you have a bug in your program when testing and strange things happens, sometimes it's best to archive everything then do a RAM clear before debugging, because then you may continue getting errors or weird stuff happening. You may think it's the program being buggy again, but sometimes it's just the calc being messed up by your previous test.

Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #232 on: May 29, 2010, 06:47:35 am »
Also, guys, if you have a bug in your program when testing and strange things happens, sometimes it's best to archive everything then do a RAM clear before debugging, because then you may continue getting errors or weird stuff happening. You may think it's the program being buggy again, but sometimes it's just the calc being messed up by your previous test.
For these kind of testing an emulator is better suited. This sounds like assembly debug procedures. xD
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #233 on: May 29, 2010, 01:29:37 pm »
alright. Err: Undefined
Tribal said this compiled correctly in 2.4... I used 2.5
Code: [Select]
.SCREEN
DiagnosticOff
[FFFFFFFFFDFDFDFD]->Pic1
ClrDraw
DrawInv
While getkey (doesn't equal symbol here) 15
pause 100
DispGraph
Vertical +
For(A,0,95
Pt-Off(A,0,pic1
end
Pt-On(rand^96,A,Pic1
end
« Last Edit: May 29, 2010, 01:30:00 pm by Snake X »
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

Offline Raylin

  • Godslayer
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1392
  • Rating: +83/-25
  • I am a certifiable squirrel ninja.
    • View Profile
    • Ray M. Perry
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #234 on: May 29, 2010, 01:40:23 pm »
Double-tap?

(Compile it again?)
Bug me about my book.

Sarah: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Cassie: TI-86 [OS 1.XX]
Elizabeth: TI-81 [OS 1.XX]
Jehuty: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Tesla: CASIO Prizm







Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #235 on: May 29, 2010, 01:41:30 pm »
I tried that a lot of times... its error'd on pass2
pass1:  100%
pass2:  69%
err: Undefined
« Last Edit: May 29, 2010, 02:12:27 pm by Snake X »
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #236 on: May 29, 2010, 04:21:15 pm »
alright. Err: Undefined
Tribal said this compiled correctly in 2.4... I used 2.5
Code: [Select]
.SCREEN
DiagnosticOff
[FFFFFFFFFDFDFDFD]->Pic1
ClrDraw
DrawInv
While getkey (doesn't equal symbol here) 15
pause 100
DispGraph
Vertical +
For(A,0,95
Pt-Off(A,0,pic1
end
Pt-On(rand^96,A,Pic1
end

Is "pic1" not being capitalized in "Pt-Off(A,0,pic1" just a typo in your message?

Offline Snake X

  • Ancient Veteran
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +33/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #237 on: May 29, 2010, 04:23:06 pm »
right.. because it doesn't differentiate on the calculator
Loved this place, still the best producers of power metal, and sparked my dreams of coding.

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #238 on: May 30, 2010, 12:20:59 am »
I think this is a bug. If not just tell me. The following fails to compile:

Code: [Select]
91-sub(CS)
But this successfully compiles:

Code: [Select]
91-(sub(CS))

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #239 on: May 30, 2010, 01:00:46 am »
I think this is a bug. If not just tell me. The following fails to compile:

Code: [Select]
91-sub(CS)
But this successfully compiles:

Code: [Select]
91-(sub(CS))

Not really a bug... more like a lack of feature.  I haven't made subroutines usable in expressions yet although they seem to work anyway for some cases.

@Snake X
I haven't tested that yet, but are you sure you typed it all correctly?  There is nothing wrong with that code.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!