Omnimaga

Calculator Community => Major Community Projects => The Axe Parser Project => Topic started by: Munchor on January 22, 2011, 07:18:34 pm

Title: ERR:
Post by: Munchor on January 22, 2011, 07:18:34 pm
Hey guys,

I was wondering, what is the Axe error that most drives you mad while programming?

From all the list of errors, what is the one you most get? Discuss.
_________________________________________________________

The one I most get is probably BLOCK but it's easily fixable. The one I most dislike is ERR:DUPLICATE, I'm so used to it in PC programming :)




Also, is this topic in the right section?
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: AngelFish on January 22, 2011, 07:37:29 pm
Err: Block :P

Either that or

(http://img.removedfromgame.com/imgs/divbyzero.PNG)
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Munchor on January 22, 2011, 07:39:17 pm
Err: Block  :P

both in ti-basic and axe, it's annoying :P
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Binder News on January 22, 2011, 08:10:44 pm
ERR: DUPLICATE
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: souvik1997 on January 22, 2011, 08:19:57 pm
ERR: SYNTAX
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Michael_Lee on January 22, 2011, 09:41:59 pm
ERR: BLOCK

I wish Axe would tell you if you have too few Ends or too many.
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: FinaleTI on January 22, 2011, 09:42:12 pm
ERR: MAX SYMBOLS
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: leafy on January 22, 2011, 10:20:39 pm
ERR: WE REQUIRE MORE VESPENE GAS
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Deep Toaster on January 22, 2011, 10:45:35 pm
Err: Block  :P

both in ti-basic and axe, it's annoying :P

How do you get that in BASIC? ???

But I agree, in Axe, that's the worst to debug.
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Binder News on January 22, 2011, 10:51:32 pm
Yea, cause it always scrolls to the end.
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on January 23, 2011, 02:09:19 am
Lol at Deep Thought screenshot. Also what I hate the most are BAD SYMBOL errors, because often they happen randomly even if the code is fine. (although not as much now since Quigibo fixed some more bugs)
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Builderboy on January 23, 2011, 02:22:20 am
I hate those Err: Unknown Error, that then proceed to crash your calc :P
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on January 23, 2011, 02:59:26 am
They always crash the calc?
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Builderboy on January 23, 2011, 03:00:29 am
Lol probably not, ive never actually gotten one
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: AngelFish on January 23, 2011, 03:02:30 am
I've gotten errors that are just blank, like during the final moments of Powder. By the time the error messages themselves are corrupted, your calc is screwed.
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Munchor on January 23, 2011, 05:57:52 am
I hate those Err: Unknown Error, that then proceed to crash your calc :P

I only got one of those in Axe 0.0.1 ;D
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Fast Crash on January 23, 2011, 06:09:21 am
unknow error when compiling for apps :P very annoying mostly when there isn't any error in the code
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: squidgetx on January 23, 2011, 10:44:12 am
ERR: BAD SYMBOL. then when you scroll to the error, your whole code has been transformed into LinReg (ax+b)'s. Although MAX SYMBOLS are pretty annoying too >.<
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: ztrumpet on January 23, 2011, 10:46:10 am
Max Symbols...    >:D
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Deep Toaster on January 23, 2011, 11:11:03 am
ERR: BAD SYMBOL. then when you scroll to the error, your whole code has been transformed into LinReg (ax+b)'s. Although MAX SYMBOLS are pretty annoying too >.<

Really? Are you compiling from archive or something?
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Ashbad on January 23, 2011, 01:24:44 pm
Err: GAME TOO AWESOME

TaNF gets this too often, did quigibo fix this 0.4.8 by any chance?  I only really noticed it in 0.4.7. :(
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Munchor on January 23, 2011, 01:26:14 pm
Err: GAME TOO AWESOME

TaNF gets this too often, did quigibo fix this 0.4.8 by any chance?  I only really noticed it in 0.4.7. :(

Weird, I thought it only happened when compiling my quadratic solver :S
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Ashbad on January 23, 2011, 01:27:33 pm
Lol, I actually wonder if someone made a grayscale quadratic solver in axe ^-^
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: shmibs on January 23, 2011, 01:37:40 pm
oddly enough, i never run into errors while compiling. any issues in the code appear later when my calc goes matrix on me and, after a quick trip to archudel, i discover that i had mistyped a character or something similar.
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Darl181 on February 01, 2011, 10:30:31 am
What drove me insane or a while was how getKey required the parenthesis all the time.
But yeah, I've probably spent a few days' worth of time trying to find that stupid End or the lack of one.
Also, whenever I use the automatic goto thing, my calc always crashes on exit, so I kind of dislike any error.
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Deep Toaster on February 01, 2011, 10:32:58 am
What dorve me insane or a while was how getKey required the parenthesis all the time.

I'd still close my parentheses even if it's not required. It makes debugging much, much easier (for me).
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Happybobjr on February 01, 2011, 12:59:08 pm
I don't get errors any more.
My code tends to be at a low (as in noob) enough level, that I don't encounter ERR:'s

Blocks used to be annoying untill I figured out to always have a blank line at the end of you code.
So If  (lol If as in the command, and I am talking about blocks right now :D) it scrolls to the 2nd to last line (always an end for me) It has to many End's
If it goes to the final line, it doesn't have enough.
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Xanwell on February 01, 2011, 04:08:54 pm
That's an interesting trick... never thought of that. I just indent in order to keep track of blocks when programming on-calc.
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Builderboy on February 01, 2011, 04:30:20 pm
I don't get errors any more.
My code tends to be at a low (as in noob) enough level, that I don't encounter ERR:'s

Blocks used to be annoying untill I figured out to always have a blank line at the end of you code.
So If  (lol If as in the command, and I am talking about blocks right now :D) it scrolls to the 2nd to last line (always an end for me) It has to many End's
If it goes to the final line, it doesn't have enough.

Technically, if you have more than one missing end shouldn't it scroll to the very first extra End it encounters?
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Deep Toaster on February 01, 2011, 04:30:59 pm
Yep, it does. It just stops when it finds an extra End and leads you there.
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: squidgetx on February 01, 2011, 07:04:55 pm
Although this isn't a compiling error, I hate hate hate it when I accidentally create infinite loops....THEY ARE SO ANNOYING GRAAAAAHHH
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Deep Toaster on February 01, 2011, 08:06:51 pm
Although this isn't a compiling error, I hate hate hate it when I accidentally create infinite loops....THEY ARE SO ANNOYING GRAAAAAHHH

Agreed, especially after I forget to back up :P
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on February 02, 2011, 02:38:01 am
Yeah same here. I always had the same issue in computer languages too. X.x In one case I put in a while getkey=15 but it still didn't work because between while and getkey there was another condition and I forgot parentheses. X.x
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Darl181 on February 02, 2011, 12:06:03 pm
Another error is when you're compiling an app and it throws one of those errors defined by just a number (which I usually fix by a garbage collect)
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: annoyingcalc on April 28, 2011, 10:20:34 pm
ERR: Undefined on second compile try passed the first compile fine HELP!

spoiler for project

Spoiler For Spoiler:
Super Mario Bros level 1 (as a start) 3% complete
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Freyaday on April 28, 2011, 10:28:02 pm
ERR:RTFM/me opens the manual to the requsiste page
QUIT TOUCHING THE BLINKENLIGHTS
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Darl181 on April 28, 2011, 11:05:45 pm
Undefined means there's something that's not defined.  Kind of self-explanatory, IMHO.
Make sure the source is unarchived.  Try compiling.
If and when the error happens, press PRGM.  It should scroll to the error.
Title: Re: ERR:
Post by: Freyaday on April 28, 2011, 11:08:04 pm
An error has occured: Your session has tied out while submitting your post