Author Topic: Features Wishlist  (Read 607167 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1080 on: August 17, 2010, 01:40:35 am »
Well the demo that I downloaded was a program.  Its still available to download on his website I think.

I've been really busy this week so far and I'm leaving for school soon so I'll try to get a new version up soon, but not much new stuff will be added.  The one thing I have had time for though is a complete example game which I'm about halfway though, it will be the final example program and downloadable individually as well.  It's based on another game from Warioware that no one's heard of and its coming along very nicely.

Initially, I though I would have the final release nearly complete around this time, but I've decided instead to continue working on this a little more instead of compromising features.  Updates will be more sparse though since college is starting again but I plan to finish around the time of the contest deadline or shortly after.  There will still be updates after that, but I want a very stable, safe, and bug-free version out by then which will be 1.0.0
« Last Edit: August 17, 2010, 01:41:14 am by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline ACagliano

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 919
  • Rating: +32/-2
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome Productions
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1081 on: August 17, 2010, 07:38:25 am »
How about linking support for sending 2-byte numbers.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1082 on: August 17, 2010, 03:52:48 pm »
That could be easily written in Axe itself i would think, just send the 2 bytes of the 2 byte number.  However, it would be nice to automate the process :)

Offline ACagliano

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 919
  • Rating: +32/-2
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome Productions
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1083 on: August 17, 2010, 07:44:55 pm »
Oh, so if I did

Send({L1},1000)
Send({L1+1},1000)

that would send the 2 byte number?

Would Send({L1}^r,1000) work?

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1084 on: August 17, 2010, 07:48:06 pm »
The second one, I don't think would work.  Actually, I don't think the first one would, either.  I haven't played with this yet, but you can only muck around with the two available bits, if I remember correctly.

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1085 on: August 17, 2010, 08:06:34 pm »
Send( is a linking routine to send one byte :)
The first one is fine, and the second calc will have to do something like Get*256+Get to get the result, though the Send('s will need to be in the reverse order (high byte first)
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline ACagliano

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 919
  • Rating: +32/-2
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome Productions
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1086 on: August 17, 2010, 08:18:53 pm »
ok. No, what happens if I run send on sender but don't do Get on reciever. Will reciever still recieve data?

Note to Quigbo: Can we try for a command to send 2 byte data?

Also can someone give me the HEX for an asm subroutine that emulates Basic's Input command? And tell me where it saves the input so that I can access it using Axe coding?
« Last Edit: August 17, 2010, 08:29:15 pm by ACagliano »

Offline nemo

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1203
  • Rating: +95/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1087 on: August 18, 2010, 12:55:11 am »
Cagliano, what sort of input are you looking for? there's a topic under the axe parser subforum i made that has some code that accepts numbers 0-65535, unless you need string and list support.

also, i'm still begging for a pxl-swap() command. i know it can be implemented easily, but i think some pretty neat effects could be achieved with it.


Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1088 on: August 18, 2010, 01:58:57 am »
I forgot to address the break and continue idea.  Those are both definitely possible, it could even be used in If and Switch statements which would be cool.  Finding a token in a convenient menu might be a challenge though.

Sending multiple bytes is simple, I tested a program that sent the entire graph buffer from one calculator to the other and it took less than half a second.  In fact, it is easier and more reliable to send a section of ram than to send individual values so I would recommend that you store all your sending values in consecutive ram addresses to make it easier.

Pixel swap might be nice, but I don't have a good token for that.  Maybe I can put it in the same place as Pt-Mask.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1089 on: August 18, 2010, 04:15:13 am »
Goto r and Endr?

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1090 on: August 18, 2010, 04:41:32 am »
I can see that as being very confusing, I'd much rather use the C syntax for that so at least its more intuitive.

By the way, that reminds me of a completely unrelated point.  Does anyone mind if I change a few of the tokens by simply changing the case of the first letter or removing the trailing space?  I'm trying to be consistent with my command namings so that commands that start with an uppercase letter must be used first on a line and commands that start with a lowercase letter can be used in expressions.  The trailing space has annoyed me on some commands like the DrawInv command since I'm not using the original syntax the extra space makes it awkward when you add the r modifier.  Would anyone be against changes like this?  As always, it only affects Axe source code.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2010, 04:41:58 am by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1091 on: August 18, 2010, 05:12:27 am »
The main reason I'm suggesting that is because, although custom Axe tokens are nice, it's always a pain in the ass to try to write Axe programs on a computer. Some tokens are completely unrelated to what they do. Like the Port command, I can't even remember it now despite having used it multiple times. I always have to look it up every time I want to use it.

Offline ACagliano

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 919
  • Rating: +32/-2
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome Productions
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1092 on: August 18, 2010, 12:00:03 pm »
Cagliano, what sort of input are you looking for? there's a topic under the axe parser subforum i made that has some code that accepts numbers 0-65535, unless you need string and list support.

I'm looking for string input actually. I want a user input string which i can then use in Axe's GetCalc( command.

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1093 on: August 18, 2010, 01:13:52 pm »
By the way, that reminds me of a completely unrelated point.  Does anyone mind if I change a few of the tokens by simply changing the case of the first letter or removing the trailing space?  I'm trying to be consistent with my command namings so that commands that start with an uppercase letter must be used first on a line and commands that start with a lowercase letter can be used in expressions.  The trailing space has annoyed me on some commands like the DrawInv command since I'm not using the original syntax the extra space makes it awkward when you add the r modifier.  Would anyone be against changes like this?  As always, it only affects Axe source code.
I think this is a great idea.  I'll green light it. :)

Can we have Break, Continue, and, since you brought it up, can we please have Switch?  I'd love making Switch structures in Axe!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1094 on: August 18, 2010, 02:21:09 pm »
I can see that as being very confusing, I'd much rather use the C syntax for that so at least its more intuitive.

By the way, that reminds me of a completely unrelated point.  Does anyone mind if I change a few of the tokens by simply changing the case of the first letter or removing the trailing space?  I'm trying to be consistent with my command namings so that commands that start with an uppercase letter must be used first on a line and commands that start with a lowercase letter can be used in expressions.  The trailing space has annoyed me on some commands like the DrawInv command since I'm not using the original syntax the extra space makes it awkward when you add the r modifier.  Would anyone be against changes like this?  As always, it only affects Axe source code.
That would be fine as long as those changes aren't too drastic. Example: no massive command changes making it even harder to search for commands in the CATALOG (like Rect() and RectI())