Author Topic: Features Wishlist  (Read 607316 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1530 on: November 11, 2010, 04:01:18 pm »
Would it be possible/easy to change all the commands that can't be used in axe to "..." or something similar?
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1531 on: November 11, 2010, 04:03:33 pm »
That would be very, very impractical, unfortunately. The token hook that allows Axe to replace the TI-OS tokens with Axe tokens literally checks to see if the token is in a table, then replaces it with the matching Axe token. If we were to change the 200 or so unused tokens to anything else, imagine how slow editing would be :P
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 04:03:50 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1532 on: November 11, 2010, 04:04:21 pm »
Possible i imagine, although also it would probably take up an extremely large amount of space and/or make editing very slow D: but i don't pretend to be an expert in these token hooks so don't ask me ;D

EDIT: Ninja :P

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1533 on: November 11, 2010, 04:11:08 pm »
:(

oh well, it was worth asking.
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1534 on: November 11, 2010, 04:12:54 pm »
Actually, if they were all changed to the same string "...", it wouldn't take much more effort. Instead of just returning if an Axe token is not found, pass that string instead.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1535 on: November 11, 2010, 04:14:14 pm »
Actually, if they were all changed to the same string "...", it wouldn't take much more effort. Instead of just returning if an Axe token is not found, pass that string instead.

Whoops :-[

Sounds like a good idea, then ;D Unless it gets too slow.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 04:14:28 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1536 on: November 11, 2010, 04:14:26 pm »
Would that work within a reasonable speed?

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1537 on: November 11, 2010, 04:16:22 pm »
I really want this to be possible:

Code: [Select]
"Up"->Str1
"Down"->Str1

I'd love to see that *.*

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1538 on: November 11, 2010, 04:20:17 pm »
I really want this to be possible:

Code: [Select]
"Up"->Str1
"Down"->Str1

I'd love to see that *.*

What do you mean? Replacing Str1 with a new value? You can do that by

Code: (Axe) [Select]
:"Up"→Str1 .Original value
:[0000] .Two extra zeroes for padding because "Down" is two bytes longer
:"Down"→Str2 .Temporary pointer
:Copy(Str2,Str1,4)

The problem with doing it directly with "Down"→Str1 is that since Str1 is just a piece of memory in the program, you'd overwrite whatever came after it if you replace it with a longer string.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 04:21:31 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1539 on: November 11, 2010, 04:31:52 pm »
So, I can do that with Pictures too?

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1540 on: November 11, 2010, 04:35:19 pm »
Yeah, Str's, Pic's, and GDB's aren't really vars. They're just pointers to data inside the program, so they're completely interchangeable.

Except when you're accessing the actual variables with GetCalc(, but that's completely different.

EDIT: A feature request: Goto LBLIf CONDITION/Goto LBL!If CONDITION syntax.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 05:00:29 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1541 on: November 12, 2010, 09:38:52 pm »
I second the request for "Goto LBLIf CONDITION" and Goto LBL!If CONDITION"
Makes things much more compact, and something tells me the assembly code might be more efficient.
Code: (Before) [Select]
;Using If CONDITION:Goto LBL:End
;Check for condition puts results in, say, z
jr nz,condition_false
jp label
condition_false:
;label is elsewhere
Code: (After) [Select]
;Using Goto LBLIf CONDITION
;Check for condition puts results in, say, z
jp z,label
;label is elsewhere
A vast oversimplification, probably, but I'm thinking it could make things more efficient. :)
« Last Edit: November 12, 2010, 09:39:15 pm by calcdude84se »
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1542 on: November 14, 2010, 03:45:36 pm »
I'd like a few updates, however, not in the language itself:

In the Application:

You have four options, Compile, Options,Help and Quit.

*Maybe make that when you press up in Compile it goes to quit and the opposite.
*Make the same thing happen with the Compile list.
*Make the Help button give something lol.
*Make that AFTER YOU COMPILE, it goes back to the compile list, because sometimes I wanna compile +1 program, especially when I do RAM delete.


These should not be hard to make and I expect them in next version, so.

The first one is not really needed, it's just that it looks well.

Thanks!

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1543 on: November 14, 2010, 03:59:25 pm »
These should not be hard to make and I expect them in next version, so.

Quigibo has been very busy with things in life besides Axe, and has just been trying to get out the next version of Axe as it is, without adding everybody's feature requests. There have been many feature requests, and there's no reasonable way he could get to all of them, especially with how busy he has been lately. I've made a few feature requests myself. For one of them I even gave him the exactly assembly code he would need for it. And I still don't expect that Quigibo has to include it in the next version, or any version for that matter. He will add features as he deems that they should be added, and when he has the time to add them. It's not any one of our calls but his to say that the features we want should be in the next version. Announcing that you expect features to be in the next version puts Quigibo in the unfair position of feeling that he needs to include these features in the next version or he will disappoint you.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2010, 04:09:40 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1544 on: November 14, 2010, 04:27:53 pm »
These should not be hard to make and I expect them in next version, so.

Quigibo has been very busy with things in life besides Axe, and has just been trying to get out the next version of Axe as it is, without adding everybody's feature requests. There have been many feature requests, and there's no reasonable way he could get to all of them, especially with how busy he has been lately. I've made a few feature requests myself. For one of them I even gave him the exactly assembly code he would need for it. And I still don't expect that Quigibo has to include it in the next version, or any version for that matter. He will add features as he deems that they should be added, and when he has the time to add them. It's not any one of our calls but his to say that the features we want should be in the next version. Announcing that you expect features to be in the next version puts Quigibo in the unfair position of feeling that he needs to include these features in the next version or he will disappoint you.

I know of course, it may look like an order now that I read it, sorry.

What I mean is that those are really easy to make since thei're not the language itself, just that.

The other day he said he had college tests a lot and the version 0.5 would take a long time to come, but I'm not worried, I totally understand him :D