Author Topic: Features Wishlist  (Read 607036 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2220 on: May 02, 2011, 09:24:34 am »
Would it take longer to compile if Axe enforced parentheses? I definitely don't want compiling to take any longer... Otherwise I would vote for enforcing it.




Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2221 on: May 02, 2011, 09:55:08 am »
I voted yes in the poll. I have seen numerous examples of people having a bug in their program because of unclosed parentheses. However, because they think it's okay to leave parentheses open, rarely do they find their bug. It only turns out that after they post their source code in a help thread, someone else who closes their parentheses discovers the bug. And even then, it's an elusive bug to find for people who do know that closing parentheses is important. In my experience, all it produces is messier code and more errors.

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2222 on: May 02, 2011, 10:39:28 am »
Line-test(StartX,StartY,EndX,EndY,Color(1,0),ResultX,ResultY[)r]
Would start at the Start coordinates, follow the pixels indicated by the Line algorithm and return the coordinates of the first pixel found of the color indicated (1=black, 0=white) to the variables indicated by the Result arguments.
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2223 on: May 02, 2011, 10:51:04 am »
Freyaday, that is a fairly complex command that seems to be for a very specific purpose. It's not exactly the kind of command that should be implemented into the main Axe language. A command like this should probably either be coded in a custom Axiom or just simply coded straight into your program in Axe.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2011, 10:53:48 am by Runer112 »

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2224 on: May 02, 2011, 10:54:12 am »
I can't figure out how to make it in Axe.
So I put it in The Axiom section.
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Offline collechess

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
  • Rating: +22/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2225 on: May 02, 2011, 05:09:49 pm »
Horizontal+x and Horizontal-x
To shift the graphscreen a certain amount of pixels

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2226 on: May 02, 2011, 05:14:24 pm »
The reason I think this has not being added is because it is already possible and easy in Axe, just by using a for loop, and so wouldn't really add any new functionality, nor would it add much speed.

Offline collechess

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
  • Rating: +22/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2227 on: May 02, 2011, 06:18:04 pm »
randInt

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2228 on: May 02, 2011, 06:19:27 pm »
just do rand^x+y where y is your lower bound and y+x is your upper bound

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2229 on: May 02, 2011, 06:20:14 pm »
randInt

rand already returns numbers as integers :)

EDIT: Ninja'd.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2011, 06:20:29 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2230 on: May 02, 2011, 06:31:28 pm »
Code: [Select]

sub(RND,1,10)    .Example usage to generate a random number from 1-10


.<------- Random Integer ------->
.Input: r₁=lower bound
.       r₂=upper bound
.Output: random integer from r₁-r₂
Lbl RND
Return rand^(r₂-r₁+1)+r₁


Although this is easily achieved with a custom routine, I'm wondering if it should be added as an Axe feature anyway. Getting a random integer from a to b is a feature of just about every programming language.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2011, 06:33:06 pm by Runer112 »

Offline JustCause

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +115/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2231 on: May 04, 2011, 02:28:02 pm »
If this has already been brought up, I'm sorry, but drawing text to the back buffer. Without it, you have to Exch() the buffers every time you want to draw black text in 4lv grayscale, and that's slooooooow. Perhaps a new Fix command?
See you, space cowboy...

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2232 on: May 04, 2011, 02:30:02 pm »
Unfortunately, this isn't an Axe limitation, this is an OS limitation. Axe uses the OS text drawing routines, and the OS is incapable of drawing text to any buffer other than the front buffer.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2233 on: May 04, 2011, 02:30:21 pm »
If this has already been brought up, I'm sorry, but drawing text to the back buffer. Without it, you have to Exch() the buffers every time you want to draw black text in 4lv grayscale, and that's slooooooow. Perhaps a new Fix command?
Well, the OS routine only supports writing to the main buffer. Of course, you could alternatively make your own sprite-based version which would be super-fast in comparison :)
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2234 on: May 07, 2011, 04:27:57 pm »
Here's one that I think would be pretty useful and easy to implement: custom interrupts that call the OS interrupt handler before starting or upon finishing. This would allow programmers to use commands like getKey or getKeyr with custom interrupts enabled, which could be very useful. Perhaps fnInt(LBL,FREQ)r? If they wanted they could actually use this to speed up arrow key repeats as well.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2011, 04:28:42 pm by Runer112 »