• Features Wishlist 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Features Wishlist  (Read 606875 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2550 on: September 18, 2011, 03:31:57 am »
As we all know, TI can be quite idiotic sometimes. And they were very idiotic when they decided to add ports 29h-2Eh. These ports don't do anything on an 83+. But on the 15MHz calculators, they inject an extra cycle into some memory access instructions. The affected instructions are opcode reads from flash and all memory writes. Apparently TI thought certain memory operations required a small delay, but as far as I and other experienced assembly programmers know, these delays aren't necessary. This means that on a 15MHz calc, any applications and OS calls will run about 5-25% slower and routines that write to memory will run perhaps 1-3% slower for no reason.
Fun. Maybe TI was planning on making crappier hardware in the future that did need those delays :P




Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2551 on: September 18, 2011, 09:18:51 am »
Or just reset the bottom 2 bits of port $2A when setting Full mode. That's the simplest solution.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2552 on: September 18, 2011, 10:30:57 am »
The delay is enabled even in 6MHz mode, calc84maniac. TI dun goof'd.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2011, 10:32:00 am by Runer112 »

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2553 on: September 18, 2011, 02:06:03 pm »
The delay is enabled even in 6MHz mode, calc84maniac. TI dun goof'd.
Well yes, to disable it in 6MHz, you'll need to reset the bottom 2 bits of port $29. But any program that needs a lot of speed will be using 15MHz mode, slowdown in 6MHz is pretty irrelevant (especially because the slowdown doesn't occur on TI-83+BE)
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2554 on: September 18, 2011, 02:13:58 pm »
Ports 29-2C simply enable or disable the delays defined in port 2E for the 4 different speed modes. If all the delays are turned off in port 2E, it doesn't matter what speed that calculator is running at or if the delay bits are set in ports 29-2C. If ports 29-2C are like circuit breaker switches, port 2E is the master breaker switch. Turn it off, and it doesn't matter what the state of any of the other switches are.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2011, 02:14:36 pm by Runer112 »

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2555 on: September 18, 2011, 02:14:41 pm »
Ports 29-2C simply enable or disable the delays defined in port 2E for the 4 different speed modes. If all the delays are turned off in port 2E, it doesn't matter what speed that calculator is running at or if the delay bits are set in ports 29-2C. If ports 29-2C are like circuit breaker switches, port 2E is the master switch. Turn it off, and it doesn't matter what the state of any of the other switches are.
I understand that, but using port 2A is much more effective for Axe usage.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2556 on: September 18, 2011, 06:43:59 pm »
Is your point that you can send data to ports 29 and 2A on an 83+BE without messing anything up, so you don't have to check the calculator type and possibly abort sending? That would be a good point, except for the fact that that when setting 15MHz mode, Axe actually sets mode 11b, not 01b. So port 2C would need to be modified instead of port 2A, but on the 83+BE, that's a shadow of a port that you don't want to be sending random data to.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2557 on: September 18, 2011, 08:02:18 pm »
Oh, I thought it was a conditional output, not a use of the mirroring trick. That resets the link port when used on the TI-83+BE, which isn't always what you'd want :P
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2558 on: September 18, 2011, 10:25:30 pm »
is this why uncle worm is slower on the 84+ than on the 83+?
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2559 on: September 20, 2011, 10:38:04 am »
I would like it very much if Axe made backups even when the source is in archive. At present, it does not do so.
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Offline p2

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 849
  • Rating: +51/-11
  • I'm back :)
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2560 on: September 21, 2011, 10:31:22 am »
Freyaday, yes, that would be great.
But it should always backup BEFORE compiling
(sometimes it freezes while compiling apps!)




Three things I would like to have in axe:


Axe should, after compiling an App, always check, if the new app exists, and if not, it should ask if it should try again, because axe made a mistake, or something like that!

And another thing is, that it should be possible to add a new line in a code
writing into the code of a program, a command like "newline(" is still missing
It should be possible to tell it "newline(20)" and it should add a new line after the 20th symbol in the code

A third thing:
A command like "GDB-grey("
It should be possible to show a GDB in greyscale, too. And it should be possible to controle, how dark every greyscale should be (like numbers from 1-10, 1 is white, 10 is black)
Because it's annoying if you have to try out, how often you must use DispGraph^r if you want to have a darker greyscale!!
Or if you neef one scrolling, and a non-scrolling greyscale-pic!!!
*insert supercool signature*

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2561 on: September 21, 2011, 10:34:41 am »
Perhaps a setting telling Axe when to make the backup?
That way you can keep the nonbuggy version if something goes horribly wrong, or you added a bunch of new features or something and you really don't want to go through the effort of recoding them.
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Offline p2

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 849
  • Rating: +51/-11
  • I'm back :)
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2562 on: September 21, 2011, 10:52:12 am »
I think noone will be angry if it will backup before - You can tell axe if it should backup or not.
What's better if it'll backup after??
*insert supercool signature*

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2563 on: September 21, 2011, 10:53:31 am »
I think noone will be angry if it will backup before - You can tell axe if it should backup or not.
What's better if it'll backup after??
THen, if it crashes due to some bug, you still have the nonbuggy version backed up.
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Offline p2

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 849
  • Rating: +51/-11
  • I'm back :)
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2564 on: September 21, 2011, 10:55:00 am »
Yeah, but it's always making me very angry, if it freezes while compiling after working on the code for more than one hour!!

Especially if you compiled it the first time!!
*insert supercool signature*