• Features Wishlist 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Features Wishlist  (Read 607151 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3300 on: February 26, 2014, 10:05:25 am »
You can make a placebo effect by putting variable+increment-1->variable in your loop.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2014, 10:07:12 am by Streetwalrus »

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3301 on: February 26, 2014, 11:36:49 am »
I usually write my loops with a While anyway, to be able to put the condition at the End, and only use For() loops as For(const).

Anyway, welcome to the forums ti-freak :)
You can introduce yourself here.

(also, I hope we won't confuse you with tifreak -.-)
« Last Edit: February 26, 2014, 11:36:56 am by Hayleia »
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3302 on: February 26, 2014, 11:54:43 am »
LOL yeah Hayleia I thought the exact same thing. XD

Offline Aspiring

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
  • Rating: +5/-0
  • The only source of knowledge is experience-Einsten
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3303 on: April 01, 2014, 01:46:25 pm »
This may already have been suggested but I really don't want to search through 200+ pages.  :P It would be really cool if axe supported compiling axe code into axioms.  When selecting which shell you want to compile for you would simply just need to select axiom.  A #AxiomSub(name, token-that-is-being-replaced, number-of-args) token could be added so that different functions could be added.  This would make so many more axioms show up for axe and also some libs like TheMachine002's glib and many others.  There is also the added bonus that any time you want to use a lib that is written in axe you don't have to wait as long when compiling the code because it is already precompiled.  ;D  By compiling in axioms in axe it means that code that is made for an old version of axe will still work (assuming the required structure of an axiom doesn't change).  I don't know how difficult it would be to implement so maybe it is not possible. (Runner?)


If we had this it may be very helpful to those who are new to axe because could just use tilemapping lib for example instead of having to learn a lot all at once.  Any thoughts anyone?

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3304 on: April 01, 2014, 07:45:04 pm »
Reworking how libraries work is a big goal of mine for the theoretical Axe 2.0. For now, Axe libraries will have to suffice, because even if I wanted to improve them, there's basically no space left in the application for it. I'm pretty sure that if I started trying to super optimize things and shuffle code around, the number of bugs and general headaches introduced by the process be too much to handle.

Axe libraries aren't too terrible, anyways. Yeah, they take time to compile, don't let you define your functions as tokens, don't intelligently include only what is used, and don't enforce the number of arguments... but they do work. And they actually have a leg or two up on Axioms in their current state, like being able to define and read constant values. I made very heavy use of them to add customization to GrayLib, which I think is a much better library due to it and wouldn't be as useful as an Axiom.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2014, 07:47:42 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Aspiring

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
  • Rating: +5/-0
  • The only source of knowledge is experience-Einsten
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3305 on: April 01, 2014, 11:02:18 pm »
Sounds like you have a lot you're planning on.  I cannot wait for the next update!   :thumbsup:  (and maybe even axe 2.0)

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3306 on: April 02, 2014, 03:32:18 pm »
Will Axe 1.x even have an update ?

Offline Digital

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 107
  • Rating: +0/-0
  • 10101
    • View Profile
    • Digital's Hp
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3307 on: April 07, 2014, 07:03:59 am »
This may already have been suggested but I really don't want to search through 200+ pages.  :P It would be really cool if axe supported compiling axe code into axioms.  When selecting which shell you want to compile for you would simply just need to select axiom.

Thats what i wanted to say too ;D .

I'm sorry if i might make some mistakes, I'm German so English isn't my first language. Please correct me :)

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3308 on: April 07, 2014, 07:23:44 am »
This may already have been suggested but I really don't want to search through 200+ pages.  :P It would be really cool if axe supported compiling axe code into axioms.  When selecting which shell you want to compile for you would simply just need to select axiom.

Thats what i wanted to say too ;D .


As my initial response suggested, just use Axe libraries for now. They offer to fill the same need, albeit with different capabilities. Some things about them are a bit more tedious, but functionally they should be okay.

Offline Digital

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 107
  • Rating: +0/-0
  • 10101
    • View Profile
    • Digital's Hp
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3309 on: April 07, 2014, 07:53:23 am »
You can add an Menue token like basic, may with different tabs like ti os.
The command can look like this:
Code: [Select]
Menue( ("Title Tab 1","1:...",label,"2:...",label),("Title tab 2","1:...",label,"2:...",label)...
             '-------------------v---------------------'  '-------------------v---------------------'
                                     tab 1                                                       tab 2
« Last Edit: April 13, 2014, 08:10:16 am by TheTI-Freak »
I'm sorry if i might make some mistakes, I'm German so English isn't my first language. Please correct me :)

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3310 on: April 07, 2014, 12:15:11 pm »
You can add an MenĂ¼ token like basic, may with different tabs like ti os.
The command can look like this:
Code: [Select]
Menue( ("Title Tab 1","1:...",label,"2:...",label),("Title tab 2","1:...",label,"2:...",label)...
             '-------------------v---------------------'  '-------------------v---------------------'
                                     tab 1                                                       tab 2


The OS does not expose a very simple way to generate menus, which is why the feature does not exist. I think this is somewhere on the to do list, but it's a pretty low priority since its ratio of usefulness (medium-low, since it might be nice for quick prototyping, but you can and probably should make nicer looking menus yourself anyways) to difficulty of implementation (medium-high, from what I gather of how menu hooks work) is overall quite low. But if any assembly wizards want to provide the majority of a solution, whether it's as hard as I think it is or if it's really simple, I'll happily include it! That is, if I can fit it. :P
« Last Edit: April 07, 2014, 01:03:37 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3311 on: April 07, 2014, 12:46:56 pm »
This feature has already been suggested and denied anyway IIRC.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3312 on: April 08, 2014, 03:34:17 pm »
If Axe 2.0 lets you code on the computer, will it allow you to do like in TIGCC and Nspire dev utilities and develop for multiple calcs simultaneously? (eg both the 84+ and 84+CSE) Of course, screen size would be an issue for the 84+CSE, but if in general Axe 84+CSE code is similar to monochrome models, it would make it easier to develop.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3313 on: April 08, 2014, 04:01:21 pm »
That would probably need a lot of conditional comments (to change constants, for example due to screen resolution) but that's better than writing twice the whole code, so I agree that it would be nice :)
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3314 on: April 08, 2014, 05:08:18 pm »
Yeah, that would be cool. Only graphics related stuff would need to be changed anyway. But some of the tricks we use on monochrome calcs are not possible on the cse due to the slower screen. :/ That would make it challenging for sure.