Author Topic: The Axe Pages  (Read 28674 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lafferjm

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #30 on: April 19, 2010, 05:36:00 pm »
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I noticed some errors which I will point out later.  Also, not so bad but kinda funny, the pong program in the included examples is fun to play but it needs to be slowed down a bit :)

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #31 on: April 19, 2010, 10:19:47 pm »
Yeah, the doc probably has some errors, I rushed through it.  What did you find exactly?  Grammar error?  Spelling?  Broken source snippets?  Hopefully not misinformation...
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #32 on: April 19, 2010, 11:37:02 pm »
Maybe the 65536 bytes of RAM part? (The 83+ calc has 32 KB of RAM, 24 for the user)

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #33 on: April 19, 2010, 11:46:35 pm »
I think you're mistaken.  The 83+/84+ calculators all have 64KB of RAM.  In fact some of them even have extra ram pages that extend the ram up to 128KB.  By default, 64KB is available for reading and 32KB can be used for writing, but there are ways in assembly to extend read and write to the entire ram as well as most of the rom.

Edit: I think some people might consider the being able to read and write continuously to be what separates what is called "ram" and "rom" but I consider it ram since its partially accessible without needing to switch pages.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2010, 11:51:12 pm by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #34 on: April 19, 2010, 11:53:40 pm »
Well, why do I hear everywhere that the TI-83 Plus has a 32 KB RAM chip? I know the 83+SE has 128 KB RAM chip, the old 84+ 128 KB and the newer ones 48 KB chip combo, but I always heard that the 83/83+ had a 32 KB one. You will have to confirm this with Calc84maniac and BrandonW, though. Since they do not read forum threads often, you will have to PM them, though.

I have serious doubts Datamath, which is an online calc museum, would put erroneous info about most popular TI calcs, though:

http://datamath.org/Graphing/TI-83PLUS.htm

Quote
The hardware of the TI-83 Plus is similar to a lot of other products: An 8-bit microprocessor of the Z80 family, a huge Flash-ROM of 512k Byte capacity, a RAM of 32k Byte size and a driver for the LCD display. You'll find similar architectures with just another balance of RAM and ROM capacity:

If you are really certain you are right that the 83 Plus has 64 KB of RAM, then you will need to e-mail Datamath that they did errors and fix Wikipedia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TI-83_series

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #35 on: April 20, 2010, 12:33:18 am »
Edit: I think some people might consider the being able to read and write continuously to be what separates what is called "ram" and "rom" but I consider it ram since its partially accessible without needing to switch pages.
Yeah, I think the problem is that we aren't talking about the same thing here.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline lafferjm

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #36 on: April 20, 2010, 08:48:07 am »
Yeah, the doc probably has some errors, I rushed through it.  What did you find exactly?  Grammar error?  Spelling?  Broken source snippets?  Hopefully not misinformation...

Im still working on listing them, but most of the errors had to do with the pong game.  I noticed for instance that you stored both pong and score to string1 but later on tried to display string1 and 2.  Just little things like that.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #37 on: April 22, 2010, 04:49:15 pm »
Some people including Calc84maniac and SirCmpwn confirmed that the 83+ effectively has 32 KB of RAM, so I guess I was right. However, I am curious, if the calc has 65536 bytes of memory addresses like this, would the second half be archive memory? Would it be problematic if we tried to write stuff there?

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #38 on: April 22, 2010, 05:40:41 pm »
Some people including Calc84maniac and SirCmpwn confirmed that the 83+ effectively has 32 KB of RAM, so I guess I was right. However, I am curious, if the calc has 65536 bytes of memory addresses like this, would the second half be archive memory? Would it be problematic if we tried to write stuff there?
Yeah, these others are usually used for archive. Accidental writing shouldn't be a problem, unless you HAPPEN to have flash writing unlocked and HAPPEN to write one of the command codes for flash write/erase (very unlikely, especially because we have to do carefully planned hacks to even unlock flash in the first place)
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #39 on: April 22, 2010, 05:47:58 pm »
i am confused at the later part x.x

But I guess it doesn't matter much really since I remember Flash unlocking was something only BrandonW did  (if he did it at all) x.x
« Last Edit: April 22, 2010, 05:48:40 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #40 on: April 22, 2010, 11:42:17 pm »
Well, what I am saying is that most attempted writes to archive memory are simply ignored. The only time it would have any effect is if you unlock flash and then do specific commands to the flash controller. This will never happen during normal ASM/Axe use unless you are trying very hard to do it.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #41 on: April 23, 2010, 12:01:22 am »
Whys is flash protected so?  Why is it made so hard to unlock if it is a supposedly closed system?  Like there arnt any malicious viruses flying around :P

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #42 on: April 23, 2010, 12:14:25 am »
Whys is flash protected so?  Why is it made so hard to unlock if it is a supposedly closed system?  Like there arnt any malicious viruses flying around :P
Well, it is not hard for the OS to unlock it, since it has permission. It's quite hard to do it by accident, though. For our programs to unlock flash, we have to hack into the TI-OS code that unlocks it, which is the hard part.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #43 on: April 23, 2010, 12:34:07 am »
Well, what I am saying is that most attempted writes to archive memory are simply ignored. The only time it would have any effect is if you unlock flash and then do specific commands to the flash controller. This will never happen during normal ASM/Axe use unless you are trying very hard to do it.
aaaah ok I see.

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: The Axe Pages
« Reply #44 on: April 23, 2010, 12:40:34 am »
What exactly is the flash and such?
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)