Author Topic: The Blue Platform  (Read 112215 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #120 on: June 06, 2009, 10:01:06 pm »
well the only way a DCS6 header will do anything would be to run it from DCS6
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #121 on: June 06, 2009, 10:13:43 pm »
aah ok, i was just unsure if a dcs header actually added commands preventing the game from being ran from anywhere outside DCS

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #122 on: June 06, 2009, 10:16:07 pm »
you can still run it from the program menu, but a DCS6 header lets you run subprograms from the archive, but you can still run it from the program menu, but it is just a waste of space then...
here is the documentation on it
« Last Edit: June 06, 2009, 10:25:33 pm by Eeems »
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #123 on: June 06, 2009, 10:30:38 pm »
Aah ok, well as long as the game runs fine from the prgm Menu and takes no advantage on that archived program thing then it's in the pure basic category.

If we receive a pure basic entry that isnt suitable for its category, we will not disqualify it, though, we will simply move it to the hybrid/asm category

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #124 on: June 06, 2009, 10:34:21 pm »
ah well that defeats the purpose of having then, so I'll stick with pure basic
/e

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #125 on: June 08, 2009, 09:34:19 pm »
ok, I have run into the memory issue....I know of how to use Celtic III to get rid of the problem, but that would put me in the ASM/Hybrid category, so I am either just going to use Celtic III to grab the maps from a archived program or store maps differently and use Celtic III to display my maps with my previous mapmaker project I was working on before starting this one...that would make map storage much easier but then I'll use matrices, which is smaller then 2 strings of course....this may speed up my game enough for the 83+ because access times on matrices are 75% faster then strings...but this will mean I have to completely rework the engine and maps....again...
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #126 on: June 08, 2009, 09:56:22 pm »
aren't matrices much bigger than strings? A 8x16 matrix on my TI-83+ is 1163 bytes while a 128 character string ranges from 139 to 267 bytes, depending if it contains 1 byte or 2 bytes tokens.

In storage form, like inside a map database program with if conditions, a 16x8 matrice containing only 1 digit numbers is around 260 bytes large and one containing 2 digits number is around 390. A string in storage form is around the same size as in 8xs format.

Strings are indeed much slower when it comes to collision detection, though, altough much faster to display, since on graph screen you can display an entire row of characters in one command and on home screen you can display the entire string at once. In matrice form you need to load each characters one by one

That's assuming you're sticking with ASCII graphics, though. Else, I never used Celtic III with strings so I have no clue how is it. Matrices are still quite large, though

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #127 on: June 08, 2009, 10:06:38 pm »
hmm, I could store a matrix as a string in a archived program and then just convert it to a matrix....
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #128 on: June 08, 2009, 10:14:34 pm »
that could actually be an idea if it's not too slow loading.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #129 on: June 08, 2009, 10:25:34 pm »
hmm, true, or the map could load as it changes it to the matrix
/e

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #130 on: June 08, 2009, 10:37:21 pm »
I'm using strings to display on the graph screen for loading speed, and then using pxlTest (faster than matrices, lists AND strings) for collision.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #131 on: June 08, 2009, 10:38:58 pm »
that would be hard because I use a lot of different sprites...
/e

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #132 on: June 08, 2009, 10:40:00 pm »
I use over 100 different sprites... o.O

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6265
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #133 on: June 08, 2009, 10:46:56 pm »
ah, so how do you use your pxl-test( then?
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #134 on: June 08, 2009, 10:51:08 pm »
pxl test would only work if every sprite in the game had the scanned pixel either 1 or 0. Else, you would need to check like 2-3 pixels in the next sprite to make sure the pixel test won,t return the same value than a non-solid tile.

EDIT Eems remember since this is a contest entry he can't really provide much info about how he does it and you can't get help either