Author Topic: The Blue Platform  (Read 53259 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ti-newb

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 180
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #150 on: June 13, 2009, 04:16:39 pm »
you know.. I think Geekboy has his calculator's ram cleared.. the most.. Just working on the 1 prgm we weremaking.. which took like.. 20-30 mins. he cleared his ram like.. 2-3 times.. even though we wern't running the prgm..

And when he clears his ram. he's like. No biggie XD! and imlike >=OOO

I think he deserves an award =D.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6182
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #151 on: June 13, 2009, 04:26:41 pm »
lol, well I had just backed up my calculator...

EDIT: ok, well I think I did a better titlescreen :) (added in some lightning flashes) and I'm working on the display engine, which may take a while if I am going to include the rain effect in the game engine
I know for sure now that I will be using a tilemap from a matrix, but to store the maps I was going to use strings, but that would mean only 10 different sprites could be used, unless I find a way to increase it...maybe with the instring( command....
I am storing the maps as archived appvars so I don't have to worry about them being in the way, and I think this version will end up much better then the pure basic one was...
« Last Edit: June 13, 2009, 05:26:42 pm by Eeems »
/e

Offline simplethinker

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 695
  • Rating: +16/-5
  • snjwffl
    • View Profile
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #152 on: June 13, 2009, 09:37:20 pm »
you know.. I think Geekboy has his calculator's ram cleared.. the most.. Just working on the 1 prgm we weremaking.. which took like.. 20-30 mins. he cleared his ram like.. 2-3 times.. even though we wern't running the prgm..

And when he clears his ram. he's like. No biggie XD! and imlike >=OOO

I think he deserves an award =D.
thanks!
funny story, I was playing around with Celtic III and trying to figure out identity(4 and I accidentally cleared my RAM, and everything I had made was lost....luckily I had backed it up to make this :) I am glad I did
Ahem :)  Some new stories?
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." -- Professor Robert Silensky



Chip's Challenge: ħ%

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6182
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #153 on: June 14, 2009, 06:27:47 pm »
ok, I have a new update, I haven't fully figured out how to display my rooms yet, but I know that it will be a 22*16 room using 8*8 tiles, and you will be only able to see 11*8 at a time, so it will have 4 screens per room. I have finished the room loading sequence :) it is a little bit slow but it allow me to have 34 sprites I believe (I use all the letters/numbers and theta for the string which then converts it to the matrix which I will use for displaying. I have a screeny that I made, notice the 'lightning' animations on the titlescreen (well more of flashes of light, which looks better on calc I might add)
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55832
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #154 on: June 14, 2009, 07:41:31 pm »
I am glad you made a backup at least x.x these crashes can be nasty x.x

Looks nice btw, like the new title text better :)
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6182
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #155 on: June 15, 2009, 03:43:53 pm »
Ok, I am almost finished the engine, it runs way faster then before, but it has slowed down as I added more checks and such. I decided to try greyscale, but I don't know if I can get it to work right, on a 83+ it looks horrible, but it might run well on the faster ones because it isn't too bad but it still looks like shit.
I'll post a screeny as soon as I can
I hope it still runs well when I add in enemy physics

EDIT: ok so here is a screen shot of it :)
« Last Edit: June 15, 2009, 06:58:01 pm by Eeems »
/e

Offline Halifax

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1334
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #156 on: June 15, 2009, 07:11:00 pm »
I hope that background isn't permanent...because that looks very annoying. I would just go for no background.
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6182
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #157 on: June 15, 2009, 07:14:52 pm »
well, I was hoping to have some good greyscale with it, but it doesn't look good an emulator or 83+, it might look good on a faster calc, but it is one of the backgrounds I intend to use, but I also have some other ones
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55832
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #158 on: June 15, 2009, 08:15:09 pm »
Mhmm, actuallY I think the issue is that the grayscale isn't applied properly. Normally, you need a picture where all gray areas of your background has to be a checkered pattern and a second picture where the entire gray areas must be black pixels, then you use the 2nd picture to XOR the screen about 5-10 times per loop. If you switch all pixels on/off at once instead of having a checkered pattern it will look flickery as hell
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6182
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #159 on: June 15, 2009, 08:55:11 pm »
hmm, I could find a way to do that I would just have to find a way to not have to worry about the character during the physics part
what I do is the pixel is on in only one sprite for grey both for black and none for white.
/e

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6182
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #160 on: June 16, 2009, 10:58:12 am »
ok, I was trying to change the map system over to Celtic III's string_tile [identity(4)] command, but I can't seem to get it to work yet, I understand the concept, but whenever I try to convert one of my maps all I get on the screen is garbage...Does anybody know of a really good tutorial or something on it? I wish I could ask more but I can't if I don't want to get disqualified...
/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55832
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #161 on: June 16, 2009, 12:44:37 pm »
mhmm unfortunately i don't think there's one yet and even if contestants were allowed to get help I could still not help at all, since I never used these celtic functions. However, do frequent backups if messing around with such functions. Usually when trial and erroring like this we end up with bad surprises x.x
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6182
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #162 on: June 16, 2009, 06:02:18 pm »
I know, that was what cleared my RAM before...I keep on reading the only tutorial I could find (on UTI) and I understand what it is saying, but when I try to apply it; it doesn't work....I at least got it displaying sprites now....but not the right ones....
on a side note, I made a quick level editor, and I decided to scrap the greyscale since it really slows it down to get it looking anything like real greyscale....I added a new tile: water which allows you to swim in it :) and I will probably add a slight life decrease when you are in it to account for no air usage. next on the list is adding magic and enemies since I also added spikes and monkeybars again.
EDIT: some screenies for your viewing pleasure
« Last Edit: June 16, 2009, 09:35:05 pm by Eeems »
/e

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6182
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #163 on: June 16, 2009, 10:40:44 pm »
EPIC MOMENT
I cut 50 seconds (83+) from the loading time by figuring out identity(4 (thanks to simplethinkers helpful questions) I was trying to grab the wrong picture!!! now I can progress to using it, of course it will slow down game speed, unless using binread is really quick. I haven't implemented it yet, but I will soon.
I AM REALLY EXCITED!!!
sorry for using my outside voice, I was really excited...

/e

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55832
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Platform Game Engine
« Reply #164 on: June 16, 2009, 11:06:54 pm »
this is nice to hear :D
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify