Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => TI-BASIC => Topic started by: katmaster on March 04, 2006, 10:42:00 am

Title: Code
Post by: katmaster on March 04, 2006, 10:42:00 am
Well, here is my main loop. I will attempt to explain what all the variables do and stuff:

c1-->
CODE
ec1
:Lbl 1
Title: Code
Post by: kalan_vod on March 04, 2006, 12:15:00 pm
It looks pretty good, is there any problems with it atm or are you just looking for it to be faster? If you could run it through http://www.cemetech.net/projects/basicelite/sourcecoder2.php it would be a little better :Pblah.gif.
Title: Code
Post by: crzyrbl on March 04, 2006, 01:09:00 pm
elimating all the lbl's and goto's will drastically increase speed.  i did that to xLib's original example prgm, i think it went close to 3x faster.  lets see some more ss! ;)wink.gif
Title: Code
Post by: katmaster on March 04, 2006, 07:43:00 pm
Hmmm that's what I figured. Is there just a way to order everything differently? Because I'm not exactly sure how to get rid of all of them and make it still work....

@kalan vod: Nothing's wrong with it, I'm just looking to make it run faster. Also, it doesn't have AI or powerups incorperated into it yet.
Title: Code
Post by: kalan_vod on March 05, 2006, 03:36:00 am
I will take a better look at the code if you use source coder so it's easier to read :Dbiggrin.gif
Title: Code
Post by: katmaster on March 05, 2006, 12:52:00 pm
Whiners!!! j/k :)smile.gif ok it's "easier to read" now :Pblah.gif
Title: Code
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on March 26, 2006, 11:37:00 am
woiw nobody posted here :/ too bad I couldnt help much I cant read other ppl code :(sad.gif I hope this is not dead tho
Title: Code
Post by: katmaster on April 02, 2006, 01:02:00 pm
My code must be perfect then XDgni.gif. And no, it's not dead, things just got kinda busy again. Might be a few weeks before I get to work on it again though :(sad.gif
Title: Code
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 02, 2006, 01:08:00 pm
cool to hear you aren't dropping it :)smile.gif. yteah basic can be kinda slow sometimes, I doubt it will run that slow tho because diortem ran at 2 fps with enemies and it used Omnicalc, which is slower than xlib
Title: Code
Post by: katmaster on April 02, 2006, 05:30:00 pm
Yeah, I really need to find time to figure out exactly how I'm going to impliment the A.I. I've tried a few routines, but they ended up being kinda slow and unpredictable (things moving into walls and not dieing or killing you etc.). I wish I had more time.....
Title: Code
Post by: BCTurk on April 02, 2006, 06:29:00 pm
If this is like the bomberman that I have played, I would reccomend that, for an AI routien, you have them randomly place & avoid bombs until they see either you or one of your bombs, then they should try and follow you and place bombs.  Opinion only.  Hope it helps.
Title: Code
Post by: Spellshaper on April 03, 2006, 03:57:00 am
QuoteBegin-crzyrbl+Mar 5 2006, 1:09-->
QUOTE (crzyrbl @ Mar 5 2006, 1:09)
elimating all the lbl's and goto's will drastically increase speed.  i did that to xLib's original example prgm, i think it went close to 3x faster.  lets see some more ss! ;)wink.gif

O_Oshocked2.gif k... how did u do that?

Mine still runs at about the same speed :???:confus.gif

maybe I
Title: Code
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 03, 2006, 04:08:00 am
it really depend how huge the code is, if the lbl is at the bottom of a 11 KB huge code it will take a long while to load. if its at the top it will load faster. Some ppl probably noticed that old basic games (including some of mines) had the title screen, menu and such at bottom of the code, and the engine at the top. First code line was a goto 1
Title: Code
Post by: Spellshaper on April 03, 2006, 04:16:00 am
But I
Title: Code
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on April 03, 2006, 05:26:00 am
I think you mean DIE LBL/GOTO! DIE!
Title: Code
Post by: Spellshaper on April 03, 2006, 05:54:00 am
that too :)smile.gif
Title: Code
Post by: katmaster on April 03, 2006, 01:20:00 pm
QuoteBegin-BCTurk+Apr 2 2006, 21:29-->
QUOTE (BCTurk @ Apr 2 2006, 21:29)
If this is like the bomberman that I have played, I would reccomend that, for an AI routien, you have them randomly place & avoid bombs until they see either you or one of your bombs, then they should try and follow you and place bombs.  Opinion only.  Hope it helps.  

 I think your a little mistaken in what I'm actually making. This isn't going to be like a battle mode type game where it's one on one or 4 player. This is going to be more like the "mission" mode if you will; you run around, kill all the enemies and pick up powerups, then when all the enemies are dead and all the switchs hit, the door opens, then you go to level 1-2 or whatevers next. Sorry if I wasn't clear on that :)smile.gif
Title: Code
Post by: BCTurk on April 03, 2006, 03:43:00 pm
Ah, yeah I didn't know that.  That's a bit tougher.  We'll see if I think of anything.  Keep up the good work.