Author Topic: Copy/Paste Programs  (Read 4216 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gale

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 115
  • Rating: +1/-0
  • Ti-84+ Silver Edition
    • View Profile
Copy/Paste Programs
« on: March 16, 2010, 05:04:11 pm »
how do you copy a string of commands (a program) from one program to another?

i tried using a string, but it didn't work. because i have several programs i would like to combine together for memory reasons and just for convenience.
remember me as a time of day...

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2010, 05:05:48 pm »
Go into one program, and press:
2nd
Sto>
Prgm
< (That's the left arrow)
Find your program
Press Enter

That should Rcl the contents of one program into another.  If you need help, just ask. :)  Good luck!

Offline Gale

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 115
  • Rating: +1/-0
  • Ti-84+ Silver Edition
    • View Profile
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2010, 05:20:48 pm »
it worked :) thank you!
remember me as a time of day...

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2010, 05:22:27 pm »
Yay, I'm glad it worked!  You can use Rcl for other things too.  I use it a lot to get strings into my programs. :)  I also debug with it, to find the value of a variable without leaving the program editor.  :D

I'm glad it worked for you. ;D

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2010, 05:27:27 pm »
I also debug with it, to find the value of a variable without leaving the program editor.

I do the exact same thing all the time.

Offline rthprog

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2010, 09:44:23 pm »
Same.

I also use it to recall character maps (as in a string within a program with most of the "special" characters) and XTRAVAR variables

Offline Geekboy1011

  • The Oneironaut
  • Donator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2030
  • Rating: +119/-2
  • Dream that Awakening dream
    • View Profile
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2010, 10:47:23 pm »
oh wow never thought of using RCL for that thats a great idea i just normally remeber where i am in the code and then remebre the vars when i go to debug X.x

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55872
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2010, 11:08:05 pm »
Yeah very useful indeed.

Another solution is to group your programs then when ungrouping, rename duplicates, but that takes longer.

Offline cooliojazz

  • Support Staff
  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 619
  • Rating: +66/-9
  • I omnoms on your soul
    • View Profile
    • Unreal Phantasies
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2010, 11:10:24 pm »
That method could be useful for locked programs that your too lazy to go look up other ways to rename them. :P CoolioJazz goes off to use this new-found method...
Spoiler For Random signess:
You can not beat my skills.
Trust me.
So don't even try.
And remember never to trust someone who says, "Trust me."

TI File Editor Progress: Remade in java like a boss. 50% we'll call it? IDK =P
Java Libraries: JIRC - 90% JTIF - 5%
TI Projects: Unreal Notator - -5000%
Nomcraft, a Bukkit mod
Some of the music I write can be found here | The Rest Should Be Here (Bandcamp)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55872
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2010, 01:00:04 am »
Oh, for locked programs, you actually need to install MirageOs and run it, else you can't rename locked programs. Running MirageOs once seems to allow renaming them, for some reasons, or at least, it did in MirageOs 1.1. If it was actually a bug, maybe it was fixed in 1.2 x.x

It's one of these not-so-known MirageOs tricks

Offline cooliojazz

  • Support Staff
  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 619
  • Rating: +66/-9
  • I omnoms on your soul
    • View Profile
    • Unreal Phantasies
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2010, 09:31:54 am »
But, like I wanted to re-name the asmLOL program form axe, which does not show up in mirage (Yes I know you can make it, but i'm not) :P
« Last Edit: March 17, 2010, 09:32:10 am by cooliojazz »
Spoiler For Random signess:
You can not beat my skills.
Trust me.
So don't even try.
And remember never to trust someone who says, "Trust me."

TI File Editor Progress: Remade in java like a boss. 50% we'll call it? IDK =P
Java Libraries: JIRC - 90% JTIF - 5%
TI Projects: Unreal Notator - -5000%
Nomcraft, a Bukkit mod
Some of the music I write can be found here | The Rest Should Be Here (Bandcamp)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55872
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2010, 02:04:28 pm »
I think you can still rename it if grouping it then rename it. You don't rename it in Mirage, but from the ungroup menu.

EDIT: Nvm this only works in MirageOs 1.1 or lower.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2010, 02:24:48 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #12 on: May 28, 2010, 03:45:21 pm »
Yeah very useful indeed.

Another solution is to group your programs then when ungrouping, rename duplicates, but that takes longer.

I've done that before, and for longer programs, it takes a lot less time (especially if you want to copy a 10K program). Doesn't it hurt the flash chip, though?




Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55872
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #13 on: May 28, 2010, 11:30:29 pm »
I think after 100000 or 200000 flash chip writes it wears off, but so far we only heard about one person who had this happen since the first flash calcs came out in 1998 and it was Drummist (the pure BASIC contest winner). I guess it shouldn't be too bad if you don't need to duplicate programs way too often.

That said, garbage collecting every few minutes can drain battery power a lot, though. To play through ROL2 you had to go through 2 sets of AAAs to beat the game (I still wish I knew about Flash Gordon or that XCOPY was out when I made that game...)

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Copy/Paste Programs
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2010, 12:02:39 am »
Before I learned what archiving does to the flash chip, I thought the Garbage collecting... message was fun to get, so I purposely archived and unarchived my 20KB program repeatedly just to see it. I ended up having dozens of full garbage collects every few days.

Ah, stupidity.

I think after 100000 or 200000 flash chip writes it wears off, but so far we only heard about one person who had this happen since the first flash calcs came out in 1998 and it was Drummist (the pure BASIC contest winner). I guess it shouldn't be too bad if you don't need to duplicate programs way too often.

That said, garbage collecting every few minutes can drain battery power a lot, though. To play through ROL2 you had to go through 2 sets of AAAs to beat the game (I still wish I knew about Flash Gordon or that XCOPY was out when I made that game...)

What's ROL2? And what happened to Drummist's calculator? Does it simply not work anymore?