Author Topic: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)  (Read 9813 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« on: May 30, 2010, 10:16:44 am »
Ok, I did the programs and they do the job. (small and feature Pure TI-BASIC grayscale (best viewed in a TI-84+SE))
I am not kidding about grayscale. Test if it looks good another calculators models. I messed a lot with = and its "reversed colour" token without success.
I guess there aren't bugs but I optimized as much as I could...

Controls are:
2nd to select/finish
up/down=next/back 9 tokens (not 10 because that is 2 more bytes in code)
right/left=next/back 1 token
Some programs may require.
Del to delete one token
Mode to see next screen of tokens
F1 to finish

Then look in Ans or Str9 the tokens you want.
Destroys Str0 and Str9. My convention in TI-BASIC coding is that Str0 is a temporary string, Pic0 a temporary picture and so on.

I will polish a bit more and release with proper donotreadme. I can say there is a reason in the naming of the programs. Oh, this will get release in ticalc, it is probably one of the best token selectors in TI-BASIC.
I did some odd decisions because of size optimization... You will see.


I will gladly reply to feedback and suggestions. Thanks.
EDIT: I released this to backup and don't forget to credit meishe91 and others.
EDIT2: I will try to come with a decent screenshoot in the final release.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2010, 10:24:18 am by Galandros »
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline Raylin

  • Godslayer
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1392
  • Rating: +83/-25
  • I am a certifiable squirrel ninja.
    • View Profile
    • Ray M. Perry
Re: Extra tokens and token picker
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2010, 10:23:48 am »
Am I crazy or did I just read pure BASIC grayscale?
Bug me about my book.

Sarah: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Cassie: TI-86 [OS 1.XX]
Elizabeth: TI-81 [OS 1.XX]
Jehuty: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Tesla: CASIO Prizm







Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2010, 10:30:52 am »
Am I crazy or did I just read pure BASIC grayscale?
Yes but kind of.
It is actually 3 level (white, grayish and black), done with ASCII and probably only looks good in my calculator (TI-84+SE).
You only see gray in the token you select (it has a lighter colour tone of the rest of the screen black pixels and black underscore bellow) because I am erasing and redrawing the character during the getkey loop.

In UTI there is discussion of this kind of made grayscale and Weregoose has a large pictures with all mixtures of TI-BASIC tokens to achieve different patterns of gray sprites. So I am quite serious about Pure TI-BASIC grayscale. It is VERY limited. With luck, you can do a simple ASCII game with one symbol being grayish (some imagination may be needed).
EDIT: picture may have been lost in the Internet because of UTI move but here's a topic about it http://www.unitedti.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=8828&view=findpost&p=134331
I might have a copy in my hard drive.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2010, 10:41:52 am by Galandros »
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2010, 11:39:20 am »
Ah, found it:

It's in this post:
http://www.unitedti.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=3586&view=findpost&p=57778
There's a similar image made by Weregoose here:

EDIT: Sorry about the size.
EDIT2: And the horizontal scrollbar. http://www.explosm.net/comics/2030/
« Last Edit: June 25, 2010, 11:11:00 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2010, 11:58:15 am »
Yes, that is exactly it.

I think my program has all visual tokens with 1 symbol of width we need. AXSYMBZ has all non accessible from TI-OS menus like Catalogue and statistics and ATOKZ2.8xp has all of them.
What do you think about the order of tokens and usage?

The programs were shrunk a few more bytes on my calculator and is all I can reduce. After I receive feedback and write the ignoreme, I mean readme, I will release in ticalc since is one of the best tokens picker and the only with grayscale. ;D
The grayscale I note in the program is that the current selected token is a bit lighter than the other tokens on the screen.
Do you think there is any problem saying it has grayscale? People may bash me with it being flicker and not grayscale. (especially TI-83+ users) I though it is quite funny to say this has grayscale.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2010, 11:59:42 am by Galandros »
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2010, 12:06:51 pm »
Yes, that is exactly it.

I think my program has all visual tokens with 1 symbol of width we need. AXSYMBZ has all non accessible from TI-OS menus like Catalogue and statistics and ATOKZ2.8xp has all of them.
What do you think about the order of tokens and usage?

The programs were shrunk a few more bytes on my calculator and is all I can reduce. After I receive feedback and write the ignoreme, I mean readme, I will release in ticalc since is one of the best tokens picker and the only with grayscale. ;D
The grayscale I note in the program is that the current selected token is a bit lighter than the other tokens on the screen.
Do you think there is any problem saying it has grayscale? People may bash me with it being flicker and not grayscale. (especially TI-83+ users) I though it is quite funny to say this has grayscale.

That's as close as you can get to TI-BASIC grayscale on my TI-83 Plus. The only time I've seen nearly flickerless BASIC grayscale was when I tried it out with a single pixel turning on and off with nothing else in the loop. Can't find a use for that, though. :)




Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2010, 12:13:46 pm »
Yes, that is exactly it.

I think my program has all visual tokens with 1 symbol of width we need. AXSYMBZ has all non accessible from TI-OS menus like Catalogue and statistics and ATOKZ2.8xp has all of them.
What do you think about the order of tokens and usage?

The programs were shrunk a few more bytes on my calculator and is all I can reduce. After I receive feedback and write the ignoreme, I mean readme, I will release in ticalc since is one of the best tokens picker and the only with grayscale. ;D
The grayscale I note in the program is that the current selected token is a bit lighter than the other tokens on the screen.
Do you think there is any problem saying it has grayscale? People may bash me with it being flicker and not grayscale. (especially TI-83+ users) I though it is quite funny to say this has grayscale.

That's as close as you can get to TI-BASIC grayscale on my TI-83 Plus. The only time I've seen nearly flickerless BASIC grayscale was when I tried it out with a single pixel turning on and off with nothing else in the loop. Can't find a use for that, though. :)
I do. It is one of my old TI-BASIC projects I want to finish: a picture editor. The cursor is a gray pixel. ;)
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2010, 02:14:28 pm »
Wow I still remember the second pic, that brought back some old memories.

In BASIC the closest thing to grayscale I ever had was While 1:Dispgraph:Disp:End and it flickers very bad

Nice program Galandros btw, it should be useful to some people.

Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2010, 02:58:22 pm »
In BASIC the closest thing to grayscale I ever had was While 1:Dispgraph:Disp:End and it flickers very bad

Nice program Galandros btw, it should be useful to some people.
Thanks.
Funny, I was going to post about that piece of code. I was amazed to what I saw in my calculator.
It flickers bad but not that bad in a TI-84+SE and a very simple ASCII game is possible. I am so gonna do it, most for my amusement. I just need a good and simple idea to implement. Any ideas? (if I knew some easy yet addicting game like snake but not as much repetitively coded)
« Last Edit: May 30, 2010, 02:59:49 pm by Galandros »
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline Ancient Power

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 45
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2010, 08:53:18 pm »
I've managed to get two level grayscale in BASIC before, but it was just ASCII flickering.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2010, 12:38:07 am »
I wish Output() on the SE calcs was as fast as Locate on the Casio FX-9860G. Even without running Kucalc's CPU speed modifier add-on, it's still insanely fast. The bad thing, though, is that it doesn't word-wrap...

Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2010, 09:23:13 am »
Saved one more byte. ;D And more important, I will upload to ticalc today. I just need to lock the programs for not bloating user menu of edit programs.
EDIT: uploaded, pending now.

I took some time because of study and sport competition. So progress on calc stuff is going to be relatively slow for a while during summer. :(
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 10:12:03 am by Galandros »
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2010, 01:54:21 pm »
Aw sorry to hear, I hope you don't vanish completly like last Summer though, I was sad to see you go :(

Glad the program will be available soon, though :)

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2010, 03:50:14 pm »
Sounds cool!
I hope you don't vanish, but have fun! ;D

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Extra tokens and token picker (with grayscale)
« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2010, 06:04:37 pm »
Wait, why am I getting credit?

Also, isn't that second picture by Weregoose a chart of Dual-Layers?

This seems cool. I will check this out later when I have a chance.

Last thing...I just made a pretty legit looking 4-level grayscale test in TI-BASIC...
It isn't anything special and I doubt it would be good in a program but it looks really nice on the graphscreen I think.

Code: [Select]
ClrDraw
0
While 1
Text(-1,Ans,Ans,"888
Text(-1,Ans,Ans,"88_
Text(-1,Ans,Ans,"8__
End

I realize similar things have been accomplished before but I just thought I'd share it because it is really practically flickerless (I only see a tiny little flicker thing like every few seconds). I'm on a 84+ by the way. Sorry, just got excited :P
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)