Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => TI-BASIC => Topic started by: Eeems on February 06, 2010, 02:15:42 am

Title: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: Eeems on February 06, 2010, 02:15:42 am
I wad playing around with my calc at school and I figured out a easy way to display the % symbol on the homescreen. Just do this:
Code: [Select]
output(y,x+<how many digits in number>,"I%
output(y,x,<number>
anybody got a better way to do it?
This can also be converted to graphscreen, but it's a bit trickier to place it. 
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: Builderboy on February 06, 2010, 02:17:44 am
You could always use an Assembly program to get the actual % token and just display that instead :P
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: Eeems on February 06, 2010, 02:19:31 am
I know ;) but for those people who like pure basic, or don't want to go through tue trouble of using the asm program this works just as good. And it's only a little slower.
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: Builderboy on February 06, 2010, 02:23:50 am
true true, its cool that you don't need the assembly programs after you recall it though, so it technicaly could be considered pure basic, just not pure basic while programing :P But i know what you mean :)
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: Galandros on February 06, 2010, 03:37:45 am
That brings new therms: Pure Pure TI-Basic and TI-Pure Basic.
You are getting a little picky about Basic purity. >_>

Besides using some ASM to get the % char, I think that is the best alternative to use.
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on February 06, 2010, 03:43:12 am
I actually have been doing this for 7-8 years since back then there was no way to use % alone even with ASM helpers, since this char was not useable in BASIC programs until OS 1.15 came out, but that's a good trick for BASIC coders to know in case they want to do it the pure BASIC way (and keep their game compatible with older OSes)
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: mapar007 on February 06, 2010, 08:30:00 am
When I still did BASIC, I always had a HUGE string on my calc with all the "inaccessible" tokens in it.
Cool trick,though, Eeems!
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: Eeems on February 06, 2010, 12:57:36 pm
Thanks!
Yeah, this may be a little slower then the % char, but as DJ said, it keeps compatability with older OS's
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: ztrumpet on February 06, 2010, 01:52:12 pm
I also use a HUGE string on my calc with all the "inaccessible" tokens in it.

Very nice trick Eeems!
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: Builderboy on February 06, 2010, 01:58:00 pm
I just have a program called XtraVars :P Not only does it have all the tokens, but also all the pics/strings/matrixes that you would ever need! ^^
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: Eeems on February 06, 2010, 02:10:27 pm
Lol, yeah, I've used that too, but it's a little hard to program with it.
Title: Re: How to display the % sign in basic [homescreen]
Post by: ztrumpet on February 06, 2010, 03:45:28 pm
I use XtraVars too, but I find it easier to Rcl Str0 and then delete the unwanted characters to get the unacessible ones. :)