Author Topic: how to make fps in ti basic  (Read 9106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline markgrimes98

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
how to make fps in ti basic
« on: June 16, 2013, 03:42:15 pm »
i want to maek a fps like mw2 or black ops. i know to make siple programms like tic tac toe and rock paper scissors. i can also make menus and quadrtic formula prrograms. i am not rly sure how to maek large games. also i want to connect a calc to other calcs for mutiplayer.

thankx in advance.

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2013, 03:43:47 pm »
well, you can't really 'make fps' as it is so slow anyways, you'll end up just having an infinity loop with some short pause at the end and redraw+recalc everything at the beginning of it like:
Code: [Select]
While 1
<calc position for stuff>
<draw stuff>

<pause for like .5 seconds>
End

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline markgrimes98

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2013, 03:46:15 pm »
sorry i dont understand. what is "while"?

also what does the "1" do after while?
« Last Edit: June 16, 2013, 03:48:17 pm by markgrimes98 »

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2013, 03:52:11 pm »
uh, that is a loop, it is far better to use than lbl and goto IMO, but you could put instead of While 1 also Lbl A and instead of End Goto A, but I would recommend looking into loops.
I made a tutorial somewhere, lemme check......
Oh, it isn't done yet, but here's the secret link: http://www.instructables.com/id/EOSAWS3H994VJ6R

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline markgrimes98

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2013, 03:54:35 pm »
thank you for the link. i use labels to rpeat code.

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2013, 03:57:00 pm »
Yeah, I used to do that too until I learned loops, they are a far more efficient way, less memory problems, faster, just overall better but only require a tiny bit more thinking, I would defenetley recommend starting to use While, Repeat and For instead of Lbl and Goto

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2013, 04:01:01 pm »
Ti-BASIC isn't nearly powerfull enough for an fps. But if you would like to make a multiplayer game, you can look into calcNet. CalcNet lets you connect multiple calculators to each other even over the internet, and computers can interfere with this too, so the server software can run on a computer. CalcNet is included in DoorsCS7, and the latest version has a BASIC api.

If you really want to make an fps, I suggest you learn an other language, like axe or asm. If you shoose to use axe (which resembles basic a bit), you can look into AXEJH3D. If you shoose to use assembly (which is faster than axe, but also much harder, especially for beginners), you have a bit more options. AXEJH3D can still be used, or you can search for other engines, <self-advertising> like mine </self-advertising>.
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2013, 04:02:44 pm »
speaking of calcnet, isn't there some dude making a basic lib for it?

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55941
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2013, 04:04:11 pm »
I wish you good luck to make a TI-BASIC FPS that runs higher than 0.05 FPS on a SE calculator. Even calc84maniac and Xeda112358's attempts don't even come close to that and they are like two of the best TI coders in the world.

Welcome here, though! :) (By the way, it might be good to do some effort on spelling (especially for our foreign members who have to use Google Translate to read our posts) and punctuation when posting on the forums, so that it's easier to read. ;))
speaking of calcnet, isn't there some dude making a basic lib for it?
Geekboy1011
« Last Edit: June 16, 2013, 04:08:12 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2013, 04:09:09 pm »
speaking of calcnet, isn't there some dude making a basic lib for it?
The latest release of DCS7 (released yesterday) has a BASIC api for calcnet.

And actually, playable fps games are possible in basic, if you use some kind of super simplified raycasting with 90° angles, which looks like this:

I don't really think that this is what he wants.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2013, 04:10:11 pm by ben_g »
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated

Offline Augs

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 306
  • Rating: +30/-29
    • View Profile
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2013, 04:13:58 pm »
Maybe it's just a hunch, but I think this guy is a troll.

What makes me think he is a troll is that he has terrible spelling.

He has the most ridiculous idea.

And for someone who even knows what a quadrtic formula is, he should be able to spell.

Offline markgrimes98

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2013, 04:26:10 pm »
uhh im not a trolll. I just want to learn. also why is this idea rediculous? it might be haard but i could try.

@dj
ok, so making an fps with basic is prety much imposible. thats unfortunate. could i still do 3d things liek minecrft?

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2013, 04:30:29 pm »
the idea is rediculous because our best coders haven't managed to do something like that yet.
There are often newbies who think that they could make like awesome projects like doom all the time just from start while they are still doing ti basic (not even axe) and many don't even know loops yet (sorry, know offence, i'm just explaining why)

And now to your second part - 3d is pretty hard, there are some engines but they are sloooooow, and they are still all in development. There are some other minecraft things like 2d minecraft in development though, e.g. tinycraft (http://ourl.ca/16224)
EDIT: to program something like that also takes years of experience, if you really wanne challenge yourself you should try yourself on something simple like pong first and see how well you do.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2013, 04:32:37 pm by Sorunome »

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2013, 04:32:09 pm »
could i still do 3d things liek minecrft?
3d things: Yes, but only in axe or assembly if you want them to run at a reasonable speed. For the minecraft: maybe if you have a really optimized way of rendering, and use a very small (like 5*5*5) world (the size of 3D voxel objects can be huge, so big worlds won't fit in RAM anyway). But nobody has done anything like this before.
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: how to make fps in ti basic
« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2013, 04:35:11 pm »
Even for an nspire 3d stuff is hard to code. There is a minecraft game for the nspire in 3d in developement and there is a 2d minecraft game for the 83+/84+, but a 3d minecraft game is very difficult to make. Rendering polygons is easier than rendering a big world made of voxels. There is a 3d lib for axe which might be the place to start if you were to attempt to make anything 3d for the 83+.
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?