Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => TI-BASIC => Topic started by: {AP} on February 27, 2009, 05:13:11 pm

Title: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: {AP} on February 27, 2009, 05:13:11 pm
Well... I was experimenting with the contrast changing code.
I was just doing a simple fade to white and then back to normal.
Code: [Select]
:real(3,3,0,1
:For(X,23,0,-.1
:real(5,0,X
:End
:real(5,0,23

Well, the first time I get something like what I get from WabbitEmu. (except that it actually fades out)
(http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/524/celticiiibug.gif)

After a few more tries... everything now displays upside-down.
Typing normally, menus, everything is upside-down.

Turning it on and off doesn't work and neither does uninstalling Celtic III... so I'm going to have to reset after getting all the stuff off of my calc.

So, just a warning... real(5) is screwy. At least in a for loop. I haven't tried it in any other way.
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: metagross111 on February 27, 2009, 05:31:00 pm
hmm, isn't there a CelticIII alternate to changing contrast?

after looking, i guess not.

are you positive you didn't accidentally do real(4), scrollscreen?
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: {AP} on February 27, 2009, 05:32:50 pm
Yep. Positive.
Even if I did, (which I didn't) how would that make the entire screen upside-down?
(EDIT: Of course, now that I think about it... the contrast thing shouldn't have made it upside-down either...)
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: metagross111 on February 27, 2009, 05:36:17 pm
eh, i dunno. hope a reset works
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: calc84maniac on February 27, 2009, 06:02:16 pm
It looks like he's outputting values to the LCD port outside of the range used for contrast. This has potential to cause the blue screen...

Edit: It looks like you're outputting decimals, and Celtic probably expects integers.

If you want to return the screen to normal, run this program:
Code: [Select]
:AsmPrgm
:3E40D310C9
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: Galandros on February 27, 2009, 06:24:14 pm
It looks like he's outputting values to the LCD port outside of the range used for contrast. This has potential to cause the blue screen...
Ouch that is very bad. Blue screen of death. Can screw your lcd.
You have to contact Iambian... Even it is only made with bad inputs, is better to do put checks and avoid bad instructions to lcd.
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: {AP} on February 27, 2009, 06:39:29 pm
It looks like he's outputting values to the LCD port outside of the range used for contrast. This has potential to cause the blue screen...

Edit: It looks like you're outputting decimals, and Celtic probably expects integers.

If you want to return the screen to normal, run this program:
Code: [Select]
:AsmPrgm
:3E40D310C9

That makes sense now that you mention it.
I, for some reason, assumed it'd round. No clue why. >_<

Thanks, mate.
Although, the fix you suggested did not work.
Well, it did for the screen placement, but not the upside-down problem.
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: nitacku on February 27, 2009, 09:55:50 pm
haha. yeah, the contrast command excepts positive integers only!
Passing negative values or decimal values can do some crazy things.
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: metagross111 on February 27, 2009, 09:57:42 pm
you reset your calc yet?

hell, do that sequence again and maybe it will go back upright.
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: trevmeister66 on February 27, 2009, 09:59:41 pm
you reset your calc yet?

hell, do that sequence again and maybe it will go back upright.
LOL
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: simplethinker on February 27, 2009, 10:04:13 pm
you reset your calc yet?

hell, do that sequence again and maybe it will go back upright.
LOL
Sort of like when I hit a pot hole in the road that threw off the steering, then another one got it back :D  It works!
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: {AP} on February 27, 2009, 10:06:38 pm
Haven't done the reset, (distracted) but I had tried to redo it...
It won't. In fact, it works fine all of a sudden... it's just upside-down.
So... yeah...
Definitely going to have to see whether or not there's any permanent damage.
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: trevmeister66 on February 27, 2009, 10:18:49 pm
upside down isn't permanent damage?
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: {AP} on February 27, 2009, 10:19:48 pm
I reset the whole thing... (not just the RAM) and it's still upside-down.
So... yeah... I have no idea what I'm going to do now.
It's beyond a major inconvenience.

I guess I can still program at home and test on WabbitEmu... but meh, it'll slow down things even more so.
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: noahbaby94 on February 27, 2009, 10:21:40 pm
I reset the whole thing... (not just the RAM) and it's still upside-down.
So... yeah... I have no idea what I'm going to do now.
It's beyond a major inconvenience.

I guess I can still program at home and test on WabbitEmu... but meh, it'll slow down things even more so.
Uh-oh looks like someone has to resend os.
Have you tried On+clear yet?
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: {AP} on February 27, 2009, 10:32:43 pm
Wow... I just fixed it by doing one of the things you're never supposed to do.
I removed the battery while it was ON.

Weird... well, problem solved.

Lesson learned:
Don't use decimals in the real(5) command. Ever.
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on March 03, 2009, 01:22:03 pm
I'm glad it's fixed, just continue to backup often though. I wish TI calcs were like Casio calculators when running basic in the way that removing a battery during execution will not delete the RAM.
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: Iambian on March 03, 2009, 02:47:11 pm
Just caught this thread.

I'm sorry to hear that there are problems with Celtic III and how it parses its input. I *do* know that there are provisions in the code to strip out the decimal part of its input but there are no known provisions to parse anything abs(x)<0, if that's what you're trying to do.

Also, as far as the inputs for real(5) does, I'm looking at the source right now and I don't see any checks for invalid input. It expects the input to be correct. An addition of 2 bytes worth of code may resolve the issue, but I still don't support correcting mistakes caused by improper inputs, then hiding it from the user.
Title: Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
Post by: {AP} on March 04, 2009, 07:57:57 am
Just caught this thread.

I'm sorry to hear that there are problems with Celtic III and how it parses its input. I *do* know that there are provisions in the code to strip out the decimal part of its input but there are no known provisions to parse anything abs(x)<0, if that's what you're trying to do.

Also, as far as the inputs for real(5) does, I'm looking at the source right now and I don't see any checks for invalid input. It expects the input to be correct. An addition of 2 bytes worth of code may resolve the issue, but I still don't support correcting mistakes caused by improper inputs, then hiding it from the user.

No problem, mate. I don't blame you...
I was having an off day and really should have known something like that would happen.

It's all fixed now though, so no worries even more.
I learned something new from it. =P