Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => TI-BASIC => Topic started by: CVSoft on July 26, 2012, 06:16:21 pm

Title: TI-84 Plus - Remove "Done" after program execution
Post by: CVSoft on July 26, 2012, 06:16:21 pm
I just got my TI-84 Plus with 2.55MP. When I put my TI-83 programs on it, they had the accursed "Done" after execution. They all end with an Output( command. Is there any BASIC code I could put at the end of the program to prevent the "Done" from appearing? If not, is there any program that will remove it for me?
Title: Re: TI-84 Plus - Remove "Done" after program execution
Post by: linuxgeek96 on July 26, 2012, 06:17:52 pm
put a :"
at the end
Title: Re: TI-84 Plus - Remove "Done" after program execution
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on July 26, 2012, 07:11:54 pm
I don't think this tricks work with OS 2.53MP and above Linuxgeek96. I don't think there's any way in pure TI-BASIC to get rid of the Done message except under OS 2.43 or older.EDIT Nvm, I confused linux's post with Output(1,1,"
Title: Re: TI-84 Plus - Remove "Done" after program execution
Post by: Juju on July 26, 2012, 07:16:29 pm
I used to do :Output(1,1," at the end and it worked pretty well. That or have your program return a value.
Title: Re: TI-84 Plus - Remove "Done" after program execution
Post by: Runer112 on July 26, 2012, 07:17:06 pm
I tried linuxgeek96's trick and it works on 2.53 and 2.55, both with and without MathPrint enabled. Unfortunately, if you have zStart's run from home hook (or possibly similar hooks provided by other utilities) installed, it won't work. I mentioned this to thepenguin77 and maybe he can fix that for zStart at least.
Title: Re: TI-84 Plus - Remove "Done" after program execution
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on July 26, 2012, 07:18:31 pm
Weird, WikiTI mentions that it no longer works ???

http://wikiti.brandonw.net/index.php?title=83Plus:OS:OS_2.53MP_Changes

EDIT: I just tried on my TI-84 Plus running 2.55MP, using Output(1,1,"A" or Output(1,1," and it did not remove the Done message. It was done after a fresh RAM clear.
Title: Re: TI-84 Plus - Remove "Done" after program execution
Post by: CVSoft on July 26, 2012, 07:22:30 pm
"Outputting something at the end of a program no longer prevents the "Done" message from displaying."
 That's my problem. I'll just downgrade to 2.43, as that seems to be the solution.
Title: Re: TI-84 Plus - Remove "Done" after program execution
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on July 26, 2012, 07:24:07 pm
Actually juju's trick seems work: Returning a value at the end of the program (such as Ans), however, seems to do the trick. It appears you need to use

Code: [Select]
"
Instead of

Code: [Select]
Output(1,1,"
But it will cause an extra line break, so if you used ClrHome before, your cursor will still not end at the very top of the screen.
Title: Re: TI-84 Plus - Remove "Done" after program execution
Post by: thepenguin77 on July 27, 2012, 01:11:57 am
With the MathPrint OS's, it is not possible to completely suppress the Done because of the way they made the homescreen works.

If you're used to a MathPrint OS, you'll know that you can scroll upward on the homescreen to get previous answers and expressions. Although it just seems logical, as you go up, you alternate between answer and expression. I've never looked at the code, but I would bet that without this alternating style, horrible things would happen when you press up. Since every expression must have an answer, every program must display Done (or similar).

The reason this trick works is because rather than displaying Done, or 5, or whatever, it displays an empty string. The string is still there, it's just not represented by any characters, so it appears as a blank line, but a full line nonetheless.


If you truly wanted to stop a basic program (or any program) from outputting something to the homescreen, you would have to delete the call to the program. This means you would have to get rid of prgmBLAH, but that would require messing around with the new homescreen entry system, which no one has bothered to mess with. Also, if you did this, pressing ENTER again would not cause the program to run again, but rather whatever was before it.

(As far as zStart goes, I've thought about this situation before, and I believe it would be more hassle to fix than it's worth)


Edit:
    Let it be known that this was my 1337th post.