Author Topic: TI-BASIC Q&A  (Read 61329 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tpt1234567890

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 45
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-BASIC Q&A
« Reply #75 on: November 01, 2013, 04:44:04 pm »
Also, is it possible to restart the StartTmr? If so, How?

Offline blue_bear_94

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 801
  • Rating: +25/-35
  • Touhou Enthusiast / Former Troll / 68k Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: TI-BASIC Q&A
« Reply #76 on: November 01, 2013, 05:18:01 pm »
Call it again.
Due to dissatisfaction, I will be inactive on Omnimaga until further notice. (?? THP hasn't been much success and there's also the CE. I might possibly be here for a while.)
If you want to implore me to come back, or otherwise contact me, I can be found on GitHub (bluebear94), Twitter (@melranosF_), Reddit (/u/Fluffy8x), or e-mail (if you know my address). As a last resort, send me a PM on Cemetech (bluebear94) or join Touhou Prono (don't be fooled by the name). I've also enabled notifications for PMs on Omnimaga, but I don't advise using that since I might be banned.
Elvyna (Sunrise) 4 5%
TI-84+SE User (2.30 2.55 MP 2.43)
TI-89 Titanium User (3.10)
Casio Prizm User? (1.02)
Bag  東方ぷろの

Offline tpt1234567890

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 45
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-BASIC Q&A
« Reply #77 on: November 01, 2013, 05:35:38 pm »
Call it again.
oh. OK. Just checking, but it goes up by 1 every second?

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: TI-BASIC Q&A
« Reply #78 on: November 01, 2013, 06:24:38 pm »
Yeah.

Offline Thomas the Death Machine

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Rating: +0/-0
  • wode
    • View Profile
    • Steam Profile
Re: TI-BASIC Q&A
« Reply #79 on: October 28, 2014, 02:07:41 pm »
is there a way to store variable inside a code or modify the code itself using ONLY ti basic?
not terrible at programming!



Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: TI-BASIC Q&A
« Reply #80 on: October 28, 2014, 03:19:14 pm »
Sorry if I misinterpreted your question:

TI-Basic does not really support self-modifying code (smc). However using graphing variables, there is a rudementary way of doing it as seen in the link below:

http://tibasicdev.wikidot.com/selfmodify
« Last Edit: October 28, 2014, 03:26:22 pm by Happybobjr »
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: TI-BASIC Q&A
« Reply #81 on: October 28, 2014, 03:35:19 pm »
is there a way to store variable inside a code or modify the code itself using ONLY ti basic?
If you only want to store variables between runs of the program, I'd suggest you look into lists. You can create lists with custom names, and they can hold a lot of information (999 numbers to be exact)

If you do 55->dim(LLIST), then you create a list named LIST that can hold 55 numbers. If the list already exists, it will be cropped to the correct size with zeros being added for elements that didn't exist previously (this also means that executing this code when the list already exists doesn't modify the list). A newly created list will be automatically filled with zeros.

An alternate way of creating a list is like this:
{0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9}->LLIST, which will store all those elements into a new list of the correct size. If the list already existed, it will be completely overwritten.

Every one of those can be used as a variable like this:
LLIST(5) will return the value of the variable, kinda like simply using A. You can also modify variables like this: 8->LLIST(5)
It even works when you use a variable inside the brackets: LLIST(A) will return the Ath element in the list.
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated

Offline Thomas the Death Machine

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Rating: +0/-0
  • wode
    • View Profile
    • Steam Profile
Re: TI-BASIC Q&A
« Reply #82 on: October 28, 2014, 04:13:54 pm »
is there a way to store variable inside a code or modify the code itself using ONLY ti basic?
If you only want to store variables between runs of the program, I'd suggest you look into lists. You can create lists with custom names, and they can hold a lot of information (999 numbers to be exact)

If you do 55->dim(LLIST), then you create a list named LIST that can hold 55 numbers. If the list already exists, it will be cropped to the correct size with zeros being added for elements that didn't exist previously (this also means that executing this code when the list already exists doesn't modify the list). A newly created list will be automatically filled with zeros.

An alternate way of creating a list is like this:
{0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9}->LLIST, which will store all those elements into a new list of the correct size. If the list already existed, it will be completely overwritten.

Every one of those can be used as a variable like this:
LLIST(5) will return the value of the variable, kinda like simply using A. You can also modify variables like this: 8->LLIST(5)
It even works when you use a variable inside the brackets: LLIST(A) will return the Ath element in the list.
Thanks! I was going to use this to make a game that could store a "cash" variable that couldn't easily be erased
not terrible at programming!