Omnimaga

Calculator Community => TI Calculators => TI-BASIC => Topic started by: epic7 on November 06, 2011, 07:57:09 pm

Title: Wierd error
Post by: epic7 on November 06, 2011, 07:57:09 pm
I was making a math program and when it ran, this came up:

ERR: ?

I've never seen that before.... What does that mean?
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: Deep Toaster on November 06, 2011, 07:58:45 pm
Can you post your program? You're making a TI-BASIC math program without libs for the TI-83 Plus series, right?
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: epic7 on November 06, 2011, 08:01:17 pm
Whats a lib?

It was simple. It was insignifigant so I deleted it.
Here's the part where it screwed up:

Lbl 4
Disp D
Stop

My calc got really screwed up. I tried to open an axe source code and it did some wierd stuff. Then, Ram clear
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: Deep Toaster on November 06, 2011, 08:03:31 pm
TI-BASIC can't corrupt your RAM. Did you run some ASM program that could have messed up your calculator?

Everything should be fine after the RAM clear though.
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: epic7 on November 06, 2011, 08:05:29 pm
Well.... I have Doors CS7

I got the clear while editing a source code....
It's fine now
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: Deep Toaster on November 06, 2011, 08:06:06 pm
Sounds like a DCS7 bug. You should report it to Kerm.
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: epic7 on November 06, 2011, 08:06:31 pm
Is that the dude who created it or something?
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: Builderboy on November 06, 2011, 08:07:30 pm
If it is an older version of Doors (or even a newer version) the STOP token might be the issue.  Try changing it to a return and see if that fixes things
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: epic7 on November 06, 2011, 08:09:18 pm
I think my doors version is new. I got it last week.

I said I got a ram clear. The program is gone now.
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: Builderboy on November 06, 2011, 09:03:47 pm
Ah D: Always remember to backup frequently ^^
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: epic7 on November 06, 2011, 09:05:08 pm
I didnt lose anything else. It was 10 minutes from when I started the program and when it crashed. I wasnt expecting that while in ti-basic
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: epic7 on November 18, 2011, 05:27:11 pm
Happened again! O.O
Even with the new doors version.
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: saintrunner on November 18, 2011, 09:53:01 pm
OH easy fix! Are you using axe? cause Axe doesn't use stop, it uses return instead!
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: epic7 on November 18, 2011, 10:04:09 pm
No, this is in ti-basic
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: saintrunner on November 19, 2011, 03:08:38 pm
did you try pressing prgm when the error message comes up to see where the error is?
I've never seen that error message outside of Axe
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: epic7 on November 19, 2011, 03:11:29 pm
I thought prgm only takes you to the error in axe.

Well, I know when it says goto, it will take you to the error, but I didnt get that option.

I think it was the Stop command that threw it off based on when the program screwed up. The stop command made it stop working the last time I got this problem. Deep thought said it was probably a DCS7 bug. Conclusion:

Stop + DCS7 = ERR: ?
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: saintrunner on November 19, 2011, 03:12:23 pm
makes sense. Yeah you should report it
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: mrmprog on November 19, 2011, 03:34:32 pm
Could you post the code?
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: epic7 on November 19, 2011, 04:18:00 pm
It works now. Im pretty sure it was just stop.
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: saintrunner on November 19, 2011, 04:19:16 pm
probably was
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: thepenguin77 on November 19, 2011, 04:59:18 pm
For future reference, if you get an error that makes absolutely no sense at all, like Err:?, something crashed. You won't get a Goto of course because this error was not even supposed to be there. You got a random error screen instead of a Ram Clear. If you get one of these, your best bet is to archive everything and clear ram, because most likely a ram clear is imminent.

Also, it wouldn't surprise me if DCS was screwing up with the Stop token, zStart used to do it so I fixed it. Kerm might have just overlooked something.
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: ralphdspam on November 19, 2011, 08:17:11 pm
Also, it wouldn't surprise me if DCS was screwing up with the Stop token, zStart used to do it so I fixed it. Kerm might have just overlooked something.
I think there was that problem in DCS in the older versions, so you should update DCS if you don't have a newer stable version.
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: Deep Toaster on November 20, 2011, 12:54:16 am
%hq5'w q tooe point. Whqt verwion of DCS do you use, and where'd you get it?

EDIT: Typing fail O.O I meant this: "That's a good point. What version...."
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: DJ Omnimaga on November 20, 2011, 01:03:56 am
I thought the stop issue was fixed in DCS7? In any case I recommend not using stop, though, since in other shells it might screw up too.
Title: Re: Wierd error
Post by: Deep Toaster on November 20, 2011, 12:12:17 pm
Yeah, it's still generally better to use Return, which does exactly the same thing except if you're calling a program from within another program.